Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT COLLECTION FROM UNDERRATED ARTIST!
I bet you have forgotten how many great songs Gloria Estefan has had!

This CD is a fantastic collection of her biggest hits (yes, it does exclude songs like 'Here We Are' & 'Cuts Both Ways', which are beautiful songs) however, it DOES include 20 classic tracks from her 80's days of Dr Beat, Conga, Don't Wanna Lose You Now, Can't Stay Away From You, Rhythm Is...
Published on 12 Dec 2006 by George

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars CD
Arrived promptly and package well. There are some good tracks on this CD but there are also some not so good. I found it boring.
Published 19 months ago by Jacqueline Owens


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT COLLECTION FROM UNDERRATED ARTIST!, 12 Dec 2006
I bet you have forgotten how many great songs Gloria Estefan has had!

This CD is a fantastic collection of her biggest hits (yes, it does exclude songs like 'Here We Are' & 'Cuts Both Ways', which are beautiful songs) however, it DOES include 20 classic tracks from her 80's days of Dr Beat, Conga, Don't Wanna Lose You Now, Can't Stay Away From You, Rhythm Is Gonna Get You, etc to her 90's tracks Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Everlasting Love, Heaven's What I Feel & Reach plus her song 'Wrapped' from her highly underrated 2003 beautiful CD ''Unwrapped'' (check it out!).

Plus the huge hit from earlier this year remixed by Mylo ''Doctor Pressure''.

There is plenty here to jog your memory, remembering that her songs made a valuable contribution to pop music in the 80's, 90's and beyond.

I thought she was brilliant on the X Factor and the Paul O' Grady show this past week!

If you like her music, I highly recommend this CD as well as the recently released Essential Collection, also available on Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive UK hits collection, 31 Mar 2009
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Gloria was born in Cuba and Latin influences are strongly evident in some of her music, although at other times her music is much more in the American mainstream, with little evidence of her Latin roots. Thus, this compilation is a mix of Latin and mainstream pop music. Like many artists who have been successful internationally, Gloria was more successful in some countries than others and the big hits weren't always the same in each country. Anybody looking for the definitive American hits collection should look among Gloria's American compilations. I may do that one day, since some her best songs weren't big hits in Britain, and are therefore omitted from this compilation. Nevertheless, this is a fine compilation that provides a good overview of Gloria's career in the eighties and nineties.

Gloria had plenty of UK hits, though she was much more successful in her homeland. She never made the UK top five but came close a few times. Two hits (Dr Beat, Don't wanna lose you) made number six, one (Can't stay away from you) made number sever and one (1-2-3) made number nine. All of them are included here. She made number eight with Miami hit mix, but as the title suggests, it was actually a medley of earlier hits so its omission from this set is no great loss. Other notable UK hits featured here include Anything for you (a number ten hit), Bad boy, Rhythm is gonna get you, Oye mi canto, Hold me thrill me kiss me, Everlasting love (a nice cover, but I prefer the Love Affair version that made UK number one in the sixties, itself a cover of Robert Knight`s original), Reach (the 1996 Olympics theme), You'll be mine and Heaven's what I feel. All of them made the UK top 20 and are included here. One UK top 20 hit, Go away, lived up to its title by not appearing here. Gloria had several other UK top 30 hits that didn't make the top 20 and some of them are also included in this set. Sadly, Cuts both ways (one of my favorite Gloria Estefan tracks) barely made the UK top 50 so isn't included.

As a sample of Gloria's music, this is excellent, but I expect I'll eventually buy an American compilation of Gloria's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gloria Estefan - the very best of, 17 Mar 2009
By 
S. Paez - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good trip down 80's music lane. Some good old hits that will make you boogie! There's even an added bonus track by Mylo (their sampled version of Dr Beat)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gloria Estefan at her very very best. Wonderful album. I defy anyone to listen to this and not want to get up and dance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this cd for myself , its fab, brings back lots of memories, good to iron to on a Sunday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fabulous.This is my second copy. CD number one got damaged, and I couldn't live without it. Need I say more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The answers in the title, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Gloria Estefan (English Version) (MP3 Download)
From the days of 'The Miami Sound Machine' She has never failed to deliver & this is The very best. I have been very lucky & pleased to have been around during her & the bands career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As the title suggests these songs are all the best of Gloria Estefan, and are all very good quality recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cd arrived very quickly in post. Lovely cd lovely compilation of slow and fast upbeat songs that you just want to dance to. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good album, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Gloria Estefan (English Version) (MP3 Download)
The very best of is not quite accurate but still most of the well known numbers. A good album recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews