Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


116 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to Dolly's music
To anybody who already owns a compilation of Dolly's music for RCA, the track listing here has a familiar look to it with few exceptions. The exceptions are Please don't stop loving me, a sensational duet with Porter Wagoner not normally included on Dolly's solo compilations, To know him is to love him, from the first Trio album, and Why'd you come in here looking like...
Published on 15 Oct 2003 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Great.. in time for Christmas
Published 17 days ago by Sandie B


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

116 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to Dolly's music, 15 Oct 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ultimate Dolly Parton (Audio CD)
To anybody who already owns a compilation of Dolly's music for RCA, the track listing here has a familiar look to it with few exceptions. The exceptions are Please don't stop loving me, a sensational duet with Porter Wagoner not normally included on Dolly's solo compilations, To know him is to love him, from the first Trio album, and Why'd you come in here looking like that, from Dolly's period with Columbia. This UK edition includes a bonus track – a remix of Early morning breeze, a song that originally appeared on Dolly's Coat of many colors album (1971) and later on her Jolene album (1974).
The other tracks here include many Dolly classics, notably Jolene (her only UK top ten solo hit), Islands in the stream (a duet with Kenny Rogers that became a USA number one pop hit and UK top ten hit), Here you come again (a USA top three pop hit), Coat of many colors (Dolly's autobiographical signature song – the only song here that didn't reach number one on the USA country chart, peaking at number four), Bargain store (which some radio stations thought too risqué), 9 to 5 (a USA number one pop hit), It's all wrong but it's all right (much more risqué than Bargain store) and Love is like a butterfly (one of Dolly's finest romantic songs).
This is among the best single CD collections of Dolly's music, though there is a 25-track CD titled (confusingly) Ultimate collection which I slightly prefer and which I've already reviewed. I recommend that you compare these collections and decide which suits you best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly her best greatest hits compilation to date, 10 Oct 2003
This review is from: Ultimate Dolly Parton (Audio CD)
Dolly is an icon and there are not enough words to describe her legendary body of work. In addition there are quite a few greatest hits compilations round but this is almost certainly (in my opinion!) the best one as it contains all the classics and one or two less well known tracks. They all show just how talented a singer and song writer she is.
There is no-one else round quite like her and this collection proves that. Excellent pictures inside the cd booklet are merely the icing on the cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 13yr old daughter loves this!, 24 Jun 2011
By 
Mrs. D. Hopwood (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Dolly Parton (Audio CD)
Bought this for my 13yr old. She had heard all the songs in her Grandads car!She likes Coat of many colours, Islands in the stream and nine til five especially.She says Buy it on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great CD by Dolly Parton, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Dolly Parton (Audio CD)
I love how some country music stars sing about their life experiences. Tracks like Jolene, Coat are of many colours, two of the many tracks Dolly sings, are about life experiences. These are life experiences star's like Dolly tell well in voice. it is like writing a book, but in this instance it is told in song. I found this album a listening experience and enjoyed every track sang by dolly. If you like country music you will love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'CERTAINLY ONE OF THE BEST 'DOLLY' ALBUMS AVAILABLE', 7 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ultimate Dolly Parton (Audio CD)
'Dolly's' career started way back in the sixties gaining momentum with
several entries in the U.S Country Charts.
She certainly is one of todays great vocal-talents who also turned her
hand to writing many well known songs, perhaps among the best known
of these being 'Jolene' (Which is the number that first caught my attention
back in 1973) among some of the other numbers she penned - 'I Will Always
Love You' (Which was a gigantic hit for 'Whitney Houstan' of course) she
also penned '9-5' and 'Coat of Many Colours' among the many.
'Dolly' is indeed a great talent, we remember so many of the 'Lady's songs
down the years, 'Dolly' had many. many Hits mainly in 'Canada' and the U.S
however surprisingly, even though so many of us can name many of her
numbers, here in the U.K she only achieved two Top Ten Singles those
being the earlier mentioned 'Jolene' (1973 Chart 7) and the duet with the
great 'Kenny Rogers' (written by the 'Gibb' brothers) 'Islands in the Stream'
(1983 Chart 7)
She of course did have a measure of success with some of her 'Album' releases,
and did achieve some lower -order entries in the singles Chart in the U.K.
If I'd have been asked to name some of her hits, off the top-of-my-head so to
speak,I'd almost certainly have mentioned more than she actually had.
'Dolly' a talented artist, This I believe, is a great reflection of her best
known works down the years, a great item to own for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun CD, 11 Jan 2010
This review is from: Ultimate Dolly Parton (Audio CD)
Put a smile on the recipient's face, which is what it is all about.
Promptly delivered and well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great songs., 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Dolly Parton (Audio CD)
I bought this for my wife,she now plays it constantly when out and about and loves all of the tracks
My grandaughter is also a big fan and sings along to jolene,9-5 and Joshua.
Excellent snapshot of Dolly Parton career .cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Dolly Parton (Audio CD)
This is Dolly at her best a must have any Dolly fan. Classic songs that still sound fresh a brilliant voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Dolly Parton (Audio CD)
Arrived quickly and total value for money really enjoyed the mix of tracks mainly known songs but a couple new to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love Dolly, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Dolly Parton (Audio CD)
Great CD, have it in my car, have picked a few songs off of it for our wedding too . quick and easy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ultimate Dolly Parton
Ultimate Dolly Parton by Dolly Parton
Buy MP3 Album£7.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews