Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars34
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 December 2009
Back for a second series the fixer has undergone a few changes- a new mean agent and a buffed up John Mercer. This has a pacier feel than the first series: it has lost a little of the subtlety which I loved and the power balance between the characters feels a bit more even. There is less of John Mercer kicking against the control of Lenny and a bit more of a team feeling.
The sexual tension between John and role is palpale and Callum relationship with John has matured into an uneasy truce.
Best Bits: Andrew Buchan in a vest, the scary prison conversation and the cliffhanger ending. The Acting of Andrew Buchan and Jody Latham.
Worst Bits: The heartbreaking final episode ( I won't spoil it for you). Having a theme tune rather than the music matched to the story ending of the first series.

I would have bought this for Andrew Buchan acting in one scene alone. At the end of the cage fighting episode (5 I think) John Mercer has walks over to Rose with his face covered in blood and asks for a napkin to wipe his face.......watch the wince of pain.....I almost forgot this was acting.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2009
My only complaint about Series One was that there weren't enough episodes! Thank goodness they got this, Series Two out in very good time. The same characters return plus a new figure in MI6 Agent Simmons who really does both compliment and add to the series.

The Sweeney set new standards and levels of what was capable of being produced and acceptable on television. The Fixer goes even further and to an even higher level. All the(now) five main characters play their parts very well and full marks to both the casting director and the producer. Johnny Mercer once again plays his part exceptionally well, especially after what he has been through, and is again even more convincing and also very ably augmented by the other four whom nothing either should be taken away from. Not a weak character in place.

Don't really want to say anything about each story as it will spoil it for people who haven't viewed yet. However what did make me really laugh was when some "Psycho" type villain returns from living in Spain to mastermind a large job and has the audacity to call Mercer a "Psycho!"

Only complaint again is that there weren't enough episodes, still I am sure that it will not be long before Series Three is realeased
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Brilliant - I bought series 1 and 2 together and actually managed to watch them both over 2 consecutive nights. Talk about compulsive viewing!! I've never seen Andrew Buchan before this, but I definitely would love to see him in a lot more now! I thought the relationship between John and Callum in this was beautiful and after each episode I couldn't wait to watch the next.
The only down side that I could see was the ending...... they had obviously left it 'up in the air' ready for series 3, but series 3 never happened, which was a bit irritating!
I would strongly recommend this drama series to anyone who enjoys a gritty British drama - I will definitely be watching it again!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2009
if you have seen the original series then you need to se this one.it is a hundred percent better than the original. all the original characters are back plus a new character in the form of mi6 agent simmons.
if you havnt seen this before think jason bourne crossed with jack bauer only with better storylines.. A MUST SEE, only downside is theres only 6 episodes and now have to wait a year.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2011
Both the first and second series of this drama are severely under-rated. This has almost a retro feel to it, I am reminded of Callan from the 60s and early 70s. Andrew Buchan is also a much under-rated actor. He deserves more meaty roles like this instead of costume dramas. Hopeful for a 3rd series, but won't hold my breath, quality drama for adults seems to be a thing of the past on TV these days.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2010
I watched Fixer 1 & 2 back to back and what a refreshing series it was , strong performances from all the leading charachters including Peter Mullan.Good action sequences and also some witty banter as well , all in all an excellent series. The way the second series ended leaves room for a third series so I hope ITV recomission a 3rd series.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2010
The first series was great, but i felt it still had something missing and that bit missing was pace.The series is different from your usual run of the mill crime series however, this second series is quite superb and the only disappointing thing about the series is that it comes to an end and leaves you quite breathless.
Hopefully the writers will bring on a third series as all in all this is one of the best things to come out British T.V. Right up there with spooks!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2010
This are stories about an Ex-Army who work now for the goverment as a Kiler. But theres always a conflict between his orders and his contions. Sometimes funny, sometimes violent. I hope there will be a third series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
Brilliant series,brilliant characters,brilliant dialog,brilliant stories- only thing to note is that there needs to be more of them- Essential viewing for anyone who likes stimulating TV.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
Totally not my kind of thing..so I thought..BUT IT IS BRILLIANT!!. The only problem was that it finished and I could not find a series 3. How could they leave us without series 3? It is so obviously set up for another series. IT is superbly acted and well written. Andrew Buchan plays the role so well I am now his biggest fan!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)