Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daughtry
Very good album. Heavily influenced by Nickelback, particularly the tracks It's Not Over and Crashed, but with somewhat tamer vocals. Not necessarily a bad thing as Nickelback are a great band. There is a thanks to Chad Kroeger on the CD, so Nickelback obviously approve. If you completely love Nickelback, you may think this is a rip-off. If you simply like that style...
Published on 18 Feb. 2007 by Aramis

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, If Dull
Whilst I've never liked the way it short cuts artists to chart stardom, I have found myself liking quite a few of the acts made famous by "Pop Idol" and the like. But I got a bit of a shock when I heard an artist I would have liked no matter where he had come from and it turned out he had been in "American Idol".

Even more surprising, at least...
Published 2 months ago by Mr. Iain R. Wear


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daughtry, 18 Feb. 2007
This review is from: Daughtry (Audio CD)
Very good album. Heavily influenced by Nickelback, particularly the tracks It's Not Over and Crashed, but with somewhat tamer vocals. Not necessarily a bad thing as Nickelback are a great band. There is a thanks to Chad Kroeger on the CD, so Nickelback obviously approve. If you completely love Nickelback, you may think this is a rip-off. If you simply like that style of music done well, then you will love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 21 Feb. 2007
This review is from: Daughtry (Audio CD)
If you enjoyed the edgy tone of Chris's voice on last season's idol the purchase of this album won't disappoint. There's not a track I didn't like, even had a slight reminiscence of Pearl Jam on a couple of tracks, loved it. Overall, a great first album, really very impressive. Would be good to see Chris as a nominee for next years' best international newcomer at the Brits!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 25 April 2007
By 
S. Girdham "Gircha" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daughtry (Audio CD)
Absolutely fantastic voice, loved him off American Idol. Some of the songs are typically commercial whereas others such as no. 7 and no. 10 have a more gritty and harder sound, which suits his powerful voice. A CD that grows on you each time you listen. Can't wait for a second CD - one to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chris Stays True To Himself, 28 Nov. 2006
This review is from: Daughtry (Audio CD)
Make no bones about it, this is a stunning debut album. On this showing, Chris Daughtry will undoubtedly prove to be one of hottest and most enduring talents to emerge from the American Idol camp. Chris did not win American Idol, which was a great shock to many. But like several others before him, Clay Aiken to name just one, it was a question of mediocrity coming first and true quality coming in the lower places. In fact, I for one, am glad Chris did not win AI, otherwise we may not have seen such a high quality album that has stayed true to the REAL Chris Daughtry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars American what? The one album that out-do's reality TV cliches, 29 May 2007
By 
M. Knight "mattknight" (Darlington, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daughtry (Audio CD)
Please please please don't just assume that because lead-singer Chris was on American Idol that this album is throw-away junk like most albums from the franchise. This album is brilliant, and the potential for the future is huge.

Chris Daughtry has the type of voice most aspiring rock stars would kill for and on some of this albums more melodic tracks (Home, Feels Like Tonight) it raises the songs to whole new levels. His band are more than capable also, perhaps reminiscent of Nickleback or a happier version of Pearl Jam.

Yes, the album is over produced, and as a result some of the songs may seem a little overdone and have had the edge taken off of them, but that can be easilly overlooked considering some of the evident quality on show. Quite rightly this album has sold bucketloads in America and it seems just a matter of time til the UK audience catches up, and believe me I will be the first in the queue at the MEN for tickets once they have hit it big, this is the type of rock that was made for big arenas.

My favourite songs on the album are Home, Crashed and the Slash-assisted What I Want, but to be honest not one track stands out as being a duffer (maybe Used To?). I would reccommend this album to anyone who likes Nickleback, Alter Bridge, Live or the brilliant Shinedown. But please rock fans, give his guy a chance, imagine this album in 2 years time, with the production sheen taken off and a bit more input from the actual band, and what you will have is one rock-behemoth of an album. Daughtry, the world awaits you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - Chris shows, 9 Dec. 2006
By 
Rory B (North East England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Daughtry (Audio CD)
I was never a fan of AMERICAN IDOL, until the last season when I saw Chris Daughtry. However I was really taken aback by his talent and in my opinion he was by far and away the best contestant. That's history now but I have been eagerly waiting his first album. Do like I do and sample the tracks first, on some of the official sites. On a quick listen a few of the samples do sound a bit repetitive lyrically and musically. Don't let this put you off though as that's more due to the sampling system, and not the entire track. As with almost any album, I couldn't say that I would rave about all the tracks, but considering this is his debut release it's surprisingly solid. Don't just say this is copying Nickelback - you'll miss some terrific tracks. In particular the opening track "It's Not Over" and the final track "What About Now". In between them is a charging rock track "What I Want," featuring Slash. The track "Home" is more of a rock ballard showing his range. Don't miss Breakdown which shows his voice to a tee. Also worth a listen are "There and Back Again," "Over You," and "Used To."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's this! A rock record from a reality show contestant..., 23 Oct. 2008
By 
Mr. N. J. Henderson (Bude, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daughtry (Audio CD)
Right then, firstly, hats off to Chris Daughtry.
A talented singer, songwriter and guitarist struggling to break into the music business, decides to try his hand at American Idol.
The result? A mediocre 4th place finish.
You could have forgiven him for giving up on his dreams, but he dusted himself off, sorted out his self titled band and debut album and this is the quite brilliant result.
I've always wondered what an album would sound like without any filler tracks, by that I mean writing an album where every single song could be considered for a single release, well, this is it.
Simply brilliant from start to finish, Chris even manages to hire probably one for best guitarists in the world, Slash, for a guest appearance on the hardest track on the album - "What I Want."
From the opening rocker "It's Not Over" to the moody power Ballad "Home" Chris display fantastic musical maturity, both in his songwriting and guitar playing.
It just goes to show that musical talent will always win through in the end, whether you win an tv reality show or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 8 Feb. 2007
By 
J. Caunter (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daughtry (Audio CD)
This is the kind of album that sounds good on first play, then just gets better and better the more it is played.

My only criticism is that the backing instrumentals are sometimes too 'busy', as though an extra note could not be squeezed in anywhere. This can overpower the subtle character of Chris's rock vocals. But this is not an overwhelming criticism, and does not detract from this being a milestone album.

Jeff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Been waiting..., 18 Feb. 2007
By 
L. Llewellyn "louiise" (Reading) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daughtry (Audio CD)
I was waiting for this ever since American Idol. It's a great album, and tracks like Crashed are AMAZING. It's a bit over produced on some tracks and therefore does not show Chris's vocals to their best. Am thinking his 2nd album may be more him, once he gets more say in the direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Daughtry, 28 Mar. 2007
By 
Debra Wallder (Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daughtry (Audio CD)
I thought this guy was one to watch in the last American Idol series. He didnt win, but in my books that has worked in his favour. Daughtry has such awesome power to his voice and is passionate with it. I got the album today and unlike most X factor/American Idol winners he has written nearly all the songs himself on this fabulous album. There is one track that has a 'country twang' which is refreshing, but mostly a great rock sound. Let's face it, Slash obviously rates him to play on 'What I Want', another fantastic track from this album. It is very unusual to find a brand new artist and album that when you first hear it, it sounds like one of your old favourite albums you havent heard for a while. GET IT GET IT GET IT!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Daughtry
Daughtry by Daughtry
Buy MP3 Album£6.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews