Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top stuff from OdB - more Bari than Techari...
This is my first review here, and the main reason for writing it was that after listening to this album I felt 3 stars was a little harsh.

Personally, I prefer Bari to Techari, so perhaps this is reflected by my rating. This album feels much more like Bari; less "world" music, more flamenco-funk cross over, which in my opinion is no bad thing. I thought...
Published on 11 Sept. 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blurred Vision
The musical wizardry which permeated Ojos De Brujos'
last two studio albums was as refreshing as it was remarkable.

'Bari' (2002) and especially 'Techari' (2006) were both
saturated with enough exotically intoxicating ideas
to satisfy even the most demanding fusion junkie.

'Feedback', one of the standout tracks on 'Techari', still...
Published on 28 April 2009 by The Wolf


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blurred Vision, 28 April 2009
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Aocana (Audio CD)
The musical wizardry which permeated Ojos De Brujos'
last two studio albums was as refreshing as it was remarkable.

'Bari' (2002) and especially 'Techari' (2006) were both
saturated with enough exotically intoxicating ideas
to satisfy even the most demanding fusion junkie.

'Feedback', one of the standout tracks on 'Techari', still sets
my fur ablaze with it's skittering rhythms and pure raw energy
every time I hear it.

Ojos De Brujo were a band it was difficult to keep still to.

'Aocana' is a somewhat different can of anchovies.

The rhythm and the invention are still there to some
degree but the electricity which made this band so magical
has diminished significantly.

The twelve tracks in this new collection plough a fairly
uniform furrow. Mid-paced tempi; stylistically repetetive
vocal harmonies and brass volleys and a woeful lack of
dynamic variation throughout in production quality.

All a bit dull and lacklustre truth be told.

'Donde Te Has Metio' ('Where Have You Got To')
almost reaches past glories.
The raucous arrangement allows Ms Abad to do what she
does best - spitting out the lyrics like firecrackers.

'Un Verdad Incomoda', ('An Inconvenient Truth'), on the other
hand is an absolute stinker. A cringe-worthy, catch-all,
social-conscience number lacking both credibility and sincerity.

'Tantas Flores' almost takes off with it's clattering percussive
intro and outro but slips back into mediocrity in the central
section with Ms Abad's formulaic vocal delivery.

Final track 'Lluvia' ('Rain') brings the
album to a damp and downbeat conclusion.

That Ojos De Brujo are a force to be reckoned with
in live performance is well known.
It is possible within that context that they might breathe some
life into these songs in a way they have almost completely failed
to do within the confines of the recording studio.

Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top stuff from OdB - more Bari than Techari..., 11 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Aocana (Audio CD)
This is my first review here, and the main reason for writing it was that after listening to this album I felt 3 stars was a little harsh.

Personally, I prefer Bari to Techari, so perhaps this is reflected by my rating. This album feels much more like Bari; less "world" music, more flamenco-funk cross over, which in my opinion is no bad thing. I thought Techari, though excellent, was trying a little too hard to be experimental - the "indian" track, the "hop hop" track etc.

The tracks are all good, a couple feel a little like they're a bit "standard" for OdB, but this is by no means the norm for the album, and standard OdB is still pretty tasty!

I can see why people think it's less progressive, but I'd argue the flip-side and say they're back what they do best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spanish flavour, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aocana (Audio CD)
ODB is my favourite spanish band; they mix traditional rhytm with pop melodies in a fascinatin and unique way. Songs are catchy and sunny, nonotheless the skils of the musicians are impressive! Love at 1st sight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment!!!, 18 May 2009
By 
M. Bamford (stamford, lincs, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aocana (Audio CD)
I have to agree with the previous reviewer (The Wolf). The last album Techari was really cutting edge stuff. Beautiful melodies, forceful spat out raps, flamenco guitar, great beats and lyrics.

This mid-tempo, AOR rubbish sounds like it was created to appeal to middle aged world music fans to put on the stereo when they get home from their Spanish nightclass.

It gets two stars for "Tantas Flores" which is absolutely stunning, a couple of steps closer to "real flamenco" than anything they've recorded before, and in it's own way almost as forceful as "Piedras vs Tanques"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have done better, 22 May 2009
By 
L. Fornasier - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aocana (Audio CD)
This is a good album, but not their best (Techarì remains unrivalled).
I guess I was expecting Ojos to be a bit more innovative and daring, but Aocana isn't really offering anything new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 13 May 2009
This review is from: Aocana (Audio CD)
As I missed seeing them live at the roundhouse, this album made up for it. I love it, it is brillient!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aocana
Aocana by Ojos De Brujo (Audio CD - 2009)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews