Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Album Since Electric Youth.
Despite the fact that she has not had a UK hit since "You're the one that I want", Deborah Gibson has still been producing excellent albums. However MYOB is the best she has produced in over a decade. The variety of musical styles and the depth of lyrics make it a truly global Album. There are a number of outstanding tracks on the album. The best by far is...
Published on 29 Nov 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars M Y O B is cool..
Well im an ultimate ultimate Debbie or Deborah fan but i only gave this album 3 stars which is to say a good album but this is not her best work for me. The first 3 upbeat songs are cool but what actually stands out from this album are the ballads. 'Down that road', the 4th track is quite an excellent track and should have been released as single i think. It's r n' b,...
Published on 16 April 2008 by dig2


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Album Since Electric Youth., 29 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: M.Y.O.B (Audio CD)
Despite the fact that she has not had a UK hit since "You're the one that I want", Deborah Gibson has still been producing excellent albums. However MYOB is the best she has produced in over a decade. The variety of musical styles and the depth of lyrics make it a truly global Album. There are a number of outstanding tracks on the album. The best by far is "In Blue". A moody, jazz influenced song that would sit side by side with Jazz classics. "Jaded" is also Jazz influenced, but with a pop twist that leaves you begging for more. The current single (in the US at least) "Your Secret" is musically excellent and tells the tale of a woman tired of being a mistress. All in all MYOB is one of the best albums of the year, with an appeal for all tastes and ages. You gotta buy it!!
Adrian Robinson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One word - GENIUS, 6 Nov 2001
By 
This review is from: M.Y.O.B (Audio CD)
From Out Of The Blue I have been a fan of this lady and It is true what they say, Things get better with age.
Every song on this album is a classic especially jaded and in blue.
Forget Britney and Christina, if you want to hear the real Princess Of Pop get this and her previous albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Pop Album Of The Year, 9 Jun 2001
By 
A. Jones (Swindon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: M.Y.O.B (Audio CD)
Deborah is back with her new album and she produces big time.If you want an album to sing and dance to,this is it.From the title track of M.Y.O.B.(Mind Your Own Business) the album never lets you down,all the tracks are superb, especially the cover version of Knock Three Times.
If you want to buy one pop album of the year get this as soon as possible before everybody else gets hold of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the return of the original Britney!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 22 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: M.Y.O.B. (Audio CD)
Debbie Gibson's return is long, long overdue - however she smacks back into reality with a classic, unfortunately this cd was over looked in the UK (nothing new there) but was quite a big hit in the States after touring with N'Sync, kicks off with the 3 USA singles MYOB, Your Secret and What You Want, a fourth single is included Wishing You Were Here but this single had to take a back seat to the 3 afore mentioned classics, i would say this was Debbie's best work to date, and she should be proud of it! Buy it now, you will not be disappointed, that i promise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOT NEW ALBUM FROM THIS UNDERRATED ARTIST!, 27 May 2001
This review is from: M.Y.O.B (Audio CD)
WELL, SHE'S BACK AGAIN! THIS TIME, ITS EVEN COOLER AND EVEN FUNKIER! THE FIRST SINGLE (IN US)WAS 'WHAT YOU WANT', AND ITS A CORKER! A PUMPIN' DANCE TUNE, THAT YOU'LL JUST WANT TO GET UP AND DANCE TO. WELL, I DO ANYWAY! THE NEXT SINGLE, 'MYOB' IS A VERY STRONG ONE TOO. OVERALL THE ALBUM IS VERY GOOD INDEED AND ANY DOUBTERS OUT THERE...BELEIVE! THIS WOMAN HAS ALOT OF TALENT AND SHE IS VERY DETERMINED. I LOVE HER 1997 CD - 'DEBORAH' - CHECK THAT OUT TOO. I HAVE ALL OF HER ALBUMS TO DATE, SHE RELEASES A CD EVERY 2-3 YEARS. THE REST OF MOYB IS OF HIGH QUALITY: 'YOUR SECRET', 'DOWN THAT ROAD' ETC. YOU SHOULD CHECK THIS OUT FOR SURE, ESPECIALLY, IF YOUR READING THIS - YOUR INTEREST IS ALREADY HERE, SO JUST CLICK 'ADD TO CART'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent album, 8 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: M.Y.O.B (Audio CD)
Debbie Gibson, Now going as Deborah Gibson, has just recorded this album her 7th album to day, by far one of her greatest peices of work in a long time, don't get me wrong i like every one of Debbie's albums "Out Of The Blue", "Electric Youth", "Anything Is Possible", "Body Mind Soul", "Think With Your Heart", "Deborah" & Now "M.Y.O.B", but the last 2 albums (Think with your heart & Deborah" were mostly ballads, i love Ballads from Debbie, but she's always been at her best with upbeat tracks, this album brings her back to a more upbeat way, With some exellent upbeat songs, "M.Y.O.B, Your Secret, What You Want, What Part Of No & A Remake of the 70's song Knock three Times", and still some low tempo songs, which mix in perfecly "The One & Jaded". And 3 Mid tempo tracks, which complete a perfect album "Wishing you were here, down that road & In blue" and the album finishes off with an exellent remix of "M.Y.O.B". A must for every Debbie Gibson fan, and i recomment even non Debbie Gibson fans should try this album, this proves Debbie can still compete.
P.s it's also nice to see a store based in the UK actually selling one of debbie's albums for a change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars M Y O B is cool.., 16 April 2008
This review is from: M.Y.O.B (Audio CD)
Well im an ultimate ultimate Debbie or Deborah fan but i only gave this album 3 stars which is to say a good album but this is not her best work for me. The first 3 upbeat songs are cool but what actually stands out from this album are the ballads. 'Down that road', the 4th track is quite an excellent track and should have been released as single i think. It's r n' b, easy to sing along with and goodness me great yrics! Debbie's vocals remains so much vastly improved since her theatre work and since the 'Deborah' album, which i think was much better and more well-crafted album. Other outstanding ballad tracks are 'Wishing you were here', 'The one' and middle of the road tempos 'Jaded', 'What part of no' and 'In blue'. Unquestionably she remains very talented. Would i recommend this album? Of course. There's so many albums out there who can't even pass a 3 stars mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended!, 5 April 2010
By 
Gary Hanna (Newry, N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: M.Y.O.B. (MP3 Download)
A difficult album to get up until it was made available to download. I've written in previous reviews how Deborah Gibson is shamefully overlooked and this album is another example. Not commercially successful at the time, Mind Your Own Business has a brilliant flavour at times incorporating Latin beats and smooth jazz. Down That Road and Jaded are great standout songs and the title track M.Y.O.B. is brilliantly arranged and infectious. For me the absolute highlight of this album is In Blue one of her finest songs. She should be no great secret appreciated only by her fans.
Hopefuly through internet accessibility her music will be deservedly re-valued, encouraging more music from her along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, 23 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: M.Y.O.B (Audio CD)
MYOB - the title track is fab and the remix at the end of the album is even better. My favourite track on the album is Wishing You Were Here - not a ballad or an upbeat track - more a kind of R&B tune. Then the remake of Knock Three Times with Tony Orlando - that will be awesome live ! Although Deborahs previous albums have been mainly ballads she can do some awesome upbeat and dance tracks. Deborah rocks in this album and it catapults her into the aldult world of music - not the teeny bop world she started in !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A truly great album, 12 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: M.Y.O.B (Audio CD)
Deborah's latest album is definitly a must have whether your a fan or just remember her from the late 1980s. It's filled with great songs from the title track M.Y.O.B. to Down That Road. Deborah has a voice that will captivate you and leave you wanting more. So don't just think about it buy it NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

M.Y.O.B.
M.Y.O.B. by Deborah Gibson
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews