Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW...SIMPLY AMAZING!
This is a terrific CD, with its wild meld of celtic, pop, folk, and country strains. The Chieftains, accompanied by such music greats as Sting, Mick Jagger, Sinead O'Connor, The Rolling Stones, Marianne Faithfull, Tom Jones, Van Morrison, among others...who would have thought such an assemblage would result in such a cohesive recording of such wildly divergent music? Of...
Published on 10 Nov 2002 by Lawyeraau

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointed
Chieftens good as always but some of the guest perfomances could be better.
Will not be playing this very often
Published 21 months ago by MAllin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW...SIMPLY AMAZING!, 10 Nov 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Long Black Veil (Audio CD)
This is a terrific CD, with its wild meld of celtic, pop, folk, and country strains. The Chieftains, accompanied by such music greats as Sting, Mick Jagger, Sinead O'Connor, The Rolling Stones, Marianne Faithfull, Tom Jones, Van Morrison, among others...who would have thought such an assemblage would result in such a cohesive recording of such wildly divergent music? Of particular note are Sting's mournful rendition of "Mo Ghile Mear" and Sinead O'Connor's stylization of "The Foggy Dew" and "He Moved Through The Fair". Mick Jagger also does justice to "A Long Black Veil". This CD is simply a great recording overall!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fiddles, whistles and rock stars!, 27 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Long Black Veil (Audio CD)
This CD certainly proves that The Chieftains have friends in high places! This album is packed full of rock stars (Mick Jagger, Sting, Sinead O' Connor, Van Morrison, Mark Knopfler, Tom Jones and Marianne Faithfull) singing traditional Irish songs. This is an interesting album and the songs do work better than I expected them too. This is a lively collection of songs and none of the artists sound out of place, but I think I would still prefer hearing these songs sung by folk singers. Nonetheless this is a good introduction to The Chieftain's style of music and an essential buy if you are a fan of the artists involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointed, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Black Veil (Audio CD)
Chieftens good as always but some of the guest perfomances could be better.
Will not be playing this very often
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent recommendation, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Black Veil (Audio CD)
My Canadian friend recommended this album and I was definitely not disappointed. Still listening months after purchase. Happy to use this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Celtic music - The Chieftains - The Long Black Veil, 17 April 2010
By 
I. Gallagher "Emeraldlight" (Stevenage, Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Long Black Veil (Audio CD)
I love Celtic music and have been thinking of buying the Chieftain's music for years. Well I finally got around to it and believe me it was well worth it. I enjoyed every minute of this album, favourite tracks are, 'Have I told you that I love you' and 'The Lily of the West'. I also bought 'Santiago' and 'The Wide World Over'. All three albums are a good buy. The title song on this album 'The Long Black Veil is one that I have known for years as it was one of my favourite songs sung by Johnny Cash and that is what attracted me to this album in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW FREE MP3 AUTOMATICALY, 9 Jun 2014
By 
M. Kraft "Proud Grandad" (Enfield, N.London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Black Veil (Audio CD)
BOUGHT FOR A FRIEND WHO SINGS WITH CHOIR, BUT TO MY SURPRISE IT APPEARED IN MY CLOUD PLAYER WITH NO INPUT ON MY PART.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening., 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Black Veil (Audio CD)
I very much enjoyed listening to this recording which I have now added to my listening collection. There is so many well known recording artists on this recording, and I'm thrilled with their input to the recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Black Veil (Audio CD)
This album in my opinion is not as good overall as the other 2 of the Chieftains that I bought, some of the collaborations did not work for me, but did enjoy some tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Black Veil (Audio CD)
I am not particularly a lover of The Chieftains but was looking for a particular song which unfortunately was not on this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome Allstars, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Black Veil (Audio CD)
Quite fabulous album, brilliant musicianship, eclectic mix, stunning vocals, marvellous tunes an all time favourite and go to album.

recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Long Black Veil
The Long Black Veil by The Chieftains
Buy MP3 Album3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews