Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top girls
I loved this series and was very disappointed with the Beeb for dropping it. It's wonderfully funny and wonderfully filthy.
Nearly everyone in the cast is excellent but you have to single out Tanya Franks as Karen... a brilliantly written part but she totally makes it her own - best drunk acting I've ever seen!
The one hour [farewell] special that aired recently...
Published on 1 July 2009 by dobiel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars its ok
it has subtitles. I thought that I was buying the official BBC disc, and its from another country. its ok
Published 1 month ago by Patricia S.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top girls, 1 July 2009
This review is from: Pulling: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I loved this series and was very disappointed with the Beeb for dropping it. It's wonderfully funny and wonderfully filthy.
Nearly everyone in the cast is excellent but you have to single out Tanya Franks as Karen... a brilliantly written part but she totally makes it her own - best drunk acting I've ever seen!
The one hour [farewell] special that aired recently was maybe the best of the lot - if you missed it make sure you get the DVD when it's released.
I don't normally bother doing this review thing - but Sharon Horgan and everyone else involved deserve every penny they can make from this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inappropriately funny, 24 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Pulling: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This programme didnt get the attention it deserves and it is so so funny. Not a lot of great british comedy going on, but this is class. It is so true to life, not my life thankfully?? The writing in this is close to the bone, and inspired. The main character played by the writer Sharon Horgan is by far the best. I could not stop watching it once I started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pulling, 19 July 2009
By 
Mrs. K. Parker "Book Worm" (Blackpool England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pulling: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The TV series was fantastic and it's just as funny no matter how many times you play it. Watch this if you are feeling a bit low. I challenge you not to cheer up!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb - shame on the beeb for dropping it, 21 Jan 2011
By 
H. Seymour "Helen" (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pulling: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
*SPOILERS*

Good comedy is worth its weight in gold - let's face it, there's a lot of rubbish around, a lot of which gets commissioned again and again.

Why is why it's so puzzling (not to say infuriating) that when an outstandingly funny, dark and original comedy does come along, it's axed after two series 'to make way for new projects'. Hmmm. Somehow not convinced.

Anyway, back to Pulling. It really is outstanding. There isn't a duff scene, performance or joke, and while the humour is relentless, it treads the very thin line between comedy and tragedy beautifully. There isn't a subject on earth it isn't willing to touch - from domestic violence to killing a cat with a brick, the programme manages to be consistently funny in order to highlight the truly tragic side of life. One of the main characters (who deserves an award for her performance) appears to be constantly drunk or on drugs, and while this is a comic gold mine, her behaviour is portrayed as tragic and irresponsible rather than all good fun.

I also love the relationship between Donna and Karl, which is entirely believable. You can understand why Donna dumped him at the alter, but then you can see exactly why she comes to fall in love with him all over again - and we wince as their insecurities get in the way time after time. The very last episode in series 2 is particularly poignant in this respect.

All in all, a fantastic show, axed in its prime (but at its peak.) It may go beyond the boundaries of taste for some - so if you prefer Last of the Summer Wine, stay well away. But if you like dark, original, superbly acted and wonderfully written comedy, then buy this now.

There is also a sixty minute special to tie up the loose ends, which doesn't appear on this DVD, but which is available to download on I-Tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a cult classic!, 11 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pulling: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is definitely an under-rated comedy that has not been seen by enough people - all of the cast are excellent, with Donna and Karen absolutely superb and laugh out loud funny. And, I should add that I am a male, not a female, and still find I can relate to the show - mainly because the brand of filthy, irreverent, truism humour is right up my street.

My joy of the programme may also have to do with the fact that I think I'm slightly besotted with Sharon Horgan. Billy (played by the ace Paul Kaye) also provides a great cameo as a hardcore drug abuser and Tanya and Karl are gut-wrenchingly funny when they have their little fling.

This show is a must watch for anyone that appreciates quality sitcoms - it's up there with the best of them in the last 10 years. Highlights include Donna having her kebab stolen and declaring to the police that a tiny piece of her faith in the country has died, as they choose to ignore her claim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hiliare!, 21 July 2010
This review is from: Pulling: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Pulling is a quality comedy that is not to be overlooked. If you like the inbetweeners and how not to live your life, I think you'll like this. Cocklollies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mature humour., 22 Nov 2009
By 
M. B. Webb (Manchester U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pulling: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Very funny comedy which will appeal to women of all ages. Given a very poor time slot on the telly so missed by a wider audience. I can't understand why we keep getting repeats of the rubbishy, unfunny This Life shown at peak times, and Pulling is largely ignored by the people responsible for the schedules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So funny, 17 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pulling: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The funniest series seen in a long time.
It is kind of the girls men behaving badly but better.
Wish there were more series,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pulling, 25 Jun 2011
This review is from: Pulling: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
What a fantastic comedy, Its soooo funny from start to finish no matter how many times you watch it. I LOVE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic comedy., 16 Sep 2010
This review is from: Pulling: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
In common with almost every other reviewer I loved this.

It's clever, it's rude, and at times it'll make you want to look away with embarrassment, but it is always wildly funny.

If you've ever been drunk, lonely, in a rubbish job, or just find yourself the wrong side of thirty this is unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6b55864)

This product

Pulling: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] [2006]
Pulling: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] [2006] by Sharon Horgan (DVD - 2009)
9.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews