Customer Reviews


199 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IT EVEN MADE MY DAD CRY:/
i can honestly say... i only see my dad cry when something is really sad...which is only 3 times in all the years i have known him. He isnt exactly the type to cry in films. Yeah... we do have dogs and he loves them to bits obvs but he isnt like a huge dog lover... say... everytime he sees one he would go up to it and hug it.

Anyway i love the book and the film...
Published on 13 July 2011 by blueWkd

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but the book is much, MUCH better
I read the book before seeing the film and so I was surprised that two of the key episodes in the book which are guaranteed to make you burst out laughing were omitted from the film. These were the "I think we just met Dad" episode and the nappy-sniffing theme. You'll need to read the book to understand their importance, but in missing them from the film, huge...
Published on 27 Feb 2012 by A. J. Sturgess


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IT EVEN MADE MY DAD CRY:/, 13 July 2011
This review is from: Marley & Me [DVD] (DVD)
i can honestly say... i only see my dad cry when something is really sad...which is only 3 times in all the years i have known him. He isnt exactly the type to cry in films. Yeah... we do have dogs and he loves them to bits obvs but he isnt like a huge dog lover... say... everytime he sees one he would go up to it and hug it.

Anyway i love the book and the film just as much. How can they make you love a dog so much when you havent even met it? it is really funny and i really enjoyed it. i just didnt like it when Marley dies:'(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for dog-lovers, 17 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marley & Me [DVD] (DVD)
I would recommend this film to anyone who loves a dog, but only watch it on your own, as you'll make a complete fool of yourself - and have a full box of tissues to hand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dog Lovers Love it other may not get it, 3 Aug 2009
By 
Amazon Customer "Al" (Midlands (UK)) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Marley & Me [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Let get this out of the way, to have written a book on your life with your dog is strange enough, especially if you weren't really that famous worldwide.

To make it into a film is lunacy!

Unless you are a film house knowing the amount of people that have and love dogs then you are basically a cynical movie mogul

The truth is if you are a dog lover you'll laugh at the shared experiences of an unrulely hound, you'll wince at the shared embarrasment of the public exhibitions of your lack of control you'll share the grief of the inevitable day when you have to say goodbye.

The beauty in this film is that it doesn't pretend to be anything else than the life story of a dog who happens to be bestowed upon two very unprepared owners and much as parents learn with their first child we all learn with our first dog.

This is a heartwarming and funny journey through someone else's hell to paradise to the heartrending days that all follow pet ownership.

As a BR disc its not a bad transfer, the sound is good.

Overall a good film if you love this subject, if you don't ... just avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marley and Me, 18 July 2011
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Marley & Me [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
`Marley and Me' is the film, based on the book of the same name, about a couple and their disruptive dog.

When journalist John Grogan and his wife Jenny get married he feels like he has to get something in her life to look after so she will not be so keen on immediately starting a family. Cue Marley, a cute, but rambunctious and lively Labrador puppy who soon has them running around after him and pulling their house and life to bits.

There are lots of funny scenes where Marley gets one over on the couple and his antics do make for entertaining viewing, although at times I wish they would just discipline him and stop the disruption he brings! He is certainly a well natured, but head strong dog.

Eventually the couple start a family, with the associated stresses that brings, but the one constant is Marley and he is soon seen as an integral part of the family unit. The film then follows the family's ups and downs for the duration of Marley's life, with the inevitable and heart warming ending.

Aniston was very good in this film and Wilson also showed more depth than in previous films I have seen him in. It has to be said that this is certainly a film for dog lovers and as I hinted at before, I became frustrated at some points throughout at the misbehaved antics of Marley and I wished he would be brought in line, despite a rather feeble half hearted attempt to do just that. But these frustrations were short lived and I was soon enjoying the next stage in his and the family's life.

This is easy going and not too stressful to watch. It has a nice message and has some genuinely funny moments. The acting and direction are good enough, without setting the world on fire and all in all it made for an inoffensive, entertaining couple of hours viewing.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marley and Me, 9 Jan 2011
This review is from: Marley & Me [DVD] (DVD)
Lovely family rom/com film but if you don't like weepies don't watch this you will need a boxful of tissues at the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll laugh and cry, 24 Aug 2010
This review is from: Marley & Me [DVD] (DVD)
It had my boyfriend crying like a baby! A brilliant film with plenty of hilarous moments dog owners will relate to and very heartwarming. I gave my pooch a big snuggle after it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars could watch it over and over again..., 26 Nov 2011
This review is from: Marley & Me [DVD] (DVD)
This beautifully mastered movie focus' on fun-loving, newly weds John (Owen Wilson) and Jennifer Grogan (Jennifer Anniston) and their highs and lows of becoming the owners of the playful pup which we all know, to be Marley.

As the film progresses you really experience the thrills and highlights of the couples life with the new addition to the family, and the experiences that they have to put up with.

The couple instantly fall in love with there lively, little labrador but soon experience the struggles with owning the mischievous animal; He won't respond to any command, messes up the house and causes utter chaos!

Although the couple can't seem to control their adorable, but naughty and neurotic dog, he does seem to teach them new life skills. The director, due to the well written storyline, is also able to manipulate the audience so that when they leave the theatre they have learnt new life skills too. He is able to create images within the viewers head and from these the audience are able to depict their own views and opinions about the characteristics and morals which are clearly illustrated throughout.

I would strongly advise you to view this movie as it is like a ride, it has highs and lows. The quirky comedy elements make you smile throughout and of course the sympathetic elements that bring tears to your eyes.

Overall this is a classic family film, suitable for any audience whatever time of year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I hate dogs but..., 13 April 2010
By 
A. Stanton (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marley & Me [DVD] (DVD)
I should start by saying I hate dogs. I was recommended `Marley & Me' and dutifully watched it. At its core it's a dog (Marley) journey with his owners Aniston & Wilson. As the dog gets older so do the owners who battle with their own self of identity, how to be good parents and the job/work balance. It is a prime example of wanting to achieve the American Dream, wanting a `better, richer and happier life' through democratic ideals.

It's a good and heartwarming story. It's funny, witty and cuts between humour, emotional ties and a sense of what family should include. Its modern montages help the pacing, only towards the end did it really slow down as we knew the conclusion of the film. It did make me cry, it also made me laugh out loud. Some of these reviews say it was too dog-centric, I'd disagree we care about Aniston and Wilson as much as Marley; maybe you just have to have a pet owner to identify. It's worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marley and me DVD, 15 Nov 2011
By 
J. E. Baird - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marley & Me [DVD] (DVD)
This is quite a nice movie to watch. It has all kinds of emotions in it and when it's finished, you think " that was a good film"
It has a feel good factor. Easy watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a watch, 27 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Marley & Me [DVD] (DVD)
The thought of watching a movie starring Owen Wilson & Jennifer Aniston horrified me but as i had an agreement with my wife i went with it & i have to say i'm so glad i did. Only the stoniest of hearts would find this film anything other than heart warming with the central theme of loyalty and love, albeit from a dog being a joy to be seen played out. I very rarely watch anything other than horror films but even i was close to shedding a tear at the end. Watch with an open mind, you'll be pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marley & Me [DVD]
Marley & Me [DVD] by David Frankel (DVD - 2009)
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews