Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars76
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2007
Very good album. Heavily influenced by Nickelback, particularly the tracks It's Not Over and Crashed, but with somewhat tamer vocals. Not necessarily a bad thing as Nickelback are a great band. There is a thanks to Chad Kroeger on the CD, so Nickelback obviously approve. If you completely love Nickelback, you may think this is a rip-off. If you simply like that style of music done well, then you will love this album.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2007
If you enjoyed the edgy tone of Chris's voice on last season's idol the purchase of this album won't disappoint. There's not a track I didn't like, even had a slight reminiscence of Pearl Jam on a couple of tracks, loved it. Overall, a great first album, really very impressive. Would be good to see Chris as a nominee for next years' best international newcomer at the Brits!!!
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2007
Absolutely fantastic voice, loved him off American Idol. Some of the songs are typically commercial whereas others such as no. 7 and no. 10 have a more gritty and harder sound, which suits his powerful voice. A CD that grows on you each time you listen. Can't wait for a second CD - one to watch!
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2006
Make no bones about it, this is a stunning debut album. On this showing, Chris Daughtry will undoubtedly prove to be one of hottest and most enduring talents to emerge from the American Idol camp. Chris did not win American Idol, which was a great shock to many. But like several others before him, Clay Aiken to name just one, it was a question of mediocrity coming first and true quality coming in the lower places. In fact, I for one, am glad Chris did not win AI, otherwise we may not have seen such a high quality album that has stayed true to the REAL Chris Daughtry.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2007
Please please please don't just assume that because lead-singer Chris was on American Idol that this album is throw-away junk like most albums from the franchise. This album is brilliant, and the potential for the future is huge.

Chris Daughtry has the type of voice most aspiring rock stars would kill for and on some of this albums more melodic tracks (Home, Feels Like Tonight) it raises the songs to whole new levels. His band are more than capable also, perhaps reminiscent of Nickleback or a happier version of Pearl Jam.

Yes, the album is over produced, and as a result some of the songs may seem a little overdone and have had the edge taken off of them, but that can be easilly overlooked considering some of the evident quality on show. Quite rightly this album has sold bucketloads in America and it seems just a matter of time til the UK audience catches up, and believe me I will be the first in the queue at the MEN for tickets once they have hit it big, this is the type of rock that was made for big arenas.

My favourite songs on the album are Home, Crashed and the Slash-assisted What I Want, but to be honest not one track stands out as being a duffer (maybe Used To?). I would reccommend this album to anyone who likes Nickleback, Alter Bridge, Live or the brilliant Shinedown. But please rock fans, give his guy a chance, imagine this album in 2 years time, with the production sheen taken off and a bit more input from the actual band, and what you will have is one rock-behemoth of an album. Daughtry, the world awaits you.
0Comment12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2006
I was never a fan of AMERICAN IDOL, until the last season when I saw Chris Daughtry. However I was really taken aback by his talent and in my opinion he was by far and away the best contestant. That's history now but I have been eagerly waiting his first album. Do like I do and sample the tracks first, on some of the official sites. On a quick listen a few of the samples do sound a bit repetitive lyrically and musically. Don't let this put you off though as that's more due to the sampling system, and not the entire track. As with almost any album, I couldn't say that I would rave about all the tracks, but considering this is his debut release it's surprisingly solid. Don't just say this is copying Nickelback - you'll miss some terrific tracks. In particular the opening track "It's Not Over" and the final track "What About Now". In between them is a charging rock track "What I Want," featuring Slash. The track "Home" is more of a rock ballard showing his range. Don't miss Breakdown which shows his voice to a tee. Also worth a listen are "There and Back Again," "Over You," and "Used To."
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2008
Right then, firstly, hats off to Chris Daughtry.
A talented singer, songwriter and guitarist struggling to break into the music business, decides to try his hand at American Idol.
The result? A mediocre 4th place finish.
You could have forgiven him for giving up on his dreams, but he dusted himself off, sorted out his self titled band and debut album and this is the quite brilliant result.
I've always wondered what an album would sound like without any filler tracks, by that I mean writing an album where every single song could be considered for a single release, well, this is it.
Simply brilliant from start to finish, Chris even manages to hire probably one for best guitarists in the world, Slash, for a guest appearance on the hardest track on the album - "What I Want."
From the opening rocker "It's Not Over" to the moody power Ballad "Home" Chris display fantastic musical maturity, both in his songwriting and guitar playing.
It just goes to show that musical talent will always win through in the end, whether you win an tv reality show or not.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2007
This is the kind of album that sounds good on first play, then just gets better and better the more it is played.

My only criticism is that the backing instrumentals are sometimes too 'busy', as though an extra note could not be squeezed in anywhere. This can overpower the subtle character of Chris's rock vocals. But this is not an overwhelming criticism, and does not detract from this being a milestone album.

Jeff
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2007
I was waiting for this ever since American Idol. It's a great album, and tracks like Crashed are AMAZING. It's a bit over produced on some tracks and therefore does not show Chris's vocals to their best. Am thinking his 2nd album may be more him, once he gets more say in the direction.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2007
I thought this guy was one to watch in the last American Idol series. He didnt win, but in my books that has worked in his favour. Daughtry has such awesome power to his voice and is passionate with it. I got the album today and unlike most X factor/American Idol winners he has written nearly all the songs himself on this fabulous album. There is one track that has a 'country twang' which is refreshing, but mostly a great rock sound. Let's face it, Slash obviously rates him to play on 'What I Want', another fantastic track from this album. It is very unusual to find a brand new artist and album that when you first hear it, it sounds like one of your old favourite albums you havent heard for a while. GET IT GET IT GET IT!!!!!!!
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.