Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC3 are nutters!, 6 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Pulling: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't get to see Series 2 on telly as I didn't have any of the fancy channels, and so I asked for the DVD for Christmas. Me and the Mrs sat through the whole DVD one night when there was sweet FA on telly (most of Christmas!), and both agreed that BBC 3 are mad for cutting this show. Series 2 is, in my opinion, more funny and clever than the 1st series, so who knows what a 3rd series would have been like!

Top show!BBC3 programmers = Nutters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 14 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pulling: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The second series is even better than the first,Paul Kaye is brilliant as the drunkard drug addict shambles ex boyfriend of Karen and it's just all round hilarity from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Comedy - Dirty Sexy Funny, 11 Jun. 2009
By 
Ryan Peirce (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pulling: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This show really picked up speed in the second season and just smashes the concepts of a nice friendly comedy and makes tragical situations the fodder for great laughs.

Though the series is short you will be watching them time and again. Do yourself a favor and pick up both seasons STAT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was sick with laughter and even wet myself!!!! (twice)!!!, 8 April 2009
By 
pete "big blue pete" (edinburgh scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pulling: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved series 1! I laughed till I wept in series 2 and Sharon Horgan has said that despite the tv special tying up the loose ends she didn't want the series to end. Blame silly old BBC3 for that!!!!
She's not the only one. From the Guardian to the interweb passionate advocates of this show all say the same thing. It's the funniest thing on TV in years. If you've ever thought about battering an apple, dating a flasher, making a genital shaped ice-lolly or waking up nude in a primary school then this is the TV show for you. If you havent thought about doing that then maybe you're not a borderline twenty something sex obsessed alcoholic flatsharing female. I will be stunned if you don't love this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better Than The First Series, 21 April 2010
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Pulling: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Donna and co are back for yet another series of Pulling, a light-hearted comedy about love, romance, and girls night outs pulling men. Donna's still thinking about Karl, and Karen's still sleeping with everyone in a pair of trousers, and Louise is still after Lithuanian Oleg - this series sees their ups and downs, with funny consequences.

This is better than series one as it has more funnier moments, like Louise stealing, Karen sleeping in the school and when Donna's at the estate agent - all good stuff.

There are a couple of extras like commentaries and some deleted scenes, but this DVD is pretty much good, good balance of sound and colour, and uses the technology well.

Worth a look
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant, 27 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Pulling: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Oh how I love Pulling. So honest, so funny. A drunken infant-school teacher who throws money at the children when she needs to get away from them. A useless secretary who goes to a job interview and quotes Hitler without realising it. A jilted man who plays Smiths songs. Bad dancing. Awful one-night stands. Why on earth didn't this series just go on forever? There was and is something so special about it. I still laugh when I remember Karen trying hard to think of a name for a stray tabby cat that's just wandered into her bedroom. 'Catty. Yeah. I think I'll call him Catty...'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bring out Pulling Special on DVD!, 12 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Pulling: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Pulling was brilliant, one of the better comedies as they are few and far between especially for BBC. Shame on them for cancelling, I've purchased series one and two but feel let down by the final part "Pulling special" NOT being released on DVD. So my collection is not complete - I have contacted the BBC but they said they no longer own the rights?? Great DVD worth buying but very disappointing not to have final part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh, funny and filthy...so why cancel it?, 9 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pulling: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Pulling, written by and starring the gorgeous and talented Sharon Horgan was for many, along with Gavin and Stacey, the highlight of BBC3's comedy output. Yet whilst G+S triumphed and scored into the mainstream with BBC1 snapping it up, Pulling floundered with a BBC2 run and a cancellation after just 2 short wonderful series (an hour special is promised soon to wrap it all up)

Why?

BBC politics I expect. Sadly BBC3 is determined to reach the under 30 audience group, therefore the naff efforts of the achingly long running 2 Pints Of Lager and a Packet of Crisps (fast becoming the chav Last Of The Summer Wine) Grown Ups, Coming of Age, Massive and Horne and Corden continue to prosper because they appeal more to the target age group and are made by roughly that group too apparently. Ms Horgan at 39 (unbelievable I know, but true) is clearly not flavour of the month.

More fool them, because compare 2 Pints to Pulling and you'll see it is the latter that is fresher, funnier and filthier, but what is more is much more adeptly written, performed and ultimately realistic. Pulling has a heart and its not afraid to show it...as long as an actually funny nob gag quickly follows!

Regardless of your age, if you have lived and like a laugh, then Pulling will resonate with you. As I said in my review of Series 1, not since the first series of Game On has a sitcom been so real.

Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 20 Nov. 2009
By 
SilentSinger "Wife, mother, reader. Preferred... (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pulling: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Pulling series two follows directly on from series one and sees Donna and her two housemates Karen and Louise get up to various escapades in inner London. Donna doesn't seem to be able to escape ex-fiance Carl's grasps and feels upset when he has a fling with one of her friends. Louise carries on with her endless quest for a man and finds solace in a phallic lolly business venture with boss Richard and Primary School teacher Karen continues to amuse with the help of her dypso boyfriend Billy (played by the excellent Paul Kaye.)

The scripts in series two are cracking and it's a shame that the BBC decided that this would be the last full series. It's a testament to exactly how amusing women can be when they get the opportunity to strike out from the traditional wife/girlfriend/sidekick role and I love it. I'm hoping that co-creator and star Sharon Horgan will continue her comedy career in slightly better formats than 'Free Agents' - eek!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated British comedy., 26 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Pulling: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the second and in my opinion better series of BBC 3's British sitcom Pulling. The programme revolves around three single women and their love, work and social lives. Despite this it is not a Sex and the City style chat fest - it has a distinctly British feel and I think it has the potential to appeal to both men and women. The humor can sometimes be quite near the knuckle; it can also be dark and bizarre, although always agonizingly well observed.

I don't think it will be everyone's cup of tea, so I wouldn't quite give it that five star classic status, however if you do get it, it's a real treat. Sharon Horgan who plays self centered Donna and Tanya Franks as drunken lush primary school teacher (yes, primary school teacher), Karen, put in great performances. (Horgan actually won a British Comedy Award for this role.) I think this show has failed to take off as it does not have the loveable character types of Friends and isn't off the wall and cultish like the Mighty Boosh - It has already been inexplicably cancelled by the BBC with just a 1 hour special to come.

Like I said, it's not for everyone, but it's fresh, funny and at times quite poignant; if you do decide to stick with it, by the final episode you will be totally invested. If you're not easily shocked, try this straightforward but very contemporary comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pulling: Series 2 [DVD]
Pulling: Series 2 [DVD] by Sharon Horgan (DVD - 2009)
£12.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews