Customer Reviews


222 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Blu Ray won't disappoint you
As it was released few months ago, the quality of this blu ray is up to 2009 standard, lots of extra and lossless soundtrack.

This is superior to the US version which contains dolby 5.1 soundtrack.
Published on 12 Oct 2009 by Kam Wing Hung Billy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nooooooooooo, A 12a Terminator movie
Terminator 3 Rise Of The Machines.

Starring.
Arnold Schwarzenegger, Nick Stahl, Kristanna Loken, Clare Danes.
Director: Jonathon Mostow.
Format: Subtitled.
Language: English.
Subtitles: Danish, English, Finnish, Hindi, Italian, Norwegian, Swedish.
Dubbed: Italian.
Subtitles For The Hearing Impaired: English.
Audio...
Published 8 months ago by Timelord007


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nooooooooooo, A 12a Terminator movie, 27 Dec 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terminator 3 - Rise Of The Machines [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Terminator 3 Rise Of The Machines.

Starring.
Arnold Schwarzenegger, Nick Stahl, Kristanna Loken, Clare Danes.
Director: Jonathon Mostow.
Format: Subtitled.
Language: English.
Subtitles: Danish, English, Finnish, Hindi, Italian, Norwegian, Swedish.
Dubbed: Italian.
Subtitles For The Hearing Impaired: English.
Audio Description: English.
Region: All Regions.
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 2.40:1.
Number of discs: 1.

Positive.
1)There is a decent chase with The Terminator & T-X & a superb cherograped fight between these 2 cyborgs.
2)Arnie just about makes this average.
3)The T-X, a sleek "Terminatrix" is played superbly by a coldly expressionless Kristanna Loken.

Negative.
1)Didn't need another second sequel, T2 had closure.
2)12a rating, It's a Terminator movie FFS!
3)Nick Stahl as John Connor is miscast here.

Blu Ray Info.
Running Time 106 minutes, Documentary, Commentary, Trailer, Deleted scene.

Blu ray.
Picture : Excellent clear vibrant print.
Sound : Crystal clear sharpness mixed in 5.1 Dolby Digital.

Trivia.
1)Arnie fee was $30 million for this movie.
2)This is the first Terminator movie that doesn't feature any input from James Cameron & boy does it show.
3)Arnie gave $5 million of his fee back so director Jonathan Mostow could expand upon the chase between the T-800 on the police bike & TX in the fire truck on the freeway.
4)This was Arnies last film before his political career as Governor of California.

Review.
Arnies back but this time it's more likely for the $30 million dollar payday he received for his return.

Made in 2003 a whopping 12 year's after T2 this watered down second sequel sees Judgment day as inevitable & Arnies T-800 is sent back again to locate & protect John Connor from a new Terminator the T-X a female cyborg who has arrived seeking out John Connors future generals in a bid to assassinating them to change the outcome of the war against Skynet with the hope of luring out Connor who has gone off the grid since his mother Sarah Conmor has passed away from cancer.

The action scenes via the chases & the 2 Terminators fighting are well shot & are great action sequences, My issue is with the 12a violence were we see bloodless & shootouts shot at angles were we see no impact making this movie a more watered down effort than the first two (15)R rated classics.

Arnie does ok but considering he said he'd never do a Terminator movie without James Cameron he soon seemed to have changed his opinion when a $30 million payday is wavered under his nose.

Kristina Loken is fine as the T-X beautiful but deadly & it's a pity she wasn't allowed to go hardcore with the violence as she certainly got the screen presence.

When the inevitable happens & the machines start attacking the people via Skynet taking control this then shouldve been a violent & tense sequence seeing humans shot & helpless against the machines but it's cut in a way that is again watered down & bloodless striping the scene of any tension, James Cameron would've made this a epic sequence.

I suppose one could argue that fate has a way of changing history no matter what we do as here Judgment Day is inevitable even altering event's its though fate has altered the timeline once again to accommodate the changes made to events in T2.

The movie ends on a decent cliffhanger that set's up another movie or as there a flashback of John Connor victorious this could also be seen as closure to the franchise as it shows John Connor triumphant. Against Skynet.

The Blu ray transer is of a high quality standard as is the soundtrack looking & sounding better than ever.

A pity a harder cut wasn't released on the Blu ray as my review & rating may have been higher.

Timelord Rating.
6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Blu Ray won't disappoint you, 12 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Terminator 3 - Rise Of The Machines [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
As it was released few months ago, the quality of this blu ray is up to 2009 standard, lots of extra and lossless soundtrack.

This is superior to the US version which contains dolby 5.1 soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "I'm Back!", 21 May 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terminator 3 - Rise Of The Machines [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
James Cameron, director and creator of the Terminator series was not involved in any way during the production of this film, and it shows. Nor was composer Brad Fiedel and it shows. Taking away these two crucial factors from a film series that has defined a generation is a very big risk, and this time it didn’t pay off sadly, no matter how well the intention was of director Jonathan Mostow to continue a story that could have been left closed back in 1991 as the credits closed on ‘Terminator 2’.

The basis of the film is almost taking the story from ‘T2’ and recycling it expand a story that doesn’t need to be expanded. Instead of Robert Patrick’s deadly and eerie T-1000 villain, we have a female carbon-copy in the T-X played by Kristanna Loken who tries too hard to evoke Patrick’s menace, fluidity and threat but comes across as just a pale imitation with a few new gadgets.
Both Terminators find their target in an explosive confrontation, a couple of big and loud chase sequences follow, lots of exposition and self-narration, an large military headquarters attack takes place and a final battle with the Terminators ensures as the heroes battle to save the world. It’s ‘Terminator 2’, but without any respect for the gravitas of the story it’s trying to tell and a focus on character relationship and development.

It’s hard to slam this film, as Arnold Schwarzenegger is again perfect as the Terminator himself, the T-800, and he looks in great physical shape. Sadly it’s the script he’s given that lets the character down. Schwarzenegger plays him like no-one else ever could, but when the Terminator drops in sarcasm, subtle hints at humour and even great emotion in what he does and says, it’s clear this really is trying to be something different and family friendly rather than the cold brutality seen in the original 1984 classic and even the 1991 sequel. Young John Connor spent the majority of the second film teaching him emotion and words, but here he already seems pre-programmed to be more comedic and human, which isn’t very good to continue the cyborg killer he should be.

Even Nick Stahl and Claire Danes are reduced to cardboard characters in this big long road/chase movie. Edward Furlong created a young boy turning into a strong, determined young man at the end of ‘Terminator 2’, but now he is played as someone constantly confused, constantly questioning what is happening and constantly narrating events for the benefit of us to follow. I for one didn’t feel this John Connor was the one we saw in the second film.
And Claire Danes only manages to scream and cry during this film, with the odd bit of fighting thrown in for equality. A pointless role given the basis she plays a crucial part in the future war that obviously has just been created for this film’s plot to progress.

That’s one of the big down points; the story. The film gives us nothing new to expand on, except the fact that the threat of Judgement Day wasn’t stopped; it was only delayed. So it almost tries to make the efforts of the second film void and have them replayed here to try stopping the future war once more. But there’s no point because we already know the outcome. There’s no point in also introducing characters over a matter of minutes amongst noisy action sequences and trying to convince us they are the most important characters of the whole series, over the likes of Kyle Reese and even John Connor himself. It’s insulting that Mostow does this to us, rather than expanding the story and relationships laid out so well previously.

Because there is no character development and just hordes of CGI enhanced action scenes and stunts, there is no emotive connection forged with anyone here which was why the previous films were so powerful, because we connected and felt the pain and fear of characters, good and evil. Here, it’s just an action film with the Terminator character thrown in, but even he is watered down.
Mostow plays serious moments for laughs. I admit I did chuckle at the introduction of Schwarzenegger’s character, but because it’s so absurd. He looks in fine physical condition, there’s no denying that, and it’s great to see. But arriving at a strip club to the blaring Village People tune ‘Macho Man’ squaring off against a flamboyant gay stripper dressed in leather and finishing by wearing some Elton John style purple sparkly sunglasses… well, it has to be seen to be understood how this sets the tone for the whole film.

Think about it – ‘The Terminator’ was an 18 and had a brutal, violent and nightmarish introduction that set the tone perfectly. ‘Terminator 2’ was a 15 but still had the gruesome violence and toned down introduction that was handled perfectly to reflect the wider appeal of the tone aimed for. ‘Terminator 3’ becomes a 12, and has a cheeky strip club the basis of our introduction with no violence and plenty of comedic expressions and iconography that sets the tone. Not good, at all.

And as for introductions and tones, we have none of the iconic theme used to signify the arrival, or threat, of the Terminators. Whilst Brad Fiedel used a synthetic, repetitive and machine-like sound to his unforgettable score over both films, here we are treated to a generic mash of orchestral, brass and choir arrangements that most action films incorporate, stripping away the menace that ran through previous films that literally could make you shiver in anticipation when you heard it. Even the adaptation of the main theme used in the end credits is rushed and obviously played on a computer and lasts for less than 1 minute before making way for a typical action film credit moment; a hard rock song.

It wants to BE a Terminator film, but it doesn’t feel or look likes one sadly. If you took away the iconic image of Schwarzenegger dressed in his black leather gear, it would be a basic 100 minute sci-fi action film. The future ‘Terminator Salvation’ at least made an obvious leap in style and tone to differentiate it from the films before, but still trying to maintain a story and theme set out by James Cameron’s vision nearly 20 years before.

‘Terminator 3: Rise Of The Machines’ however simply over-doses the CGI sequences and bloats a weak story to become a very mediocre action film, but very disappointing Terminator film that should have been crafted with much more care and attention than it deserved. There are some good moments of course, the action is well staged and the opening and closing moments are genuinely thought-provoking and visually exciting, much like the previous films were, it’s just the actual narrative in the middle that weigh it down.

Which is a real big shame, because I want to like this more than I have to admit I do. Schwarzenegger saves it for me, but sadly I can't lie to myself after watching it for the first time in many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terminator 3 – Rise Of The Machine [2009] [Blu-ray], 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terminator 3 - Rise Of The Machines [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Terminator 3 – Rise Of The Machine [2009] [Blu-ray] TAKES YOU BEYOND HIGH DEFINITION!

A decade has passed since John Connor [Nick Stahl] helped prevent Judgment Day and save mankind from mass destruction. Now 25, Connor lives "off the grid" - no home, no credit cards, no cell phone and no job. No record of his existence. No way can he be traced by Skynet – the highly developed network of machines that once tried to kill him and wage war on humanity. Until, out of the shadows of the future steps the T-X [Kristanna Loken], Skynet's most sophisticated cyborg killing machine yet. Sent back through time to complete the job left unfinished by her predecessor, the T-1000, this machine is as relentless as her human guise is beautiful. Now John Connor's only hope for survival is the Terminator [Arnold Schwarzenegger], his mysterious former assassin and together they must triumph over the technologically superior T-X and forestall the looming threat of Judgment Day – or face the apocalypse and the fall of civilisation as we know it.

Actors: Arnold Schwarzenegger, Nick Stahl, Claire Danes, Kristanna Loken, David Andrews, Mark Famiglietti, Earl Boen, Moira Sinise, Chopper Bernet, Christopher Lawford, Carolyn Hennesy, Jay Acovone , M.C. Gainey, Susan Merson, Elizabeth Morehead, Jimmy Snyder, George A. Sack Jr. and Eric Ritter

Director: Jonathon Mostow

Producers: Andrew G. Vajna, Colin Wilson, Hal Lieberman, Joel B. Michaels, Guy East, Nigel Sinclair and Moritz Borman,

Screenwriters: James Cameron and Gale Anne Hurd

Composer: Marco Beltrami

Cinematography: Don Burgess

Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 2.40:1

Audio: English 5.1 TrueHD Master Audio, English: 5.1 Dolby Digital, French: 5.1 Dolby Digital and Spanish: 5.1 Dolby Digital

Audio Description: English 5.1

Subtitles: English, English SDH, Finnish, Hindi, Italian, Norwegian and Swedish

Region: All Regions

Running Time: 109 minutes

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Sony Pictures Home Entertainment

Andrew's Blu-ray Review – Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines, despite seemingly preventing Judgement Day (as seen in the events of Terminator 2), an adult John Connor (Nick Stahl) does not believe that the war has truly been averted. He chooses to live 'off-the-grid' in Los Angeles, with no permanent home or job in order to prevent anyone from tracking him. He fears prove to be warranted when Skynet sends a new model of Terminator, the T-X (Kristanna Loken), back through time in an attempt to kill as many of the future human resistance's lieutenants as possible, thereby tipping the balance of the war in its favour. The T-X is an advanced hybrid of the T-800 and T-1000 models and has been designed with an arsenal of powerful weaponry and the ability to remotely control machines with the use of 'nano-transjectors'.

While searching for medicine after a motorcycle accident, John has a chance encounter with Katherine Brewster, an old school friend who, unbeknownst to them both, will go on to become John's wife and second-in-command of the resistance. When the T-X arrives to terminate Kate, it quickly discovers John's presence and begins interrogating her for information, but as before the future resistance is able to send a reprogrammed Terminator (Arnold Schwarzenegger) back through time to protect Connor and Brewster. Arriving just in time to save them from the T-X, this new Terminator has one mission: to ensure the survival of John Connor and Katherine Brewster so that they may fulfil their destinies.

Blu-ray Video Quality – Sony delivers Terminator 3 with a 2.40:1 1080p widescreen transfer that looks pretty good for the most part. Obviously this is the newest of the Schwarzenegger Terminator films, so one would expect it to look significantly better than the older movies, and it's fair to say that it does. The first thing that struck me was how clean the image is, with hardly any blemish to be seen anywhere on the print. It's also fairly detailed, although it's not the sort of razor sharp clarity found on the very best releases (but this seems to be due to the way Terminator 3 was filmed). I don't have the intimate knowledge of the film required to be certain that colour rendition is completely faithful to the source material, but if the DVD release is a reliable indicator it looks to be reasonably accurate if a little unnatural (skin tones are a good indicator of this as they occasionally have an 'artificial quality' to them). Blacks are deep and stable though. All things considered it appears to be a solid representation of the original material even if it's not 'reference quality', so fans should be happy.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – As is customary for their Blu-ray releases, Sony provides a 5.1 TrueHD soundtrack that offers plenty of aural thrills and spills. Right from the get-go all five channels are utilised to deliver an engaging experience, from the future war sequence and the fast-paced T-X pursuit, to the cemetery shoot-out and 'rise' of the machines at the CRS base. The cemetery and CRS scenes in particular stick in my mind for the copious amount of bullets that fly around the soundstage, accompanied by some nice, deep bass (especially when the T-1s fire their mini-guns). Actually bass is probably worth singling out, because it's incredibly powerful throughout. It's not just the obvious explosions that benefit though, as even less obvious things like the T-X's flame-thrower pack a fair amount of low-end punch. Subtle elements aren't forgotten either, and there are times when the atmospheric sounds do a wonderful job of convincing you that you're along for the ride. On the negative side I did find the dialogue a little indistinct at times, particularly during the louder moments. The aggressive use of the surround channels was occasionally overwhelming as well, and Marco Beltrami's score could also have done with a slightly stronger presence in the mix (although that's really a personal thing). Even so, this is still a very impressive soundtrack that could easily serve as a demo title for those wanting to show off their surround set-up.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

EXTRAS: The disc actually contains a reasonably generous helping of bonus material, featuring most of the previously available DVD features and some brand new high definition content. Some of the features from the two-disc release are missing, which is a shame, especially considering less than thirty-five gigabytes of space is used on the disc.

Audio Commentary by Director Jonathan Mostow, actor Arnold Schwarzenegger, actor Nick Stahl, actress Claire Danes and actress Kristanna Loken: This is the same commentary track that appeared on the DVD releases. Each participant was recorded separately and their comments edited together later, so it doesn't have the sort of flow you get with most group commentaries, but it's actually still pretty informative. Arnold comes across as someone who's just a little bit too obsessed with his own body (and Loken's for that matter). It borders on creepy at times.

Storyboards [4:00] You get a montage of the film's climatic Terminator vs. Terminator duel scene, and the entire sequence is shown as a side-by-side comparison between the storyboards and the final finished film, complete with soundtrack. This is actually a split screen feature that shows the Crystal Peak storyboards alongside the completed footage. I guess this could be quite interesting if you're into the whole 'how did the scene evolve' thing.

TV Special: HBO First Look [24:00] This is a pretty standard documentary that covers all of the promotional bases without providing any real insight into the production. It was obviously designed to drum up interest prior to the launch of the film, so it focusses on the action and the new 'Terminatrix' (I'm sure that should be 'Terminatress). The cast pop up to tell us how great the film is going to be, but that's about as deep as it gets.

Deleted Scenes and Blooper Reel [3:01] Yes, it's the usual sight of actors fluffing their lines and things going wrong. None of the gaffs are particularly funny though.

TerminatorVision – Picture-in-Picture Experience: This is the disc's BonusView feature, which provides additional commentary from director Jonathan Mostow (as well as producers Mario Kassar and Andrew Vajna) who have recorded new introductions and full-length interviews. And windowed video footage pertinent to the on-screen events. So far BonusView features have left me somewhat underwhelmed, but this one is actually reasonably interesting (even if there is a fair amount of space between the video segments). Jonathan Mostow dominates the track, so much so that you could be forgiven for thinking that it's a solo effort, but the video segments show some interesting footage and is well worth watching.

Dressed to Kill [3:00] This is a very short look at the various attire worn by the characters, with the focus on the T-850 and the T-X. It's way too short to be of any real interest.

Toys in Action [8:00] In this documentary, Todd McFarlane talks us through the process of creating Terminator toys. While I found the artist work fairly interesting, I did get a bit tired with McFarlane himself. He is way too enthusiastic about plastic dolls.

Sgt. Candy Deleted Scene [3:00] This is a total oddity, as this is the much-talked about Sgt. Candy scene, which features Arnie playing a character that would be the physical basis for the Terminators. It's a fun scene to watch in isolation, but I can see why it was lifted from the film.

Making of the Video Game [8:57] This promotional documentary for the making of the first T3 makes it look a hell of a lot better than reviews suggest. True to form everyone goes on about how great it will be, with even the late, great Stan Winston professing his love for it. Oh dear.

Theatrical Trailers: The disc includes trailers for Terminator: Salvation and The Da Vinci Code, along with the usual Blu-ray showcases.

Finally, try as I might, I just can't view Terminator 3 as a valid extension of the Terminator franchise. I get some enjoyment if I watch it for the pyrotechnics and robots beating each other up, rather than as a serious science fiction picture, but it's too dumb to be taken as a proper continuation of Jim Cameron's films. I don't think this Blu-ray is going to do anything to change the minds of people who dislike the film (me included), but at least it's technically competent with solid video, great audio and a fair helping of bonus material. If you're a Terminator 3 fan, then this should definitely be on your 'must buy' list and so glad I have this in my Blu-ray Collection with the other Terminator films, making it an amazing collection that I love to watch when I am in the mood, as there is so much action in these genre films, you never get bored and you always see something new with each viewing and again I am so glad I now have all of the brilliant Arnold Schwarzenegger franchise films in my Blu-ray Collection. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Andrew C. Miller - Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Terminator, it's great., 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's Terminator 3, so it's gotta be a winner, Probably the weakest of the first three movies, but the Special Effects are good, the main protagonist is of-course gorgeous , & let's face it even a weak Terminator Movie knocks spots off most other Sci-Fi. My 10 year old who hadn't seen them before liked this movie as much as T2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last REAL terminator movie!, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terminator 3 - Rise Of The Machines [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Very good movie and the last in the series (for me Salvation did not count!) not as good as T1 or T2 but still worth purchasing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What A Travesty, 30 Jan 2007
For starters, let me say what a fan I am of the first two Terminator films. 1984's 'The Terminator,' despite having a relatively very low budget changed science fiction movies forever. To make a sequel that could live up to such a film was incredibly ambitious, but proved to be more than worthy. It too changed movie-making in 1991 with it's revolutionary use of CGI, brilliantly executed and embodied in the T-1000. These movies (nevermind the later addition of 'Titanic') made up a repetoire of cinematic excellence that propelled James Cameron into the super-elite of directors in league with Spielberg, Lucas and Kubrik.

Based upon the success of the previous efforts, a second sequel was inevitable. The Terminator franchise was too great a money-spinner to sacrifice. And so, in spite of legal wrangling with regards to studio rights, budget and casting problems, the film was made. And what a bloody, God-awful mess they made of it.

In much the same vein as the Alien franchise, the Terminator story has been obliterated at it's third outing. On both occassions, James Cameron set up an incredibly cohesive dynamic between it's main characters, only for the makers of the third films to 'improve' said inter-relationships. I can only speculate as to quite what Mr. Cameron makes of having his ideas perverted once again, but I'm pretty sure he's not pleased.

From the opening scene, I had an idea that all was not well. The 'aesthetic' just wasn't consistent with it's predecessors. No flash graphics showing the font of the terminator logo, just plain black and white. The familiar Brad Fiedel score was also missing, which may sound very trivial, but I consider it to to be a movie no-no. It would be like making a Star Wars film without the John Williams music and minus the yellow script scrolling into deep space.

One thing that was consistent was the apocolyptic vision of the future, which, despite a very unconvincing (and frankly comical) older representation of John Conor, was pretty impressive. It was a pleasure to see so many T-800s roaming the desolate landscape in search of survivors. Truely nightmarish, but far too short.

And from here on in, the film goes downhill with increasing speed. Firstly, the villain just isn't scary. The 'Terminatrix' is a cross between the previous T-800 and T-1000 models, an endoskeleton surrounded by liquid metal so as to modify it's appearance. Mostly, in the form of the beautiful Kristanna Loken. But to be quite honest, an attractive model isn't going to scare me in the same way as a steel skeleton with it's flesh gradually flayed off, or a 'mimetic poly-alloy' that can morph out of the floor and stab you through the eye.

Add to this the 'comedy.' The scene where the T-800 must acquire some clothes is pretty pathetic. After robbing a (stereotypically gay) male stripper of his biker gear in front of a packed audience of enthusistic women, he reaches into his pocket to pull out and put on - A PAIR OF ELTON JOHN SUNGLASSES. This didn't work and made me cringe with embarrassment. Another cringeworthy display is at the supermarket, where the Terminator mimics the aforementioned stripper by telling the assistant to "Talk to the hand." This affords the film no greater value whatsoever and could have quite easily have been edited out.

I have to say that the effects are very impressive, but I didn't feel particularly excited or thrilled by any of them. Looking good just isn't enough.

As for the characters themselves, the outcome of their future mattered very little to me. I simply didn't care. Not to fault Nick Stahl, the new John Connor, I think he did about as much with the script as could be expected. Likewise with Clare Danes.

So, to summarise, Terminator 3 is an abomination from start to finish that is not only insulting to it's predecessors but also stains them with it's crassness and ineptitude. If it's decided that a fourth film is to be made, I would suggest that part 3 is ignored and Mr. Cameron is brought on board to rectify these mistakes and make a more fitting third installment to what could have been a great trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A weak and diluted episode of the Terminator series. They have turned Terminator into a family-film .... disgusting., 9 Jun 2009
By 
N. Thompson "Beaker" (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Oh what a suprise (not); the Terminator is now a woman; how predictable. What really is a suprise is that the third film in the Terminator franchise is rated '12'. Terminator films were and always should be rated '18' otherwise all you get is some diluted version of what was a winning formula. Instead they have turn Terminator 3 into a family film and from beginning to end this is plain to see.

Also; its a shame they couldnt make a new Terminator without Arnie. Ok he was great in the first two films but the franchise is strong enough to make this third film without this aging less convincing Terminator.

The latest bad guy Terminator is obviously a woman (suprise, suprise), but sadly this doesnt work and the villian is no where near as threatening or impressive as the liquid Terminator in the second film.

This is a deeply unsatisfactory film and I still cant get my head around why they have tried turning it into a family film. The Terminator films are horror movies and for it to be as good as the first 2 movies; it has to be a rated 18 movie. Otherwise all the things that made the first 2 great would be missing here ..... and they are.

Poor film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Constantly menacing baddie, 23 Mar 2010
By 
maximus (manchester, uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Terminator 3 - Rise Of The Machines [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I think the best thing about this film is the sense of surprising scariness that the baddie lady robot brings to this movie. First time I saw it, that was all I remembered about it, the scary robot. But I was disappointed with the way it ended. However, when I watched it again on this Blu-ray set, the whole thing made a bit more coherent sense and actually the ending was quite fitting and the film has gone up a notch in my estimation. The arnie T1 and T2 cliches return, and some of them work and some don't. A sense of self parody there but it's harmless fun. The menacing robot lady is just as scary watching the film second time round, and the film starts with and builds eve more tension very effectively throughout. The transfer to Blu-ray is very good and I'm glad I got this edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars IGNORE THIS ONE, 17 Feb 2005
To all fans - just ignore this rubbish and pretend it never came out, and lets pray T4 is a fitting end to the battle between humans and the machines.
"The machines rose from the ashes of the nuclear fire, their war to exterminate mankind had raged for decades. But the final battle will not be fought in the future, it will be fought here, in our presence....TONIGHT."
Whenever I watch T1, that message at the start still sends a shiver down my spine and the film leaves you overwhelmed by emotion at the end as the man says "There's a storm coming" and Sarah says " I know" and the main theme kicks in - You cry for humanity and the struggle ahead.
In T2, the depiction of the nuclear war again has you overwhelmed by emotion, yet T2 offers hope of a better tomorrow.
Then T3 comes along and f***s everything up - this film is so bad that I want to force the director and producer to apologise for this debacle. But as that is unlikely the best we can do is to ignore it and forget it was ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Terminator 3 - Rise Of The Machines [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free]
7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews