Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Most Powerful Albums Ever
This album, has to be the most under-rated albums of all time, as are Nada Surf. And the bizarre thing is, the record company dropped them because it didnt have a "single" in it. Funny that i can see at least 12.
The album starts off with the magical riff of Hyperspace, which blends into a great verse, and even better chorus. The next song Amateur is a slow song,...
Published on 17 Feb 2003 by flickerstick_uk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK album from a great band
Nada Surf can do better than they have done with this album. The lyrics are strong once again and '80 Windows' is a pure gem. What lets this album down is the inconsistency of the quality of the songs. Some are great but an equal amount simply just isn't. A pity cause this band can do so much better. 'Let go' is a pure masterpiece and highly recommended. Their cover album...
Published 14 months ago by steven wolhoff


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive but flawed second album, 23 Feb 2003
By 
M. Young "Amuro Ray" (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Proximity Effect (Audio CD)
Nada Surf are definantly one of the highlights of the post Nivana period in album. There debut high/low was filled with highs, but no lows. This album is much of the same thing, however it doesn't manage to reach the rock perfection of its predecessor.
The album starts off with hyperspace, one of the best tracks, its what we love Nada surf for, infectious tune and that brilliant voice. Next is ameteur, an average verse with great chorus, still going strong then. 80 windows is another highlight, infact probably the best on the album, i really can say nothing bad about it (includs the supoib lyric "the moon is closer to the sun then i am t anyone") Mothers day however, lets the album down. Its almost too rock to suit nada surf, and its border line rap verses are just plain wierd. Its a good idea, and a good riff, but never kicks off.
Unfortunantly the album then goes on to give us, basicly, average tracks which don't really hold there own, unlike high low where every song was stRong on there own. The band don't get back there flow until "fircracker" which is an amazing rocker, fully succesful this time. Slow down follows, another highlight, a real stand out track, this is true pop rock at its best kids. Robot follows, and along with "spooky" ends the album on a spectacular note, and Nada Surf is back on form.
So the album at times is dodgy and rather average, however if you are a fan of the first album, there is definantly alot here for you. The songs show signs of the turn from "high/low" sounding nada surf to "let go" sounds (another great album). This along with the interactive studio pc feature makes this album well deserving of its 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Most Powerful Albums Ever, 17 Feb 2003
This review is from: The Proximity Effect (Audio CD)
This album, has to be the most under-rated albums of all time, as are Nada Surf. And the bizarre thing is, the record company dropped them because it didnt have a "single" in it. Funny that i can see at least 12.
The album starts off with the magical riff of Hyperspace, which blends into a great verse, and even better chorus. The next song Amateur is a slow song, which might not sound to your liking after first hearing but you will soon find yourself playing again and again.
80 Windows is a beautiful song, with brilliant lyrics. Mothers Day is one of the more upbeat songs, its quick fast and very catchy. Troublemaker is another slow song, but it really is touching and beautiful. Bacardi starts off with a Nirvana-eqse bass solo, and indeed keeps up the pace until the verse, which slows down. It keeps its pace and slows it down through the whole song you'll find yourself singing it all day!
Bad Best Freind has like a type of USA country rock and roll feel to it, with its rythem and riff. Again very catchy and moving. Disposession is the most upbeat song on the album its very fast, not one of the better songs, yet still very good.
The Voices again is very powerful, great lyrics another brilliant song. Firecracker is another powerpop song, its very good, its one of those songs which grows on you. Slow Down is probabley one of the best songs on the album it has an amazing verse, which is infact better than the chorus. Robot is very catchy you'll find yourself singing it when you dont realise it!
Don't even think twice about this album if you liked any Nada Surf material. Its fantastic, i cant say much more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best and most emotive rock band going!!!, 18 Jun 2003
This review is from: The Proximity Effect (Audio CD)
Don't listen to anybody who tries to tell you that this band are missing the mark, they have a style which is unique, utterly sincere, honest and at times incredibly.......happy? , sympathise and identify with the lyrics that genuinly expose the bands real feelings and perspectives. Mathews voice is at times angelic, the drummer is charasmatic and the bass player, energetic. This is an incredibly balanced three piece who stick to their guns and do their own thing, it's great!!! Nada Surf are the kind of band that you want to wrap up in cotton wool, put in a box and take home!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good album for hardcore Nada Surf fans, 24 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Proximity Effect (Audio CD)
Nada surf have put out another great album, and I still can't understand why they are so unknown. Although their inaugural album, High/Low, came across as more catchy to me, and has a much more upbeat feel, the Proximity Effect turned out to be the one I listen to more, because there is a much wider range of styles and tempos, whereas the first album was very, very slightly repetitive. Any fan of Nada Surf would be well advised to buy this album, and any Nada-virgins would be better off with High/Low. Once you have become addicted to their catchy soft punk sound, you'll want to progress to the mellower sounds of this offering. For now though, I will say that the Proximity Effect is consistent in its thought provoking and fantastically constructed sounds, and the best way to compare this album with High/Low is that High/Low is punk's reasonably quiet night in, when it has a few mates over to chill out, whereas the Proximity Effect is punk's extra quiet night in with an intimate friend, if you get my meaning ;-) ! Definitely a fantastic album, in short. If you are looking for more powerful punk, look no further than Pennywise, No Use For A Name, Lagwagon, Hi-Standard, and all the fantastic bands on the Fat Wreck Chords and Epitaph labels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable... that's all i can say without detail, 27 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Proximity Effect (Audio CD)
When I originally went out to buy this album, I could only find High/Low, and so I got that, which I thought was great, and I would have given it 5 stars, but once i got my hands on this album, I think I should have given High/Low 3 stars as this is an unbelievable improvement. The first track, Hyperspace, is a great opener, and puts you in a great mood to listen to the rest of the album. The mood changes several times throughout the album, which i like, there are the more mellow tracks, such as 80 Windows, which has unbelievable lyrics, especially "the moon is closer to the sun, than i am to anyone". Then there is Amateur, which is soft, and uplifting. There are more powerful tracks as well, such as Mother's Day, which also has an amazing guitar riff, and Firecracker, with very powerful lyrics. I think my favourite on the track is Bacardi, because of the amazing guitar, massive changes of speed, and Pixies-style finish, singing "on our knees, we made it hard to see, we made it hard to breathe and the air was thin", which although is very different, reminds me of the Pixies' Alec Eiffel. I could go on and on about how much i love each and every track of this album, but I think I would use up all of my 1000 words, and so I will stop here, at probably around 200, coz it seems unfair to miss out a couple of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected 'chill out' albumn from Nada Surf, 17 Jan 2001
By 
eddohyes9@aol.com (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Proximity Effect (Audio CD)
I was not sure what to expect from Nada Surf after their high novacaine-punk debut 'high/low'. But you can sense from the first track 'hyperspace', that this was a more mature, relaxed Nada Surf with a great new sound, and anyone who liked 'high/low' should definately buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK album from a great band, 12 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Proximity Effect (Audio CD)
Nada Surf can do better than they have done with this album. The lyrics are strong once again and '80 Windows' is a pure gem. What lets this album down is the inconsistency of the quality of the songs. Some are great but an equal amount simply just isn't. A pity cause this band can do so much better. 'Let go' is a pure masterpiece and highly recommended. Their cover album is also pretty darn good. Who knows what the future will bring for this otherwise suburb band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, period!, 15 May 2004
By 
Brian M (Austin, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Proximity Effect (Audio CD)
Nada Surf is a great band, and this album seems to be way underratted. It is actually their 2nd best album, High/Low being their best. There are many catchy tunes on this album having the potential to be radio hits, although none of them were, though "Amateur" (a good song) was played on the radio some. The most catcy and best songs by far on this album are "Bacardi", "Firecracker", and "Mother's Day" and all three are must hears. They all seem to have deep meaning and have superb lyrics and tune (potential singles). "Spooky" is also a great song starting slow and then building to a heavier rock tune. "Robot" is the perfect song to end the album on because it seems to reflect on the album, and is just a great song. "Slow Down", "The Voices" and "80 Windows" are 3 of the other awesome songs on this album. "Hyperspace" and "Bad Best Friend" are the two of my least favorite songs on this album, but neither are terrible. If you are into the softer songs, listen to "Troublemaker," for it is the best soft song on the album and foreshadows the future of Nada Surf in my opinion when they tone it down on their 3rd album, Let Go. The average song on the album is "Dispossession," for it has a catchy chorus and is a pretty good song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Attempt To Be A Rock Band, 25 Oct 2001
By 
Bjorn Clasen (Rollengergronn, Luxembourg, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Proximity Effect (Audio CD)
Quite a few bands succeed well in this style in which the songs consist in melodious and usually joyful poprock, with a more hard-beatingly rocking chorus. Nada Surf is not one of these bands.
'Slow Down' is a typical example: this song simply drowns in its own lack of originality. 'Bacardi' is a much more successful example. This one is rather melodious and with a lot of atmosphere. In that sense, 'The Voices' is pretty OK too.
'Why Are You So Mean To Me?' swings quite well, with its semi-soft vocals, apart from which it is nearly punky, like 'Dispossession'. 'Firecracker' is a decent punkish rock composition as well - its rolling guitars and emotional vocals make a great arrangement.
But a song like 'Mother's Day' is in fact just noisy. And 'Troublemaker' is to be considered as a fill-out track; silent pop, nothing special.
Among the highlights on 'The Proximity Effect' is the opener 'Hyperspace' and the second track, 'Amateur'. The former has a very hit-like chorus but somehow lacks the format that could make it a classic. On the latter too, it is the chorus that controls things ('You said I should get professional help / It makes me cry'...)
The harmonious '80 Windows' is the album's best song. The quiet guitars, the temper of the drums, the lyrics, give it a unique feel.
All in all, Nada Surf can be considered kings of ordinarity. The band wants to be a rock band, sometimes even with punk elements, but basicly just sounds like poprock. In the style of Del Amitri, Fool's Garden and Backin'ground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Proximity Effect [VINYL]
Proximity Effect [VINYL] by Nada Surf (Vinyl - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews