Customer Reviews


217 Reviews
5 star:
 (130)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


125 of 126 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised
Well, I came to this one rather dreading it. National critics had given it something of a bashing. But it is super!

Young Victoria was the only surviving issue of several sons of George III ("Farmer George"). Two of her uncles, George IV (who made Brighton Pavilion) and his brother William IV (known as the "Sailor King" and "Silly Billy") had preceded her as...
Published on 12 July 2009 by Anonymous

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Disappointing
I bought this DVD because there were so many good reviews. But I have to say I was a little disappointed. It didn't show any of young Victoria's initial attraction to Albert's brother Ernest. And also in the assassination attempt, Albert was shot! This never happened in real life! There was an attempt on the Queen but he missed. They were minor changes though and...
Published on 15 Dec. 2009 by Grace Poole


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Young Victoria, 21 Aug. 2009
By 
Peter M. "Peter" (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Young Victoria [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This was purchased for my wife. She loved it, and has already lent it to our youngest daughter.A tastefully crafted story of a young girl, under great stress who overcomes her prison culture, and meets her hero who helps her to become the Queen we all recognise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars (4.5 Stars) A Brief History of One of Britian's Most Famous Families!, 28 Aug. 2009
By 
A_Plain_Janeite (Mountains, Moors, & Countrysides) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Young Victoria [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I am a HUGE fan of historical/period/costume dramas; so after viewing the trailer online, I knew this would be something I would be interested in!
Having already seen "Mrs. Brown" (starring Dame Judi Dench, and Bill Connolly), and "Victoria & Albert" (starring Victoria Hamilton, and Jonathan Firth- yes, Colin Firth's brother)- I already knew a little history of H.M. Queen Victoria.

Despite a couple of inaccuracies, I still found the film very enjoyable.
This was only the 2nd film I had seen either of the two leads in.
Emily Blunt in "The Devil Wears Prada", and Rupert Friend in "Pride & Prejudice" 2005. Being that both of those roles were only supporting characters at best, I guess I wasn't sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised though, to see both of them shine in their roles (Emily especially)!!

My only complaint is that it was over too soon! (But since the title is "The YOUNG Victoria"- I guess it stands to reason.) If you're interested in learning more, I would recommend viewing the two films I mentioned earlier. As others have commented, the cinematography was beautifully done; the locations, and costumes are breathtaking! Also, it's only got a PG rating!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it., 12 Mar. 2010
By 
Megan Aston "meeganness" (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Young Victoria [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I was a bit dubious about this film as I've not watched many Emily Blunt or Rupert Friend films, but I have to say that I loved this. The settings, scenery and costumes were great and the script wonderful. I am quite a fan of Period Drama and this certainly does not disappoint. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is interested in this genre or the history of Queen Victoria. A beautiful film, beautifully done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth watching, 10 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyable and moving.Emily Blunt is superb. Was dubious at first but its definitely a good film to watch I could quite happily watch this again and its rare I say that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise, 6 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Young Victoria [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I didn't know what to expect from this film; my expectations were pretty low, and I was pleasantly surprised. It follows Queen Victoria from her very sheltered upbringing, her teen years and the first few years of her reign. It's a fascinating portrayal of some of the absurdities of monarchy and its effect on the people who were born into it, and also its effect on, and interference in, politics. Like in "Elizabeth", Victoria was young and inexperienced when she inherited the throne and had to learn the job through trial and error, losing her naiveté and growing into her role, although "Young Victoria" is more lightweight; she never has to become as cynical and ruthless as Elizabeth. For a while in the second half of the film it becomes a bit too much of a cute romance film for my taste but this doesn't detract too much from my enjoyment of "Young Victoria" as a whole. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good movie - with some historical inaccuracies, 16 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Young Victoria [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This historical drama about the young Victoria is available on DVD. It is divided into three parts. In the first part Victoria is not yet queen. In the second part she is queen, but not yet married. In the last part she is queen and married.

Victoria was born in May 1819, and was proclaimed queen in July 1837. Her coronation took place in June of the following year. In February 1840 she married Prince Albert. They had nine children. Albert died in December 1861, only 42 years old. Victoria never remarried. She remained a widow for the rest of her life. She died in January 1901, 81 years old. She was a queen for 63 years and seven months.

I like to watch historical dramas. Often the past comes alive in fascinating ways. This movie is no exception. It is, in many ways, a good drama. Several important points are presented in a very convincing way:

(a) The conflict between the young Victoria on one side and her mother, the Duchess of Kent, and her "friend" John Conroy on the other side.

(b) The conflict between King William IV and the Duchess of Kent.

(c) The conflict between two prominent politicians of the day, the Whig Lord Melbourne and the Tory Sir Robert Peel.

(d) The alliance between Victoria and Lord Melbourne.

When I watch this movie, I enjoy it. But it is not a good movie in every way. There are several historical inaccuracies. Some are minor flaws (# 1-3 below), while others are major flaws (# 4-6 below).

The actors cannot be blamed for this. They have to follow the script and do what they are told. The responsibility lies with the writer and with the producers who allowed the historical inaccuracies to remain in there. Let me explain:

(1) In the movie we hear (and see) several references to "Germany." When Victoria was young, there were several German states, but there was no country with the name Germany. This country was not proclaimed until 1871.

(2) In the movie Lord Melbourne and Victoria meet at Windsor Castle on the occasion of King William IV's birthday. Victoria is not yet queen, and not yet 20 years old. The actor who plays Lord Melbourne appears to be slightly older than her, around 30 years old. But in the real world Lord Melbourne was forty years older than Victoria, because he was born in 1779.

(3) In the movie the name of this politician is constantly mispronounced. He is called MELBURN, which is wrong. It should be MELBORN. Why did nobody check the pronunciation of his name? Why did nobody tell the producers or the actors to get it right?

(4) During the birthday celebration at Windsor Castle King William IV made a speech during which he accused the Duchess of Kent of trying to keep her daughter away from him. In the film the Duchess is seated away from him, she gets up and leaves the room in protest over this insult. But the other guests do not really react to this. In the real world the Duchess was seated next to the king, and she did not leave the room. But Victoria cried, and the other guests were shocked by the incident.

(5) John Conroy was a bully who tried to control Victoria, hoping to use her position for his own benefit. She hated him for doing this, and she hated her mother for letting him do this without protesting. As soon as she was proclaimed queen, she banished him from the court. But in the film it does not happen like this. Victoria wants to dismiss Conroy, but she allows him to stay out of respect for her mother. So Conroy pops up from time to time. In the film he is not dismissed until after Victoria's marriage to Albert, and Albert is the one who finally kicks him out.

I do not understand this change from fact to fiction. I think the producers want to present Victoria as an independent person (which she was in many ways). But here they seem to say that she was unable to get rid of Conroy - her husband had to do it for her.

(6) In June 1840, while Victoria and Albert were driving through London in an open carriage, there was an assassination attempt on them. A man called Edward Oxford tried to shoot them. In the film Albert is hit, while protecting his wife. He takes a bullet for her. He is rushed back to the palace, bleeding. Fortunately, he recovers. Later we see him walking around with one arm in a sling.

This is not true at all. The would-be assassin missed. Neither Victoria nor Albert was hit. Of all the alterations presented here, this is the worst, because it is a deliberate falsification of history. I am sure Albert was ready to take a bullet for his wife, but he never did, so why pretend that he did?

Some people may ask me:

"Why do you have to complain about these historical details? Why can't you just enjoy the movie?"

Here is my response:

I understand that there may be a situation where the producers have to use some kind of fiction, but the alterations presented here do not fall into this category. The alterations presented here are not necessary, they are not justified. Why do the producers try to rewrite and "improve" history, when the true story would be just fine, perhaps even better, and it has the advantage of being true?

I want to recommend this movie, but as you can see, I have some reservations, and therefore I can only give it four out of five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Other Victoria, 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Young Victoria [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is a great film. I don't know about the people who stumbled across this humble review, but when I think of Queen Victoria, I think of someone old, austere overweight and uptight. It was pleasant seeing a film that showed the other side of her, and it was also interesting seeing more of Prince Albert who does tend to be a footnote in films and documentaries about Queen Victoria because so many of them focus on her later life after Albert died. It is also reasonably historically accurate although slightly romanticised and I would have like to have seen more of Victoria's children - of which the film makes very little reference even though she had 9 kids! Nonetheless, it's still worthwhile watching. The DVD also has some interesting background on how the film was made and features interviews with the cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'QUITE SIMPLY' - 'A NICE FILM', 10 Dec. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Young Victoria (Blu-ray)
So many films these days are full of blood-guts-sex and constant use of the 'f' word it actually makes a pleasant change to watch a film with none of the above.
The film describes the rise to the throne of 'Victoria' (Emily Blunt) despite obstacles put in her way, it's main purpose is to tell the story of her meetings and subsequent romance with her beloved 'Albert' (Rupert Friend)
I believe it would have been nice to see a wider portrayal of their '20' year life together, maybe the subject of a future 'screen' drama ?
The film is as indicated ---pleasant and a well portrayed period/historic style drama...if you like this type of film this is certainly worth a spin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A right royal love affair, 19 Mar. 2009
By 
Four Violets (Hertford UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Young Victoria [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I am glad to say that this film does not give in to the temptation to bodice-rip, a tendency which has detracted from so many recent dramatisations. Passionate Victoria may have been - but surely always decorous. Rather, the film successfully focuses on her courage and steadfast refusal to be browbeaten by her mother and Sir John Conroy, the controller of the household, into passing control of her affairs into their hands. The King, William IV, hung gamely on to life so that aged 18 she would be Queen without needing the scheming pair. He died 27 days after her birthday.

The sets, costumes and period detail are lavish and dazzling - but it's strange that Prime Minister Melbourne, who Victoria had a huge crush on, is depicted as a youngish man although he was actually 58 when Victoria became queen. Rupert Friend as Prince Albert - disconcertingly like Orlando Bloom - is spot on and we can understand why Victoria fell for him. Emily Blunt cannot be reproached for being prettier than the real Victoria, and she demonstrates perfectly the tension between the private and public face of royalty.

Perhaps a little more insight into the background of events of the day, the glorious empire that existed at the time, or the seamier side of Victorian England, might have put Victoria more into context. But perhaps that is coming in a Part Two.

The final piece of interesting information the screen gave at the end was: Victoria's descendants succeeded to the thrones of Germany, Russia, Sweden, Denmark, Spain, Greece, Romania and Yugoslavia as well as England.

Anyone looking for more action might be disappointed. Leaving the cinema I heard: "not much happens," and "gosh, fancy having the music from the Championships League Anthem in her coronation."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Learn How To Play The Game..." - US BLU RAY 'WON'T' PLAY ON UK MACHINES BUT GERMAN ONE 'WILL'..., 9 Feb. 2012
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
**** THIS REVIEW IS ABOUT THE US and GERMAN BLU RAYS AND THEIR PLAYABILITY ON UK MACHINES ****

I rather naively believed that this US-only BLU RAY of "Young Victoria" would play on my UK machine - so I ordered it up. It doesn't. There are sites on the net that tell you what Region a BLU RAY is - which I should have checked 'before' I made an impulse purchase.

Region coding on BLU RAY can be confusing at the best of times and Amazon has only recently added [REGION FREE] on at the end of 'some' titles so that customers can identify what's what. Will it or won't it play on my UK machine? To make matters worse - many US BLU RAY issues 'are' Region-Free - so they will play on all players. I've reviewed two such issues - the Pierce Brosnan/Rene Russo remake of "The Thomas Crown Affair" and Colin Farrell's sweet "Ondine" - only available on DVD in the UK - but both are on BLU RAY in the States.

The whole availability issue of BLU RAY also extends to EUROPE. My review of Jane Campion's gorgeous John Keats/Fanny Browne love story "Bright Star" was for the UK DVD initially - but I subsequently found a BLU RAY version in EUROPE - and reviewed that too because I checked - and lo and behold - it was Region-free. The difference in the quality of picture is HUGE - and I can assure you with all that stunning set design, clothing and beautifully filmed sequences - "Young Victoria" will absolutely shine on BLU RAY.

So at present (Feb 2012) - "Young Victoria" is ONLY available on BLU RAY in the USA - the UK has only the DVD - and the US BLU RAY disc won't play on your UK player unless its chipped to play all regions.

It seems that the lovely Emily will have to wait a little longer to see her superb performance in "Young Victoria" be given the best format to view it on...

PS: Additional Info February 2014...Germany has now issued a version of the English language film on BLU RAY which is playable on UK machines - if you can put up with a spine that says "Die Junge Konigin" then go to barcode 4042564144185 in the Amazon search-bar and you'l get the right issue. The picture quality is fab...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Young Victoria [DVD] [2009]
Young Victoria [DVD] [2009] by Jean-Marc Vallée (DVD - 2009)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews