Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boosh fans please read. Sticking up for the boosh.
Ok. So a lot of "fans" have commented on this product, saying how terrible it is and quite frankly, that's not the case. I do have to agree that the first tour was slightly better than the second. But who cares?! it's still the same old lovable boosh. Vince is still the hilarious Vince we know and love, Howard, still a Jazz maverick, Naboo is still the tiny shaman...
Published on 8 Sept. 2011 by LittleMissBoosh

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sailing...where?
In parts, rather amusing. Noel Fielding and Julian Barratt are consummate performers, and their good-will and child-like playfulness is evident both in their act and in their interactions with their audience. There is a genuine - and in these days, rare - warmth in the banter between Fielding, Barratt and their fans that is perhaps nowhere more evident than in their live...
Published on 13 Jan. 2010 by The Perfect Feline


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boosh fans please read. Sticking up for the boosh., 8 Sept. 2011
Ok. So a lot of "fans" have commented on this product, saying how terrible it is and quite frankly, that's not the case. I do have to agree that the first tour was slightly better than the second. But who cares?! it's still the same old lovable boosh. Vince is still the hilarious Vince we know and love, Howard, still a Jazz maverick, Naboo is still the tiny shaman followed closely by his familiar, Bollo. With familiar faces such as the hitcher and Bob fossil still making their appearances, newer faces such as Tony Harrison and The crack fox are warmly welcomed. With little sections for all the characters in the first half, the second half is a "serious" play about global warming - directed by Howard. Well known music from the T.V. show and some revenge on the honey monster to end, brings the show to a well rounded off finish. Any true boosh fan should enjoy, the jokes are still there and the characters are still the same ones we met in the first series. Don't listen to the rubbish that others have been writing about the quality being missing, If you ask me Its still a work of pure genius.

p.s. The Bonus playing cards are amazing :) hope you enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sailing...where?, 13 Jan. 2010
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh: Live - Future Sailors Tour [DVD] (DVD)
In parts, rather amusing. Noel Fielding and Julian Barratt are consummate performers, and their good-will and child-like playfulness is evident both in their act and in their interactions with their audience. There is a genuine - and in these days, rare - warmth in the banter between Fielding, Barratt and their fans that is perhaps nowhere more evident than in their live shows.

For the viewer at home, this show provides much of the Boosh spirit that pervaded the television and radio series. In what must surely be a nod to Morecambe and Wise (for those who remember or have since watched that classic comedy duo), the highlight of the show is Howard Moon's attempt to engage in some serious and 'powerful' acting, reminiscent of Ernie Wise's plays 'what I wrote'. Typically, this attempt is sabotaged - or enlivened - by Vince's interventions.

Aside from this, the show is little more than an excuse to wheel on the usual suspects, some of whom (for example, Tony Harrison) are in danger of becoming a little stale. The Crack Fox remains a wonderfully disturbing creation, but perhaps some new characters are needed to prevent the Boosh from becoming a merely ritualistic offering of crowd-pleasing catchphrases. This may keep the established fanbase fairly satisfied, but it would do little to gain them new interest.

Naboo and Bollo are at the sidelines of the performance, which may disappoint fans of those characters, but in a show as sprawling as the Boosh it's inevitable that some aspects are highlighted and not others. Naboo was at the centre of the 2006 stage show, and so the Future Sailors Tour focuses on Howard and Vince as they struggle forward to some uncertain destiny.

Let's hope that the future is one in which the Boosh will continue to evolve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the decline, 20 Feb. 2011
By 
Equinox "Atheistic Pagan" (Newcastle upon Tyne, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh: Live - Future Sailors Tour [DVD] (DVD)
a lot of people are saying this isn't as funny as other things they have done and i have to agree with them.

this is still very funny, laugh out liud in many parts

but it's like the old boosh magic is fading as julian + noel drift apart.

i went to see this live and it was amazing, the atmosphere with 10,000 people in costume and the buzz on the night was fantastic, but it wasn't the same watching the dvd.

the first live show was much more structured, whereas this seems thrown-together, there is a 'play' in the second half, with the 1st half being mock-improvisation from all of the main and supporting characters but it has the feel of 'been done before'

it's still a great show, especially near the end. i think Sunflash is the best thing to come out of the boosh :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let's squeeze some money out of the fans!!, 12 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The live show itself isn't bad if you're a Boosh fan (and I assume that only existing fans will be getting this edition). But no surprises - a lot of sketches and a few songs (I remember the band playing a lot more when I saw them at Wembley though), rather than a completely new Boosh story.

But the Limited Edition is simply not worth the extra money. You get a four disc edition of the DVD, but it's really a two disc version of the 2008 tour and he other two discs are the last Live Boosh DVD (2006), so most of the people buying this one will already have them already.

The extras from the 2008 tour are not worth bothering with unless you are desperate to own everything they have ever released on DVD - a fairly shoddy behind the scenes/on tour film and some bits and pieces that don't add up to much.

You also get a pack of Outrage cards (Boosh Top Trumps), a Boosh Belt Buckle, and a tin with the DVDs in it. All quite good in themselves, but all destined to remain in the pack once you've had a look at them once.

For content, stick with the single disc standard edition - you aren't missing much. The non-DVD elements are quite good but the DVD itself simply smacks of a complete lack of effort. An exercise in style over substance, and taking advantage of the loyalty of Boosh fans to generate as much money as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Mighty Let Down, 20 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. C. McMartin "c_man_uk" (Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh: Live - Future Sailors Tour [DVD] (DVD)
Compared to the first Live DVD and the 3 series that preceeded it, this show was a pretty major let down. There was no "story" to speak of, the comedy was often pretty flat and the songs were just awful. Mostly just rehashed versions of past classics that didnt sound half as good as they did in the show. Bob Fossil was even more annoying than before, which is an achievment in itself when you consider his whole act is to basically be as over the top random and moronic as possible. Even Naboo and Bollo got a tiny part, which they did nothing with. I actually found myself speeding the DVD upto double speed on a number of occasions so I could get past some of the seriously unfunny parts sooner.

To be fair it wasnt all bad. The parts where it was just Howard and Vince talking on stage were quite funny at times. The inclusion of Tony Harrison and the Crack Fox were nice additons to the show, and their attack on the Honey Monster for stealing their crimp style was a nice touch. But what few laughs there were to be had were few and far between.

Overall this really just felt like a poorly thought out shadow of the former Boosh style we all fell in love with. I got the Limited Edition version, and I really regret that decision now. If you want to buy this at all, just get this "normal" one. The extras are NOT worth the additional cost. I really hope they manage to come up with fresh new content for any future shows they do, because this tired rehash of past material, stripped of all the parts that made if funny or memorable, could prove to be the first nail in the Boosh coffin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bouncy Bouncy...!, 30 Jan. 2010
By 
Ms. L. J. Braisby "leigh" (Doncaster, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First off, I'm a HUGE Mighty Boosh fan, and was so pleased when I got this as a Christmas Present from my boyfriend! This box includes both Mighty Boosh Lives, 2 additional extra discs that are all packed into a very cool MB Tin, some "Top Trump" cards called Outrage! and a jazzy Booshly Belt Buckle. Awesome!
However... I find both live shows tedious, they seem to go on forever and also full of banter between Julian and Noel instead of being show-focused.
There are some great moments, extremely funny parts and when they perform the songs they are great, however this doesn't make up for the fact that there's a lot of just-plain-mumbling between characters, they hardly do any songs and they're just not as funny as they are in the series. I found this box-set paticularly drawn-out. It's good for any Boosh fan to add to their collection, however it's probably just a view-every-blue-moon set for me personally, which is a shame because Boosh are awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag of Boosh, 14 Feb. 2010
Having heard little from the Boosh in a while, I was happy to see this released, so I purchased the special edition. Firstly, the new live DVD. Well,the entrance and half hour of Howard and Vince talking are very funny, with bits of audience interaction (latecomers being embarrassed!)thrown in. Then comes the "guest" part fo the evening, in which other characters are introduced. First up is Bob Fossil, whom I have never been a fan of-but he does do a reasonable routine, based on his dancing. Then comes Naboo and Bollo, sadly a disappointment, as they are on for a ludicrously short time, and their "rap" routine just doesn't do it for me. Next is Tony Harrison, live for the first time. Although his segment seems a bit under rehearsed, you have to laugh. Unfortunately, he introduces another character, played by Fulcher, a stand-up comedian who doesn't speak English. I advise you to fast-forward this section, it is Rich Fulcher at his most cringeworthy and least funny. It is then the turn of Julian Barratt as the crack fox, also live for the first time. Of course, he is hilarious, probably the best of the guests. It is then the Hitcher. well, perhaps he appears a little too often, but he does provide a reasonable routine.
Then, it is the second half. I was expecting a Boosh-style adventure, as seen during the last live show, but unfortunately it is a disappointing alternative-a play about global warming, written by Howard. Although the dialogue is essentially amusing, it just doesn't seem to be leading anywhere. There are too many resorts to the old joke of the other characters finding Howard tedious and trying to undermine him. And of course, there is another innuendo-laden performance from Fulcher, that is too silly to laugh at. when you reach the end of this section, it picks up. There is a good routine from "Eleanor", followed by a medley of Boosh music, and the execution of the Honey Monster, for plagarising the crimp. Now on to the other discs. The bonus features on disc 2 are reasonably good, with a backstage film. But I was disappointed to find the other 2 discs containing the previous live show, which I already own, and have written an Amazon review for (slight rip-off?).
The playing cards are very entertaining, well illustrated, in the "Top Trump" format. overall, it is mostly reasonable, with just a few downsides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another vote on the negative side., 24 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like the majority of people leaving reviews i love the boosh,the last 3 seasons have been great and there last live tour was hilarious,this on the other hand is not.It may have a bigger budget but its got a lot less laughs.Very disjointed,not enough of either bolo or naboo and the songs (for the majority) have all been used and heard in season 3.Fulcher was a good saving grace,but he alone couldnt breath life into this corpse of a show.what struck me most is that it was just one character after another roled out with very little aim,story or plot.

I would strongly urge you rent before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars heart breakingly below expectations, 18 Nov. 2009
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh: Live - Future Sailors Tour [DVD] (DVD)
im a massive boosh fan, i own all the dvds, been to the live shows, own too much of their merch, have their autographs on my wall, and even have the psp umds and radio cd's, but this dvd is really dissapointing. i saw the show live but in truth it wasnt as good as the first and the new live show doesnt really work on a tv screen. also there wernt as many extras as i had expected and having to pay for the privalege of owning the first live show twice is very annoying. im getting the feeling that its all strayed too far from the little zoo and the boosh is getting too big for its boots. sadly its beginning to all feel a little too pretentious and lots of the elements of the original series are now missing, including the likability of the characters. im hoping when they finally make the film they will remember thier roots and make the boosh loveable and cool again. as of now im thinking all their old fans might as well give up and just let the americans and tweenies have it, because the magic is dying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The (once) Mighty Boosh, 16 Nov. 2009
By 
Perkins "...the Uncanny" (Birmingham, West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh: Live - Future Sailors Tour [DVD] (DVD)
I was a BIG Boosh fan...'til I saw this.

It's a ragbag of what appears to be unused (and unfunny) sketches not good enough to make the show. Even my two favourite characters, Bob Fossil and Tony Harrison, failed to raise a laugh. In fact, during Fossil's opening sketch I wished he'd hurry up and get off...although the Crack Fox was ALMOST funny.

The live audience liked it, but they seemed comprised of the usual suspects who'd laugh at Vince and Howard if they were reading out the worldwide A.I.D.S. fatality statistics.

I wanted to walk out at the intermission and demand a refund, but then I realised I was watching it at home. I wish I had walked out...the second half is worse than the first and Howard's 'play' would benefit from being either a)funny or b)cut.

My recommendation ? Watch the first live tour again. Watching 'Future Sailors' is about as enjoyable as being mauled by a bear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mighty Boosh: Live - Future Sailors Tour [DVD]
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews