Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Answers a lot of the niggly questions
I've bought many books on CSS and HTML, and I've always been left with a few questions, especially about layout. Craig Grannell's book does a great job of answering many of those questions. Of particular interest is his treatment of boxouts and structural divs. If you are new to CSS and XHTML don't be put off by these terms; the beauty of this book is that it's a good...
Published on 28 April 2008 by Gerard Lally

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad
I haven't really used it that much, but what I have used of it, I'm more than happy with it.
Published 3 months ago by Scott


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Answers a lot of the niggly questions, 28 April 2008
By 
Gerard Lally "gerard" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've bought many books on CSS and HTML, and I've always been left with a few questions, especially about layout. Craig Grannell's book does a great job of answering many of those questions. Of particular interest is his treatment of boxouts and structural divs. If you are new to CSS and XHTML don't be put off by these terms; the beauty of this book is that it's a good book for beginners, but it satisfies intermediate and advanced users as well. An excellent resource if you want to design standards-compliant websites with a twist. The basics are all here, but there is that something extra as well, and it's that something extra, scattered liberally throughout the book from start to finish, that is its distinguishing feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No.1 on your web design book list, 10 Sep 2009
By 
David Watson (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
At long last, here is a book that talks about "a modern, modular approach to standards-compliant web design" in a clear, logical and friendly manner. No small feat because contemporary web design practice is complex and a good understanding of a whole range of topics is required in order to master the art.

Craig Grannell approaches the topic by looking at various aspects of web design, with chapters like `Working with Type' and `Page layouts with CSS' rather than the more prosaic approach of many code-based books. The initial chapters of the book give a comprehensive background and primer to HTML and CSS but avoid the mistake of looking at code in the abstract. All through the book, code examples are illustrated with the rendered result so that the reader can make a clear connection between code and image.

This is an excellent book that covers a lot of ground (it even includes some useful javascript techniques) and is probably the best single volume introduction for anyone serious about web design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Beginners Guide, 23 July 2008
By 
B. Quittenton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Before buying this book I knew very basic HTML and had read some other books without gaining much. I have a slight learning disability and jargon does not help.

This book is written in a language you can understand and will take you through the basics and on into great web design.
A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Guide to CSS & HTML Web Design (Essentials), 7 Mar 2010
Having done some web design using DW4 I thought I knew something about web page construction. Now having read only the first few chapters I realise how little I understood. This book is an excellent reference covering the historical aspects of visual text presentation all the way to
the complex aspects of CSS. I certainly recommend this as a must read and good value. The Essential Guide to CSS & HTML Web Design (Essentials)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not what i though it would be., 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Guide to CSS and HTML Web Design (Essentials) (Kindle Edition)
I just couldn't process the instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Example code hard to read, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Guide to CSS and HTML Web Design (Essentials) (Kindle Edition)
Example code seems to be images that don't zoom on an android tablet so very difficult to read them on kindle app
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars OKAY, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Guide to CSS and HTML Web Design (Essentials) (Kindle Edition)
OKAY not amazing. w3schools and code academy and any on-line tutorials are always recommended. got this book for free and I am glad I never paid for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Guide to CSS and HTML Web Design (Essentials) (Kindle Edition)
I haven't really used it that much, but what I have used of it, I'm more than happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for web designers, 12 April 2014
By 
Mrs. L. Edwards "lyn14103" (North Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Guide to CSS and HTML Web Design (Essentials) (Kindle Edition)
It's been a great help to me in understanding how CSS and HTML works. I have recently done two courses in Dreamweaver, and this book has been a big help to back up the lectures, and to be able to refer to specific things I was stuck on. Easy to read and understand, it's to be highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three stars ("Its okay"), 5 Feb 2014
By 
J Price "Jim Price" (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Guide to CSS and HTML Web Design (Essentials) (Kindle Edition)
That sums it up, OK, good basic information but it's not going to light any lamps! Useful as a starter, read it, then buy something better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews