Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the decline
a lot of people are saying this isn't as funny as other things they have done and i have to agree with them.

this is still very funny, laugh out liud in many parts

but it's like the old boosh magic is fading as julian + noel drift apart.

i went to see this live and it was amazing, the atmosphere with 10,000 people in costume and the buzz...
Published on 20 Feb. 2011 by Equinox

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sailing...where?
In parts, rather amusing. Noel Fielding and Julian Barratt are consummate performers, and their good-will and child-like playfulness is evident both in their act and in their interactions with their audience. There is a genuine - and in these days, rare - warmth in the banter between Fielding, Barratt and their fans that is perhaps nowhere more evident than in their live...
Published on 13 Jan. 2010 by The Perfect Feline


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sailing...where?, 13 Jan. 2010
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh: Live - Future Sailors Tour [DVD] (DVD)
In parts, rather amusing. Noel Fielding and Julian Barratt are consummate performers, and their good-will and child-like playfulness is evident both in their act and in their interactions with their audience. There is a genuine - and in these days, rare - warmth in the banter between Fielding, Barratt and their fans that is perhaps nowhere more evident than in their live shows.

For the viewer at home, this show provides much of the Boosh spirit that pervaded the television and radio series. In what must surely be a nod to Morecambe and Wise (for those who remember or have since watched that classic comedy duo), the highlight of the show is Howard Moon's attempt to engage in some serious and 'powerful' acting, reminiscent of Ernie Wise's plays 'what I wrote'. Typically, this attempt is sabotaged - or enlivened - by Vince's interventions.

Aside from this, the show is little more than an excuse to wheel on the usual suspects, some of whom (for example, Tony Harrison) are in danger of becoming a little stale. The Crack Fox remains a wonderfully disturbing creation, but perhaps some new characters are needed to prevent the Boosh from becoming a merely ritualistic offering of crowd-pleasing catchphrases. This may keep the established fanbase fairly satisfied, but it would do little to gain them new interest.

Naboo and Bollo are at the sidelines of the performance, which may disappoint fans of those characters, but in a show as sprawling as the Boosh it's inevitable that some aspects are highlighted and not others. Naboo was at the centre of the 2006 stage show, and so the Future Sailors Tour focuses on Howard and Vince as they struggle forward to some uncertain destiny.

Let's hope that the future is one in which the Boosh will continue to evolve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the decline, 20 Feb. 2011
By 
Equinox "Atheistic Pagan" (Newcastle upon Tyne, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh: Live - Future Sailors Tour [DVD] (DVD)
a lot of people are saying this isn't as funny as other things they have done and i have to agree with them.

this is still very funny, laugh out liud in many parts

but it's like the old boosh magic is fading as julian + noel drift apart.

i went to see this live and it was amazing, the atmosphere with 10,000 people in costume and the buzz on the night was fantastic, but it wasn't the same watching the dvd.

the first live show was much more structured, whereas this seems thrown-together, there is a 'play' in the second half, with the 1st half being mock-improvisation from all of the main and supporting characters but it has the feel of 'been done before'

it's still a great show, especially near the end. i think Sunflash is the best thing to come out of the boosh :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Mighty Let Down, 20 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. C. McMartin "c_man_uk" (Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh: Live - Future Sailors Tour [DVD] (DVD)
Compared to the first Live DVD and the 3 series that preceeded it, this show was a pretty major let down. There was no "story" to speak of, the comedy was often pretty flat and the songs were just awful. Mostly just rehashed versions of past classics that didnt sound half as good as they did in the show. Bob Fossil was even more annoying than before, which is an achievment in itself when you consider his whole act is to basically be as over the top random and moronic as possible. Even Naboo and Bollo got a tiny part, which they did nothing with. I actually found myself speeding the DVD upto double speed on a number of occasions so I could get past some of the seriously unfunny parts sooner.

To be fair it wasnt all bad. The parts where it was just Howard and Vince talking on stage were quite funny at times. The inclusion of Tony Harrison and the Crack Fox were nice additons to the show, and their attack on the Honey Monster for stealing their crimp style was a nice touch. But what few laughs there were to be had were few and far between.

Overall this really just felt like a poorly thought out shadow of the former Boosh style we all fell in love with. I got the Limited Edition version, and I really regret that decision now. If you want to buy this at all, just get this "normal" one. The extras are NOT worth the additional cost. I really hope they manage to come up with fresh new content for any future shows they do, because this tired rehash of past material, stripped of all the parts that made if funny or memorable, could prove to be the first nail in the Boosh coffin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars heart breakingly below expectations, 18 Nov. 2009
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh: Live - Future Sailors Tour [DVD] (DVD)
im a massive boosh fan, i own all the dvds, been to the live shows, own too much of their merch, have their autographs on my wall, and even have the psp umds and radio cd's, but this dvd is really dissapointing. i saw the show live but in truth it wasnt as good as the first and the new live show doesnt really work on a tv screen. also there wernt as many extras as i had expected and having to pay for the privalege of owning the first live show twice is very annoying. im getting the feeling that its all strayed too far from the little zoo and the boosh is getting too big for its boots. sadly its beginning to all feel a little too pretentious and lots of the elements of the original series are now missing, including the likability of the characters. im hoping when they finally make the film they will remember thier roots and make the boosh loveable and cool again. as of now im thinking all their old fans might as well give up and just let the americans and tweenies have it, because the magic is dying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The (once) Mighty Boosh, 16 Nov. 2009
By 
Perkins "...the Uncanny" (Birmingham, West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh: Live - Future Sailors Tour [DVD] (DVD)
I was a BIG Boosh fan...'til I saw this.

It's a ragbag of what appears to be unused (and unfunny) sketches not good enough to make the show. Even my two favourite characters, Bob Fossil and Tony Harrison, failed to raise a laugh. In fact, during Fossil's opening sketch I wished he'd hurry up and get off...although the Crack Fox was ALMOST funny.

The live audience liked it, but they seemed comprised of the usual suspects who'd laugh at Vince and Howard if they were reading out the worldwide A.I.D.S. fatality statistics.

I wanted to walk out at the intermission and demand a refund, but then I realised I was watching it at home. I wish I had walked out...the second half is worse than the first and Howard's 'play' would benefit from being either a)funny or b)cut.

My recommendation ? Watch the first live tour again. Watching 'Future Sailors' is about as enjoyable as being mauled by a bear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 25 Nov. 2009
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh: Live - Future Sailors Tour [DVD] (DVD)
The 1st Boosh live show was hilarious, which just made this all the more disappointing. It doesn't hang together as a show at all but is a mish-mash of bits and pieces that for the most part just don't work. I was a big fan until I saw this - and realised that they are disappearing up their own egos.

Weak, and not funny enough to recommend buying it. A real shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, 25 Nov. 2009
By 
R. Adcock - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh: Live - Future Sailors Tour [DVD] (DVD)
I don't have anything more to add than those, sadly true, reviews already posted here. I'm a long time fan of the Boosh but the jokes in this are pitiful, barely raising a smile let alone making me laugh! It's just a collection of catchphrases from the old characters. What happened to the genius that brought us 'lesbian ham'? This act is weak!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yeah... It's not amazing is it... A few laughs to be had, 14 Jan. 2010
By 
D. Washington - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh: Live - Future Sailors Tour [DVD] (DVD)
I love the Boosh, and so I don't want to be overly critical.

I'll get the main problems out of the way first so I can say some nice things. The show is WAY to polished and the production values are way too high. Before the Boosh had their TV series, I got the impression that the appeal of the duo was that they put on whimsical and surreal plays, amusingly badly. Bad costumes, silly characters and messing up lines was the appeal. The trouble is that this show has a shiny new set that revolves and seems very fancy, shiny new costumes that look a little too good, and no sign of a plot (at least in the first half).

The first half becomes an almost cringeworthy at times greatest hits show. They bring out almost every character, one-by-one, to deliver a less than inspired and obvious monologue. The laughs are fairly thin for this portion of the show. Also the musical number that rounds off the first half is awful. Far too long, Noel repeats the same four lines for about 10 minutes, getting increasingly out of breath. It isn't great.

The second half is better. It introduces a loose plot; Howard has written a serious play about global warming, but whilst performing it, Vince decides to add a few of his own touches (introducing a really annoying new Angel character whose name I didn't bother to remember). The show ends on a rather epic set from the Boosh band, which is great, but given the show that came before it, it all becomes rather disjointed, and in a way a little desperate.

The show IS funny at times, and I'm not sad I purchased it, but it doesn't seem like much work has gone into it. I imagine the guys said "Right, we're getting big now, we sort of have to do a tour. Lets just bring out all the old characters, thats what people like".

Hopefully the took the tour time to write some great new material for the rumoured fourth series and/or film. We can only hope
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A message for the boosh..., 23 Nov. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh: Live - Future Sailors Tour [DVD] (DVD)
Dear mighty boosh, if you ever read this you need to take note.

What you were was a magical act of innocent creativity, where anything is possible and not inhibited by modern conventions. An act that didn't really care about what people thought they wanted.

What you have become is a fame craving machine that has surrounded itself with YES PEOPLE. Yes people do not help you at all. Yes people hold you back. They make you think that you are amazing, brilliant, talented, genius etc. When you do something tht is distinctly average or poor they still tell you it's amazing!!!

You have been hailed for too long and have not been told that the quality of yur work is not mediocre to poor. You need to understand this, ditch the yes men and find yourselves again. Listen to the critics and answer then through your new material. Yes people, arse lickers, hangers on all destroy creativity. They have nearly destroyed the boosh. The question is, will you let them kill it totally or will you rise up once more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars boosh fan is very disapointed, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mighty Boosh: Live - Future Sailors Tour [DVD] (DVD)
I am a big Boosh fan, I have seen the series and the first live show a billion times and I went to London to see this show live (I'm from Denmark) which was a mixed experience of excitement about seeing them live and disappointment about the show. This is why it took so long for me to buy the dvd, and give it a second chance. Maybe I was in denial of how bad I remebered it to be.

Firstly there are a lot of rip-offs from their previous show, secondly the show is extremely confusing and really lack some kind of red thread and storyline, thirdly I think what they wanted to do was a concert. And I actually think they should have gone all the way with that idea. There's a lot of cool and catchy music in the Boosh universe, and doing a Boosh concert would have been awesome.

If you think about bying it, don't. Not worth it. You can propably find it in a dark alley of the web somewhere for free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mighty Boosh: Live - Future Sailors Tour [DVD]
£4.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews