Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trend Following by Michael W. Covel
I found 'Trend Following' to be an immensely enjoyable and well researched book. It is packed with valuable insights from many of the most successful financial traders in modern times, and also covers the financial crash of October 2008. It is an extremely informative book that is very easy to read. The various chapters are supported by a wealth of interesting tables and...
Published on 7 Oct 2010 by J Stroud

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not deliver
I wasted time and money on both of Covell's books. He doesn't give up the good stuff in either, you have to buy his Trend Following course for that.You will not "learn to make millions in Up or Down Markets". I don't understand the mass of positive reviews for this book. It tells the story about Richard Dennis and the Turtles but not their methods, that will cost you...
Published on 8 Feb 2011 by John Macklin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not deliver, 8 Feb 2011
I wasted time and money on both of Covell's books. He doesn't give up the good stuff in either, you have to buy his Trend Following course for that.You will not "learn to make millions in Up or Down Markets". I don't understand the mass of positive reviews for this book. It tells the story about Richard Dennis and the Turtles but not their methods, that will cost you $1,200.I made a mistake buying this book, don't you repeat it.
Just started Curtis Faith's book from which I am already getting more facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trend Following by Michael W. Covel, 7 Oct 2010
I found 'Trend Following' to be an immensely enjoyable and well researched book. It is packed with valuable insights from many of the most successful financial traders in modern times, and also covers the financial crash of October 2008. It is an extremely informative book that is very easy to read. The various chapters are supported by a wealth of interesting tables and charts. Trend Following is an absolute 'must-read' and is superb value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn to be on the Trend Side of the markets and stop offering yourself on a Mutual Level!, 24 July 2011
This book totally blows open what and how trend following is the way forward in this very old market perception of buy and hold. Michael delves into lots of juicy statistics for successfull trend followers and realises how these guys are making the money when everyone else is losing it! Need i say more. A must read for anyone who has a general interest in markets and more so for someone getting into the trend following business. Well done Michael.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A complete waste of time, 19 Jun 2011
By 
Carel Lucas (Perth, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought and read this book because I am interested in profiting from trend following, but all this book says is basically that trend following works, which is pretty obvious to anyone who can read charts. All he does is bombard us with loads of charts and endless stories about alleged trend followers. It would have been better to analyse a particular trading system.
I give it one star because he takes 400 pages to say something that could have been said in one page.
Don't waste your money on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Persuasive but not useful for trading, 13 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. "luc" (LONDON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trend Following (Updated Edition): Learn to Make Millions in Up or Down Markets, (Kindle Edition)
It a good background read, even if very frustrating because the author never really gets to meat and potatoes of how to actually trend trade. I would have liked to see a large range of examples of entries and exits using a trend following approach; like what Dr. Elder's book 'Entries and Exits' does. This book focuses on persuading the doubters and 'buy and hold' readers that trend following is a better approach. It is not for those of us who want to actually trade in that way. Disappointing that the author either does not have the detailed experience or has deliberately held back this information. There is a very short piece in one of the appendices, showing an example of a trend following strategy, but why only one and why so brief? Without those few pages near the end, the book would have been largely a waste of my time, except that it has raised my awareness of and curiosity about trend following.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trend Following: Learn to Make Millions in Up or Down Markets, 3 Sep 2013
Whether you are a seasoned investor or not, Michael Covel's "Trendfollowing" is a well written and easily understood book which highlights one of the most enduring methods of capital appreciation available today. It is full of real-life returns going back over 20 to 30 years, mostly from managers still in business which says a lot. It's one of the first books I recommend to traders who are just starting out and looking for a bit of quality inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Neither here nor there, 28 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is basically a very long propaganda of the trend following advantages. I read it once quickly and then got into it again thinking that I may have missed something initially but nope - apart from defending the trend following approach there is no practical help "to make millions".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Has very little content of actual value, 4 Dec 2014
As a few other people have noted, this book contains virtually nothing of real, material value. There are plenty of stories about trend following and how it's so wonderful, plus people who have made money out of it. However, there is no information about how to spot trends, the use of indicators like MACD's or RSI's, etc. to identify entry or exit points or indeed, anything of real use at all.

After finishing the book, I went through it again to see if I'd missed something - but I hadn't, aside from some stories and vague pieces of advice, there's nothing here.

If you wish to read it, try and get a copy through your library but trust me, don't waste money on buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great read. It will open you eyes to the ..., 8 Nov 2014
This is a great read. It will open you eyes to the amazing possibilities of trend following as a viable strategy with proven verified results. I've read many books on trading and this is one of the best, no filler pages or unhelpful irrelevant information. No...this gives you the facts and the possible potential rewards coupled with the power of compounding gains over a number of years.

It also honestly prepares you for the inevitable draw-downs, so no pie in the sky sugar coating. Just facts! Do yourself a favour and buy the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Trend Following Manifesto, 7 Dec 2009
By 
Erlend Løken (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am a finance student, looking to become a full time trader. As a result of this, I have tried to read as many books on trading as possible. I find Trend Following to be one of the books that really stand out from that giant crowd.

My main reason for this feeling is the books feeling of completeness. When it comes to the subject of trend following, Michael, in a clear and concise manner, lays down the all the information you could possibly want regarding the mindset required, the techniques to use, the players that apply these techniques, and tonnes of data to back it up.

Unlike many trading books out there that simply hints at how you should approach trading, and/or gives a few vague examples of the techniques applied, Trend Following is a go-to-book which will explain in detail all the different aspects of the methodology called Trend Following.

I can speak for both myself and my friends/co-students when I say that you will have several nice a-ha-moments the next time you sit down in front of the trading screen after reading this book.

PS - If my English is weird it's because I'm from Norway.

Superb book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews