Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars20
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Mitchell and Webb have to be one of my favourite comedy partnerships of recent years. While poking fun at the seemingly mundane in life, the extraordinary things we all seem able to accept and occasionally going off on flights of hilarious fantasy, they're never afraid to give the inner geek free reign.

Also starring Olivia Coleman and James Bachman in a bewildering array of characters, this is a well written sketch show, and while there is the odd dud most of the sketches hit rather than miss, and the short quickfire nature means there are plenty of laughs in each episode.

All six episodes are collected here onto 1 DVD. Series 3 of the Mitchell and Webb sound repeats a large proportion of the sketches, but there is enough material unique to radio or TV to make it worth owning both.

5 Stars.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2009
Another great entry to the M&W oeuvre, with all the typical attributes: imaginative, self-deprecating sketches, unique editing, fast-moving ideas.

But the main, and essential, ingredient of success is their acting. M&W bring their winning, and sometimes frustrating, personalities to every scene. If you like them, or love them as I do, you will enjoy pretty much everything they do.

It is delightfully refreshing to see such clever iconoclasm, delivered with wit and verve.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
The DVD gave me what I wanted - 6 great episodes of Mitchell and Webb, as well as a good amount of bonus features to watch afterwards - a very good price for what you get.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2015
More from the comic duo which repeatedly had me in stitches
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2015
I'm a great fan
Some episodes that i had missed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2015
Had to pause it to stop myself laughing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 August 2009
I'm a big fan of Mitchell and Webb, they''re very funny without being overly rude, and they're not really rebellious like Kevin Bishop, or any of the other sketch shows on TV, so sometimes it's rather sobering to see this programme. Their often slapstick humour works well - and it's a corner of the world we hardly get to see now, with comedy that doesn't base itself on the basic human needs.

There's all the good sketches we loved before, like Sir Chicken Digby Caesar, which still makes me laugh, otherwise this is pretty much new stuff. There's the annoying guy who always messes up in a 70s comedy stylee, the quiz where they're sort of submerged in water, and the odd sketch where they're pretending to be on-set about to film another sketch.

I really didn't find this series as good as the last two, the comedy is starting to be similar and not as funny as the good old days with the snooker commentators, or Numberwang, though, I am glad they knocked that on the head because it would have been too much to continue with it. Also what's happened to Olivia Coleman? Looks like she's left the team, which is disappointing. Still Mitchell and Webb are funny guys, but this series really didn't showcase their best - maybe it's time they had a rest or did something else? It's a pity, but I would rather see them leave on a high note than on and low one.

The DVDs are not bad, you get all 6 episodes and a few extras, like an interview with the pair, which is quite good. It's well arranged and you can jump to a scene you like in an episode which is handy for me. The quality is fine and above expectations.

Worth a look, but it's not their best by far.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2010
The third series was overall very funny and much better than the second.
the only exception being the "Get me Hennimore" sketches which weren't funny to beigin with and repeated showing just didn't improve things.
There are a lot of gems in this series however, the Queen Victoria and Death Ray sketches being particularly outstanding.

As a note to the above comment, Olivia Coleman was pregnant in the second series so presumably that could explain her omission here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2009
David Mitchell and Robert Webb present a series of very funny sketches on the series 3 DVD of That Mitchell and Webb look. The DVD includes favourites such as Numberwang and Sir Digby Chicken Caesar as well as side-splitting new characters. I would particularly recommend the DVD to anyone who is a fan of David Mitchell on Qi, his comedic timing is a pleasure to observe. Need a laugh? Then get That Mitchell and Webb look.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
Great series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)