Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite funky sounds!....
Jamiroquai have always been one of my favourite bands right from the early Acid Jazz days up to the more commercial dance/pop tunes of today. Ok, so it always seems to be about Jay Kay, flash cars and paparazzi bust ups nowadays (or so the media likes to portray), but once upon a time, there was a cool band that was original, talented and wrote wicked songs...
Published on 21 Dec. 2006 by Frankie J

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars okay
I was looking forward to this cd...it's okay but I wouldn't go mad about it...bit dull really...shame...Jk needs to come back with a big hat on!
Published 15 months ago by Louise Chamberlain-Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feels good!, 20 Dec. 2006
Jamiroquai is such an individual artist, his music lifts me up and makes me want to dance, something that I never ever do (which is perhaps a good thing!). All the Classics are on this album, including my favourites, "canned heat', "deeper underground", "love foolosophy", "Feels just like it should", "little L" and "virtual insanity". Lets hope this artist blesses us with another 14 years of great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars High Times, 23 Aug. 2008
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are aware of Jamiroquai you will know them for their infectious grooves and funky acid jazz, and if you don't, then this is the best place for your first taste of what they have to offer. Spanning all their albums to date, this album has a greats selection of tracks. From the didgeridoo enhanced 'When You Gonna Learn' to the exuberance of 'Virtual Insanity', as soon as you put this CD on you will start to move, tap your feet and grin and you won't stop until the last track. This has such gems as 'Canned Heat' that never fails to get me up and dancing, to 'Little L' which has much the same effect! This also has more laid back tracks such as 'Seven Days in Sunny June' from the latest album, 'Dynamite' and extra tracks for this collection, my favourite being 'Runaway'. Overall this is an addictive sound, with great vocals and funk feel from a great British band. Highly, highly recommended, especially at the current price at time of writing.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good "Best Of" album, 26 Dec. 2010
I was never a big Jamiroquai fan but liked the singles - this is a good compilation which lets you hear the tracks you know but avoid the self-indulgent ones you've got no interest in! Would recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cosmic!, 8 Dec. 2007
By 
D. Ludwig "dml17" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Jay Kay is undoubtably one of our finest songwriter/recording artists. Everybody has heard at least two or three of his songs over the last 15 years, yes 15 years! The beauty of this man is his longevity to produce songs of the same sound but somewhat different in their own way. As far as I'm concerned this man is one of our most prolific artists. His uncanny knack of recording catchy, soulful, from the heart tunes should put him way up their with the rest. If you want to boogie at home in the car or at a party stick this one on. Not all of the tracks will please you but trust me you won't be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this but..., 23 Feb. 2009
By 
Mr. Ra Wilson "R18" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Buy this but also buy the Funk Odyssey album as the greatest hits album doesn't have "You give me something"on the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you for the great Christmas present!, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have received this great album of Jamiroquai just before Christmas!
It was an exelent present for Christmas and my birthday!

First time I heard "Space Cowboy" in 1995 and I loved this talanted group !

They have so many great songs, written during their long and sucessful carrier.
And majority of these songs were compiled in this great album!

Thank you Amazon !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Joy, 1 Feb. 2007
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
First things first; it is an absolute pleasure to see a chronological hits compliation. This is how they should be done. Ok it does miss of some of the hits (including two of my favourites in Half The Man and King For A Day AND a top 10 hit Stillness In Time) but then good old Jay Kay has had 23 top 40 hits in the UK alone so you can let him off.

And it is a "him". They might be a band in name, but it's always been Jay Kay and a revolving door of bandmates. And that is perhaps symptomatic of the problems with this collection. Everything since the superb Emergency On Planet Earth album has been, well, much of a muchness as if Kay has but the two ideas; fast songs that sound a little like Stevie Wonder...and slow songs that sound a little like Stevie Wonder.

What's here from the debut is still classic today, even if all lyrically concern the same eco-warrior themes. It all went "wrong" though from the Return Of The Space Cowboy album, if an artist with 6 top 3 studio albums can be said to have gone wrong. Sure he could usually be relied on to come up with at least one great single per album (at least in the early days with tracks such as Virtual Insanity and Canned Heat) but everything sounded, well, the same.

Indeed by 2001's A Funk Odyssey the Jamiroquai vessel was definately on auto-pilot and not even a gap of 3 years to 2005's Dynamite could revitalise the music. Still, on the first two thirds of this collection at least, there is much to enjoy in a disco-style fashion. I mean seriously, if you can't have a boogie to the best of the tunes you've probably never been on a dance-floor in your life.

As for the new tracks, Runaway sounds exactly as you would expect a Jamiroquai song to sound like but at least it's better than Radio, which might well be the worst song on the collection and reeks of fullfilling contractual obligations. Who knows, with this contract finishing best of in the bag, and talks of taking a year off, maybe Jay Kay will soon be in a position to really kick of his shoes when the time comes around for his next new album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bargain, 11 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked quite a few JK songs before I bought this but only really bought it for Canned Heat (been watching too much Napoleon Dynamite). However, there are lots of great tracks and if you're looking for dance party music then it's all here!!!Napoleon Dynamite [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am in love with Jay Kay!, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I adore Jamiroquai. I am probably one of his first ever fan! I have been listening to his music since 1996 when other people thought a was mad. If you a new to his style of music, this is definitely his best album. If you are looking for something to collect, then this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars longtime jamiroquai fan, 6 Feb. 2013
loved all his old work, so naturally bought this years ago on cd. eventually the cd was lost so treated myself to a digital copy. the line up has changed slightly but still a quality piece of kit for the price! if you like jamiroquai then you need this album end of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews