Customer Reviews


261 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A sci-fi actioner with a surprising take on America's weapons of mass destruction.
Doesn't have the gritty feel of 'Terminator' or the sleek cutting edge of technology look of 'Judgment Day,' but it's a decent addition to the Terminator mythos. Until the gutsy ending, there doesn't seem to be much of a reason for this movie to have been made. And damn if it's not fun to watch. It's a slick, smooth and indeed explosive instalment, but it has neither the...
Published 20 months ago by danhasthespeed

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "I'm Back In A 12a Terminator Movie"!
Terminator 3 Rise Of The Machines.

Starring.
Arnold Schwarzenegger, Nick Stahl, Kristanna Loken, Clare Danes.
Director: Jonathon Mostow.
Format: Subtitled.
Language: English.
Subtitles: Danish, English, Finnish, Hindi, Italian, Norwegian, Swedish.
Dubbed: Italian.
Subtitles For The Hearing Impaired: English.
Audio...
Published 17 months ago by Timelord-007


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "I'm Back In A 12a Terminator Movie"!, 27 Dec. 2013
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terminator 3 - Rise Of The Machines [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Terminator 3 Rise Of The Machines.

Starring.
Arnold Schwarzenegger, Nick Stahl, Kristanna Loken, Clare Danes.
Director: Jonathon Mostow.
Format: Subtitled.
Language: English.
Subtitles: Danish, English, Finnish, Hindi, Italian, Norwegian, Swedish.
Dubbed: Italian.
Subtitles For The Hearing Impaired: English.
Audio Description: English.
Certificate: 12
Region: All Regions.
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 2.40:1.
Number of discs: 1.
Running Time 104 Minutes

Blu-ray Extras.
Commentary
Documentary
Deleted Scene
Trailer

Positive.
1)There is a decent chase with The Terminator & T-X plus aa superb cherograped fight between these two cyborgs.
2)Arnie just about makes this average viewing.
3)The T-X, a sleek "Terminatrix" is played superbly by a cold expressionless Kristanna Loken.

Negative.
1)Didn't need another sequel, T2 gave this franchise complete closure.
2)12a rating, It's a Terminator movie FFS!
3)Nick Stahl as John Connor is total miscasting here.

Blu Ray Info.
Picture : Excellent clear vibrant transfer.
Sound : Crystal clear sharp audio mix in 5.1 Dolby Digital.

Cast.
Arnold Schwarzenegger as The T-800 Terminator
Nick Stahl as John Connor
Kristanna Loken as T-X
Claire Danes as Kate Brewster
David Andrews as Lieutenant General Robert Brewster
Mark Famiglietti as Scott Mason
Earl Boen as Dr. Peter Silberman
Jay Acovone as LAPD Officer.
Kim Robillard as Detective Edwards
Mark Hicks as Detective Bell

Trivia.
1)Arnie fee was $30 million for this movie.
2)This is the first Terminator movie that doesn't feature any input from James Cameron & boy does it show.
3)Arnie gave $5 million of his fee back so director Jonathan Mostow could expand upon the chase between the T-800 on the police bike & TX in the fire truck on the freeway.
4)This was Arnies last film before his political career started as Governor of California.

Review.
Arnies back but this time it's more likely for the $30 million dollar payday he received for reprising his role as The Terminator.

Made in 2003 a whopping 12 year's after T2, this toned down second sequel sees Judgment day as an inevitability & Arnies T-800 is sent back yet again to locate & protect John Connor from a new Terminator - the T-X a female cyborg who has arrived to eliminate out John Connor's future general's in a bid to change the outcome of the war against Skynet hoping to lure of John Connor out of hiding who has gone off the grid since his mother Sarah Conmor passed away from cancer.

The action scenes including a very impressive shot chase sequence & the two Terminators fighting are well executed & both add great action, my issue is with the 12a violence we now have bloodless shootouts shot at angles were we see no impact shots making this movie a poor toned down effort than the first two (15)R' rated classics.

Arnie does ok but seems a bit two old to be playing this sort of role now & considering he said he'd never do a Terminator movie without James Cameron he's changed his mind when a $30 million payday is wavered under his nose.

Kristina Loken is fine as the T-X, a beautiful but deadly cyborg & it's a pity she wasn't allowed to go hardcore with the violence as she certainly got the screen presence & conviction to play a bad ass cyborg killer.

When the inevitable happens & the machines start attacking planet Earth as Skynet takes control there should've been a violent & tense sequence showing mankind helpless against Skynet as humans are effortlessly wipped out by the machines but again because of th 12a rating it's cut in a watered down & bloodless way striping the scene of any tension or shocking drama, James Cameron would've made this a epic sequence had he directed this movie.

I suppose one could argue that fate has a way of changing history no matter what we do as here Judgment Day is inevitable even altering event's it's though fate has altered the timeline once again to accommodate for the changes made to events in T2.

The movie ends on a tense cliffhanger that set's up another movie or as there's a flashback of John Connor being victorious this could also be seen as closure to the franchise as it shows John Connor triumphant finally defeating Skynet.

The Blu ray transer is of the highest quality & the sound mix is clear & balanced & the film now looks & sounds better than ever.

A pity a harder cut of the movie wasn't released on the Blu ray as my rating may have been slightly higher, overall Terminator 3 is a watchable action flick but compared to the epic two James Cameron movies it pales into significance & is just another average action flick.

Timelord Rating.
6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great, 22 Oct. 2013
By 
This review is from: Terminator 3 - Rise Of The Machines [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I love the first two films. The original film created a stark tone, comparing the unstoppable, brutal and coldly efficient Terminator and the human spirit. Terminator 2 turned that on its head a little, but did so with absolute integrity. There are so many overarching themes and ideas which, alongside the great story, pace, tone and acting (even Arnie), it's one of the best sci-fi films ever made in my opinion.

I like the fourth. Although it is flawed and they should have probably stopped at Terminator 2, it is enjoyable and I'd watch it again.

T3 jumps the shark in a major way. It is like the producers and writers of Terminator 3 brainstormed the top 10 things they thought people loved from Terminator 2 so that they could serve up the exact same thing again and cash in. Symptomatic of this is the drop to a 12 rating to get as many people into the cinemas as possible and I would argue that it is impossible to communicate the stark tone and ideas of the Terminator films on a 12 certificate. Chase scenes are not tense; they feel like a CGI Disney experience ride. The villain is OK, but she simply cannot match the cat-like yet mechanical grace and sinisterness of Jason Patrick as the T-1000 in T2. The result is a film with little vision, a poor script and screenplay and some poor directorial choices that concentrates on Hollywood special effects and cliché over substance. This film feels like it has no heart to it. It has nothing to add or say beyond being a CGI fuelled action flick.

The film is not a total disaster and there is some fun to be had watching it. If you have never seen T1 or T2, you'd probably enjoy T3 more. However, if people are fans of T1 and T2, they should go into this film expecting to be underwhelmed and I can understand the outright hostility of some viewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad, bad BAAAAAD!!!!!!!, 14 July 2009
By 
This could and should have been a very good film, but it was frankly appalling. There are a number of reasons for this...

1/ Nick Stahl is twenty million miles from the level of gritty-faced rebel that Christian Bale is. I'm not bigging Bale up particularly, I don't really like him, but this role should NEVER have gone to someone like Stahl.
Whether he was told to play John Connor as a whiny tosser by the director, Jonathon Mostow, or whether that was just his natural take on the character I don't know, but it didn't work at all.

2/ This is a B-movie. The first two films in this franchise were international blockbusters that broke the boundaries in effects, storytelling and acting (Ah-nuld excepted, naturally). This offering is cack.
Like sequels such as Ghostbusters 2, the values are way below that of its more successful predecessors, as is the directing and editing. It is a disgrace to place such a lame offering in line with two pieces of cinematic genius like The Terminator and T2.
How in the name of all that is sacred Jim Cameron could honestly describe this as "In a word... great!" is beyond me. Compared to his offerings in this franchise, it is unmitigated garbage.
I think it might have been the LA Times which said the movie was "content to be a B-movie and remain loud, dumb and obvious."
Couldn't have put it better myself.

3/ The continuity has been ripped to shreds.
We know the original film's events were set in 1984, with the future Kyle Reese had just come from - the year the war against the Machines had ended in victory for the human rebels - being 2029.
This was established in T1 and reconfirmed in T2 when John's birth date is categorically shown (on the police computer, searched by the T-1000) as being the 2nd of February 1985 and his current age being ten years old. This would probably place the events of T2 in 1995.
Things then start to fall apart in the first seconds of T3 when a voiceover from John says "when I was thirteen, they tried again". Huh? Where did the extra three years come from? Did they do this so that John's "making out" with Kate when he was a child wouldn't sound just a bit too precocious? A ten year old "making out" is kinda unwholesome, after all.
If it was true though, then that would place the events of T2 in 1998, which was actually a year after the war should've originally started, until the events of T2 postponed it. Errors number one and two...
John Connor is supposed to be, I think 22 during T3. That places the events of T3 during the bulk of 2007. They are actually taking place (as confirmed in T4) during 2004. Error number three...
Sarah Connor's birth and death dates as revealed on the fake tombstone in the mausoleum, have to push the events of T1, when she was nineteen years old, back to 1978 if they are to make any sense, which would place the events of T2 in 1988, but would make the 2004 John in T3 a ripe old 26, not 22. Continuity errors four and five...
There are probably more, but by now I've lost the will to carry on, so I'll stop. I'll just finish by repeating that this is a pale shadow of the first two films and that the writers and director should be fired from all future projects and thrown out of their trade associations. This film was crying out for James Cameron to have had something to do with it. I just hope T4 doesn't suffer similarly from his absence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terminated!, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This one really was in need of termination.

Not a patch on the first two terminator films.

Interestingly enough,

T1 was an 18 cert
T2 was a 15 cert
T3 ...made for an age 12 audience, but still had fwords, gore, nudity and sexual innuendo ...go figure!

Rubbish film with lame humour and awful casting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A sci-fi actioner with a surprising take on America's weapons of mass destruction., 2 Oct. 2013
Doesn't have the gritty feel of 'Terminator' or the sleek cutting edge of technology look of 'Judgment Day,' but it's a decent addition to the Terminator mythos. Until the gutsy ending, there doesn't seem to be much of a reason for this movie to have been made. And damn if it's not fun to watch. It's a slick, smooth and indeed explosive instalment, but it has neither the spit and polish of T2 nor the grittiness of the cult hit T1.The sequel expands on the nature of fate that the previous pictures explored so well, culminating in a rather bold third act where saving the day takes on a more unconventional meaning.A largely engaging, throwback-level action realization of a surprisingly dark conceit.Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines may lack the mythic pow of the 1984 original and the visionary thrill of T2, but it's a potent popcorn movie that digs in its hooks and doesn't let go until an ending that ODs on apocalyptic hoo-ha.Unlike the first two movies, this one doesn't bear the directorial mark of James Cameron, but it still manages to deliver heart-pounding suspense and dark science-fiction vision of a world destroyed.This doesn't make a lot of sense, but who needs plot continuity when there's Claire Danes?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Blu Ray won't disappoint you, 12 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Terminator 3 - Rise Of The Machines [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
As it was released few months ago, the quality of this blu ray is up to 2009 standard, lots of extra and lossless soundtrack.

This is superior to the US version which contains dolby 5.1 soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars just aint frightening, 24 Mar. 2005
The core problem with T3 is Kristanna Loken's hopeless miscasting as the new Terminator. The whole point of a killing machine is that not only is it supposed to be a killing machine, it's also supposed to look like one. Both Arnie's original in T1 and Robert Patrick's liquid freak in T2 made you want to run a mile just by catching sight of them. T3 just makes you go weak at the knees. Call me old fashioned, but someone who looks like they should be on the cover of FHM does not make for a scary cyborg killer.

As a result of this blunder, T3 lacks the sense of dread that made the first two movies such compelling viewing. Instead we are treated to a series of ludicrously over the top car chases, explosions and smash 'em ups, in order to paper over the cracks in the plot. In fact the special effects are in my opinion inferior to T2. The new Terminator is hardly revolutionary either. I would put money on that the T-1000 from T2 could wipe the floor with this dolly. The acting is terrible as well. To be fair to Loken, she at least looks like she's trying to put some effort into her role. Stahl and Danes just look bored with the whole thing. Even Arnie seems more concerned with his pay cheque than breathing life into proceedings.

It's not that T3 couldn't have been a good movie. With a decent script and better acting there's no reason why it shouldn't have been on a par with the earlier films. But as it is it's just one big yawn from beginning to end. Hopefully T4 will put the fear and suspense back into the series. Just forget T3 ever existed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shouldn't Have Come Back, 14 Jun. 2009
By 
Tallimare (England, Norfolk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With such a rich and engaging story line to work with you would think that the directors and writers would deliver a stunning film. Alas, that was not to be the case.
Huge turning plot lines are given in typical cliché lines such as: "why yes of course! It all makes sense now!" (which btw it didnt) and ofc the wink to the audience at every possible turn by the director that "yes i know this is terrible but hey! What about those special effects eh?".
Some other reviewers have also mentioned the terrible, downright laughable casting in the film. Its basically built around Arnie and he was far past his best (T2) which is why you dont put any real actors in the film next to him because he would look even more ridiculous.
All in all I found this film to be a complete sellout to the idea that the viewer just wanted cheap laughs at every opportunity to give arnie one final payday.
My advice would be to avoid this and watch The Sarah Connor Chronicles and hope they change the future so this film never gets made!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A weak and diluted episode of the Terminator series. They have turned Terminator into a family-film .... disgusting., 9 Jun. 2009
By 
N. Thompson "Beaker" (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Oh what a suprise (not); the Terminator is now a woman; how predictable. What really is a suprise is that the third film in the Terminator franchise is rated '12'. Terminator films were and always should be rated '18' otherwise all you get is some diluted version of what was a winning formula. Instead they have turn Terminator 3 into a family film and from beginning to end this is plain to see.

Also; its a shame they couldnt make a new Terminator without Arnie. Ok he was great in the first two films but the franchise is strong enough to make this third film without this aging less convincing Terminator.

The latest bad guy Terminator is obviously a woman (suprise, suprise), but sadly this doesnt work and the villian is no where near as threatening or impressive as the liquid Terminator in the second film.

This is a deeply unsatisfactory film and I still cant get my head around why they have tried turning it into a family film. The Terminator films are horror movies and for it to be as good as the first 2 movies; it has to be a rated 18 movie. Otherwise all the things that made the first 2 great would be missing here ..... and they are.

Poor film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What A Travesty, 30 Jan. 2007
For starters, let me say what a fan I am of the first two Terminator films. 1984's 'The Terminator,' despite having a relatively very low budget changed science fiction movies forever. To make a sequel that could live up to such a film was incredibly ambitious, but proved to be more than worthy. It too changed movie-making in 1991 with it's revolutionary use of CGI, brilliantly executed and embodied in the T-1000. These movies (nevermind the later addition of 'Titanic') made up a repetoire of cinematic excellence that propelled James Cameron into the super-elite of directors in league with Spielberg, Lucas and Kubrik.

Based upon the success of the previous efforts, a second sequel was inevitable. The Terminator franchise was too great a money-spinner to sacrifice. And so, in spite of legal wrangling with regards to studio rights, budget and casting problems, the film was made. And what a bloody, God-awful mess they made of it.

In much the same vein as the Alien franchise, the Terminator story has been obliterated at it's third outing. On both occassions, James Cameron set up an incredibly cohesive dynamic between it's main characters, only for the makers of the third films to 'improve' said inter-relationships. I can only speculate as to quite what Mr. Cameron makes of having his ideas perverted once again, but I'm pretty sure he's not pleased.

From the opening scene, I had an idea that all was not well. The 'aesthetic' just wasn't consistent with it's predecessors. No flash graphics showing the font of the terminator logo, just plain black and white. The familiar Brad Fiedel score was also missing, which may sound very trivial, but I consider it to to be a movie no-no. It would be like making a Star Wars film without the John Williams music and minus the yellow script scrolling into deep space.

One thing that was consistent was the apocolyptic vision of the future, which, despite a very unconvincing (and frankly comical) older representation of John Conor, was pretty impressive. It was a pleasure to see so many T-800s roaming the desolate landscape in search of survivors. Truely nightmarish, but far too short.

And from here on in, the film goes downhill with increasing speed. Firstly, the villain just isn't scary. The 'Terminatrix' is a cross between the previous T-800 and T-1000 models, an endoskeleton surrounded by liquid metal so as to modify it's appearance. Mostly, in the form of the beautiful Kristanna Loken. But to be quite honest, an attractive model isn't going to scare me in the same way as a steel skeleton with it's flesh gradually flayed off, or a 'mimetic poly-alloy' that can morph out of the floor and stab you through the eye.

Add to this the 'comedy.' The scene where the T-800 must acquire some clothes is pretty pathetic. After robbing a (stereotypically gay) male stripper of his biker gear in front of a packed audience of enthusistic women, he reaches into his pocket to pull out and put on - A PAIR OF ELTON JOHN SUNGLASSES. This didn't work and made me cringe with embarrassment. Another cringeworthy display is at the supermarket, where the Terminator mimics the aforementioned stripper by telling the assistant to "Talk to the hand." This affords the film no greater value whatsoever and could have quite easily have been edited out.

I have to say that the effects are very impressive, but I didn't feel particularly excited or thrilled by any of them. Looking good just isn't enough.

As for the characters themselves, the outcome of their future mattered very little to me. I simply didn't care. Not to fault Nick Stahl, the new John Connor, I think he did about as much with the script as could be expected. Likewise with Clare Danes.

So, to summarise, Terminator 3 is an abomination from start to finish that is not only insulting to it's predecessors but also stains them with it's crassness and ineptitude. If it's decided that a fourth film is to be made, I would suggest that part 3 is ignored and Mr. Cameron is brought on board to rectify these mistakes and make a more fitting third installment to what could have been a great trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Terminator 3 - Rise Of The Machines [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free]
£6.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews