Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never Ever Outgunned
As with 'Fat of The Land', my expectations were high. After 7 years (give the guy some credit, he's had a kid and re-wrote this album only 2 years ago!) this electronic monster hits the shelf. 'Girls' was the obvious 'promotion single' which does mean that you may be disappointed at many tracks if you especiallyenjoy - and wish for more of - the 80's-esque, trashy, upbeat...
Published on 19 Aug. 2004 by A. Blair

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Notably different album than the previous three
To my opinion, this album is notably different from the three previous albums ("The Experience", "Music for the Jilted Generation" and "Fat of the Land") of the Prodigy. The songs are not as melodic nor do they have similar drums / rhythm. Rather the songs are more full of ... "rattle" (sorry I just cannot find a suitable word in English). With this, I mean that the music...
Published on 31 Dec. 2009 by O. Sampo


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid Return, 13 April 2006
By 
Alex (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
When you were as big as the Prodigy, or when you have peaked in terms of success as they have, it can be tough to make your comeback. 2002's Baby's Got a Temper certainly wasn't as bad as some people made it out to be. But how people made it out to be no doubt influenced Liam Howletts decision to scrap an albums worth of new material, and start again.

And, after a nightmare year of writers block, things started to come together for a man quite rightly referred to as a genius. Just look at the back catalogue, three excellent and differing albums preceding this, the Prodigy's fourth, to gain an idea why.

Anyway, Spitfire is a massive sign of intent. A thunderous opener, with crashing guitar stabs and a big, heavy beat, and shouty vocals not a million miles away from one Keith Flint. For him, and Maxim, are not included on this record. And straying away from the Prodigy formula, which includes those two, generally works quite well.

The next song, and first single, Girls is a hip-hop inspired slice of fuzzed out bass over a simple hook line and beat. And no, it's no Poison, but it's nice. Fresh even. There's nothing here as immediate as say, Firestarter, or 1996's No Good Start The Dance, but some perfectly acceptable modern dance music that blows hot and cold.

And it's loud. Very. In Maxim and Keiths place comes a line of guest vocalists, from Hollywood star Jullitte Lewis (who lends her tones to the un-Prodigy-like bounce of Hotride) to Oasis frontman Liam Gallagher, who has certainly sang on worse songs this side of the millenium. In fact the track in question, Shoot Down, is a highlight. Howletts description of the track - 'I wanted to chew Oasis up and spit them out Prodigy style' - is spot on, and the result is good, with an excellently menacing sneer of a vocal, if not great.

And that's really all there is to say about Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned. Good, but not great. But it's an important step for Liam and The Prodigy to make; a step away from The Prodigy everyone knows, and post The Fat of The Land, expect. With the frantic Wake Up Call and the insanely catchy, trippy Middle-Eastern vibe of Pheonix in tow, it's a decent step to take.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Do not judge this album on first listen. It's a grower., 20 Sept. 2004
Do not judge this album on first listen. It's a grower.
It has been coming a long time but it has finally happened. The Prodigy have dropped another full-length album, and once again have disturbed the popular music scene. The album has gone number one in the UK so a lot of people have heard this and I believe a lot of people will be influenced by the abilities of Liam Howlett. He has once again shown that the capabilities of electronic music has been heavily under rated. A lot of bedroom producers will certainly gain encouragement to express themselves after hearing this album and realising that the majority of it was written on a laptop.
There are a lot of retro elements being brought in by Howlett. Stand out tracks on the album are "Hotride" featuring Julliete Lewis, Action Radar with some mad man spitting some wacky vocals over a funky beat, and Get up Get off featuring a fast-spitting, angry, Twista in full flow letting you know that Prodigy are in control. Kool Keith also reminds us that Prodigy are back on form on the dirtiest track of the album - "Wake up Call"."The Way It Is" is the mashed and cyberly funked up view that Liam Howlett has always had Michael Jackson's Thriller.
Liam Howlett seems to have the ability to find just the right bleand between showing off electronic tweaking skills and tricks and writing a really solid musical composition. This ability certainly shines through on "Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned."
You have to own this, for this will certainly shape the future sounds of electronica. Some might not want to admit it, but deep down they will realise it is getting to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Where have the prodigy gone????, 26 Aug. 2004
I have been listening to Prodigy since i was 16. I am now 29. I was raving to 'Charlie' and 'Jericho' and 'everybody in the place' and 'Your love'. I loved everything that i believed the prodigy stood for. The music was always so powerful that it took me to another place. The agressive bass was second to none. No one could touch the prodigy. I still have a homemade cd with all the best tracks from all albums in my car. I'm trying to get to the point here. In my hoest opinion Spitfire is the only track that is the prodigy i know and love. This track will be the first single released and people will go out in droves to by the album and be dissapointed. This album is only out there to make money. It doesn't feel like its from the heart. I will love the prodigy until the day i die but when the band started to break up so has the music. Baby's got a temper is brilliant no matter what anybody thinks and Spitfire is along those lines. There are so many Prodigy tracks out there that when you here the intro, no matter where you are you get goose pimples all over. Sadly there is only spitfire that has this hook in me. The rest are uninspiring. I will not be buying this album which saddens me as i have seen them live and have been a lifelong fan but all the things that prodigy grew famous for are slowly dissapearing. Still, i've got my disc in my car.
Long live the prodigy. The best band in the world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An eclectic tour de force, 16 April 2015
By 
M. O. HAYNES "couch magpie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always Outnumbered Never Outgunned seems like a return to form after The Prodigy's equivalent of What's the Story Morning Glory in the form of Fat of the Land. “Spitfire” is a huge opening track with enormous beats, massive bass hits and great distorted vocals, “Girls” is really funky and I like the fact that they are using original female vocals and seem to have sampled themselves in places (e.g. in “You’ll be Under my Wheels”).

The female vocals are most evident in “Hot Ride” which uses the familiar ‘up, up and away in my beautiful balloon’ lyric in a rather sleazy/sinister fashion and some nice grungy guitars. As well as familiar sounds there also seems to be an Arabian influence with lots of odd sounding strings and pipes (not that this wasn’t already creeping in during the previous album e.g. the Sisters of Mercy sounding female vocals in “Smack my Bitch Up”).

For me this album seems like a progression of The Prodigy sound rather than a cash cow and it stands up to repeated listening - it's a gift that just keeps giving. Admittedly after the joyous Michael Jackson “Thriller” style grooves of “The Way It Is” I usually skip the final, quite lame, track “Shoot Down” to get back to “Spitfire”.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Is this the best the Prodigy could do?, 24 Aug. 2004
By A Customer
I'll keep this short and simple.
I've always liked the Prodigy and Fat of the Land was a classic with some terrific songs.
I feel that the latest offering doesn't have any memorable, outstanding tracks. I really want to like it but the magic just isn't there. Maybe a bunch of remixes will do the trick. I'm sorry but this one gets the thumbs down from me for the time being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great..., 24 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
I have Fat of the land album and love it so i thought i'd buy this, there are some really good songs on here especially "spitfire". Although as the title may suggest i have to say i prefer fat of the land, this album can sound a tad samey. So to conclude buy it it's definately worth it but i'd say if you don't own any prodigy cd's get Fat of the land first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Prodigy are back?, 12 Dec. 2004
They might be back but they're not saying anything with this. I don't know what to make of this other than I don't like it much at all. I was going to rave's back in 91/92 when the Prodigy was headlining the live acts & absolutely rocking the place. They was hardcore but they had they're own sound, Approach & for a band of this sort, An amazing stage presence. The Prodigy where obviously fuelled by the rave scene & at the time you almost couldn't imagine one without the other & I think there in lies the problem. The rave scene that the Prodigy were part off has long since died & thus the energy that inspired & fuelled the early Prodigy material has also gone. Following the peak Hardcore rave scene years of 91/92 (When the Prodigy were also at their peak) the Prodigy did find some new direction. Introducing an almost 'punk' attitude to their live shows the Prodigy at the time were easily the most exciting live electronic group around. The energy of the early Prodigy days was still there but it was now channelled more than ever through the other members stage antics as much as Liam Howlett's music. The Prodigy came across like a techno version of the Sex Pistols & this kept them in good stead until they took this idea to far & before you could say Johnny Rotten we had guitarists on stage & even more of the punk style vocal delivery. The Prodigy had started to loose their way somewhat & following the Fat of the Land album they slipped into obscurity not to be heard from again until several years later with the single 'Baby's got a temper'. Opinions on this release were mixed & even Liam Howlett has said he didn't really like it. The Prodigy disappeared again & several more years later hear we are!
So did the Prodigy re-invent themselves & find a new direction? Did they at least capture some of that energy of the early days? Not really. This album sounds like it was made by somebody who didn't really want to make it & given how long it took to make coupled with Liam's attitude towards the previous single (Baby's got a temper) I suspect that this is close to the truth. Liam is on record as saying that he felt un-inspired & un-motived by the music he was making. Apparently it took Propellerhead's Reason software to give him a new enough approach to even be bothered with this album. Sadly it's all to clear.
In short this album is somewhere between the Prodigy re-inventing themselves & the old energy desperately trying to come through. It's neither hear or there & doesn't feel like it has a place & is lacking direction. On 1 or 2 occasions Liam has just about pulled it off but everywhere on this album the music fails to convince. Disappointing. Even more so in the grand scale of electronic/techno music which over the years has achieved far more than this album would have you believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jilted Experience or Land of the Fat?, 24 July 2004
By 
Big Fat Konelius (Lincoln, Lincolnshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I was surprised to get hold of a promo version of this album as I thought that Baby's got a temper had finished off The Prodigy. Coming from an Breakbeat/Electronica slant, The Prodigy are one of the biggest bands of the genre along with the outstanding Leftfield, Orbital and the Chem Bros so I was full of anticipation. I actually felt slightly let down by The Fat of The Land as Liam (lets be honest the others are/were just window dressing), had tried to embrace rock with limited success and created a very good if not outstanding album. Don't get me wrong, it's a fine album but it does not live up to Music for the Jilted Generation which is probably one of the best 10 albums ever released.
Liam has acknowledged this with Always Outnumbered by taking a backwards step. On tracks such as You will be Under my Wheels, Memphis Bells, Medusa's Path we step back 10 years to Jilted Generation. Girls is basically 80's Hip-Hop/Breakbeat Liam-style and you can easily imagine how happy he is with this as he makes no secret of his love for the Ultramagnetic MCs and music of that genre.
Fat followers will still be kept happy with the fantastic Spitfire and also good Hot Ride, Get Up Get Off and Wake Up Call. I'm not a big fan of Action Radar though as its too far in the goth/punk/tramp-rock with bands like The Libertines/Hives etc.
The last two tracks are a little bit different, The Way It is the one with the recreated Thriller bass-riff and it works but does feel a little empty (it does have a twinge of Skylined in it but unfortunately not the power or hook). The last track must be a mistake as I don't think you can get a more Chemical Brothers sound without being them. It even starts off with a similar riff to 'My Little Eye' and uses the Gallaghers in an identical way to the Chems. Not bad though. Am I he only one who doesn't think Memphis Bells sounds very Orbital?
To summarise then, well its good, very good. Not quite as rounded as Jilted Generation or Experience but much more appealing to a wider audience than Fat of the Land. I just wish it was 1993 again :-)
PS:I'd be surprised if Spitfire doesn't make it as a single
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An aural headbutt, 20 Sept. 2004
By 
Quite simply the most exciting album to be released in recent years, putting british dance music straight back to the cutting edge.
It's never been a secret that liam howlett is the prodigy. two were dancers, one making the transition to vocalist on the only number one single released by the prodigy. Oh and there was that other bloke named after a men's magazine.
From the tail end of "Experience" and the seminal "Music for the Jilted Generation", it was always clear that Howlett, when left to his own devices was a truly clever musician. This was then set in stone with the release of his mix album "The Dirt Chamber Sessions". All of a sudden it made sense.
The influences in the sessions album are a lot more obvious in "Always Outnumbered" with an eclectic re-mixing of "thriller" by michael jackson and some inspired sampling.
This comes after one dire single in 2002 and a long period of silence since the great "Fat of the Land". It's been worth the wait.
More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prodigy new album review, 1 Aug. 2004
After the shoddy work that was 'babys got a temper' I got very worried where liam howlett was going. But being an old prodigy fan and having just had the opportunity to listen to a preview of the new album im very happy to say he's definatly back! Only bad thing id say first is that there are 3 or 4 tracks on there which for me are more just your standard big beat floor fillers.
However its the new directions Liam has gone in that really did it for me! Girls (the next single) is a real breath of fresh air with its old skool hip hop vibe and 80's influences, u kind of expect to hear more throughout the album - but it takes a different twist picking up from the final track from the last album (Fuel My Fire - Fat of the Land). 'Hotride' and 'Action Radar' are superb tracks! Very punk / 80's influenced and both are defo single material! Then theres the unmistakeable Michael Jacksons 'Thriller' beat sample in 'The way it is'... not sure it totally works but the whole 80's vibe thing cant help but make u nod ure head and smile!
The best tracks are (for me) a welcome new direction for the prodigy and I for one was pleasantly surprised! More more more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews