Customer Reviews


139 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Diesel adds fuel to F&F!!!
One for the collection this. I am actually a fan of the franchise and have enjoyed what the series has offered. Not so hung up on the third installment but this fourth version has amended for it. Never in the running for any oscar nominations this movie was only going to do what it said on the box and offer up a colourful and entertaining thrills & spills rollercoaster...
Published on 12 April 2010 by dmac9

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Starting to feel like a video game.
I finally got around to seeing this film.

What can I say that has not really been said before?

This was the movie to allow us to understand what happened before Tokyo Drift.

I was slightly disappointed to find Han was not in the movie as much as I was expecting and pretty near the start he says he is going to tokyo as if we did not know...
Published on 17 Nov. 2009 by Reviewer


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Diesel adds fuel to F&F!!!, 12 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fast & Furious [DVD] (DVD)
One for the collection this. I am actually a fan of the franchise and have enjoyed what the series has offered. Not so hung up on the third installment but this fourth version has amended for it. Never in the running for any oscar nominations this movie was only going to do what it said on the box and offer up a colourful and entertaining thrills & spills rollercoaster ride.

The return of the original cast was a bonus as we get to see whats been happening since the first movie. From this they've managed some semblence of a plot no matter how thin and cliched it is but what else are you supposed to expect. We're watching F&F for the cars and the action scenes and not much else. For this is where the movie gets it stars in my eyes. Plenty of action as Diesel & Walker rekindle there streetracing rivalry. They keep the pace of the flick moving along which is enough to keep me in my seat and reaching for the popcorn. I enjoyed the movie as an escape, put it on and turn off my brain for about 2hours and watch fast things go fast. Completes the collection as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A breath of new life for the franchise, 6 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Fast & Furious [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Somebody finally realised that just lavishing gorgeous cars and women at the screen with a paper thin plot wasn't going to cut it any more. Much as the addition of drifting and Lucas Black managed to make Tokyo Drift a more fun experience than the slightly more formulaic 2Fast2Furious, this ups the game by throwing in a revenge plot and a very angry Vin Diesel. If you haven't heard about the twist that steers the story, I won't spoil it for you. However, it works very well as a reason for Vin and Paul Walker to be back in the same vicinity as each other again, this time hunting a drug dealer with a great deal of wrath and steel.
The opening is a great tanker heist which feels original and is shot very well, and there's even a chase with a little free-running and some amusingly improvised combat techniques, which help to bring the series a little more up to date. Walker and Diesel play off each other very well, and the car chases and races rock.
This has great cars, sparky relationship conflicts, and spectacular stunts. It's what the series needed. Lets just hope they don't let the air out of the tyres again for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An intelligent action movie - be still my heart!, 7 Nov. 2013
By 
C. Stewart "The Cat's Whiskers" (Yorkshire/Nottinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fast & Furious [DVD] (DVD)
I came to the F&F franchise late and unintentionally (see F&F5 review), having been disappointed by the usual "fare" in this sub-genre (and the blockbuster genre overall, to be honest). Maybe it's because I'm female (shock, horror) although I do know what e-diff and slip-diff are, but I get instantly bored with something that is just a montage of car chase/crash/explosion clips strung together without context, cohesion or connection. I can do that myself on my laptop without forking out hard-earned cash at a cinema or to buy a DVD of it.
It's always hard for sequel series/franchise movies or however you want to label them. Fans/viewers know perfectly well that the studio has no interest in us other than cash-cows to fleece (sorry to mix metaphors) of our hard-earned money so always approach the follow-on films with a degree of suspicion; "going to the movies" certainly isn't reasonable in terms of cost, I can tell you - and that's without having 2.4 kids pestering and whining for snacks, wanting to watch the 3D version with spectacles and the rest of it - and to then go and buy the DVD afterwards because we liked it that much, well...we expect a certain level of care and respect.
The further down the line you get from the original, the harder it gets to stay original, even if you do a derivative of the original (Puss in Boots from Shrek) or prequel it (Prometheus). For every Toy Story 3 and the Ice Age franchise and Star Trek: Into Darkness, there is a myriad of...Prometheus, Pirates of the Caribbean, Shrek4, Die Hard 5, Dark Knight Rises and so on that epitomize the phrase "you should have quit while you were ahead" or bluntly, "yes, you have hit rock-bottom, stop digging!"
F&F3 (Tokyo Drift) did so-so box office and was lacklustre enough that the franchise was clearly heading for straight-to-DVD land. A huge part of the potential for success for F&F4 was that the original central cast came back (the tagline was: new model, original parts), allowing for continuity and meaning that an established "universe" existed that could be built on rather than having to start from scratch and trying to get the audience into being interested - and one step further than that, actively care about the characters - all over again.
A big chunk of kudos goes to the writer, Chris Morgan (who has, quite rightly and sensibly, been retained as the writer for 4,5,6 and 7) who kept all the needed elements for the franchise: car chases/crashes/explosions/ stunts of varying degrees of loudness/HD colour/rapid motion, but he also gave F&F4 subtlety, irony, pathos, emotional depth and proper characterization, which is pretty amazing considering some studio suit was probably pestering him, "look: chase, crash, boom, chase, crash, gratuitous [and therefore offensive] pointless sex scene with lots of bare boobs close up, chase, cash, bigger boom. Money, money, money! What do you mean, telling a proper story!?"
In the series' internal chronology, F&F3 actually takes place after F&F6, but that's a technicality (since they didn't know at the time if any further movies would be made if F&F4 tanked). F&F4 picks up a few years after the events of F&F1 and F&F2, but follows on from that. What makes F&F4 a cut above are:
There is no Star Trek solution - unlike where the central cast make Lazarus look like a rank amateur and routinely come back from anything including total vaporisation to the sub-atomic level - Letty is murdered. Full-stop. It isn't a mistake; there isn't a feel-good get out clause (unconscious Jane Doe/in a coma) at the end or post-credits. This gives the movie its emotional power, its pain, its angst.
There is sex-appropriate behaviour: when a misandrist left-wing "feminist" explained to my great-grandaunt the concept of "equality between the sexes" (by which she meant preferential treatment), my great-grandaunt (former suffragette) looked her up and down and barked, "Men are apples, women are oranges; to criticise one for not tasting like the other is the definition of lunacy, my girl." I've never forgotten that and nothing drives me away faster from "page, stage or [big or small] screen" than movies that have been beaten into submission by the bigoted doctrine that is Political Correctness, a nonsensical visual where men notice pastel colours, clothing, hairstyles and accessories and talk about their feelings and the non-white/non-Christian man is always a living saint never the evil bad guy and so forth and you can practically see them cringing as they utter the crap or being strapped down screaming and having the manliness and masculinity sucked out of them via I/V before they're allowed in front of a camera...
In F&F4 Dom, Brian, etc., - they are grieving, angry, vengeful - and it is dealt with in appropriately masculine ways by bristling, snapping, snarling, punching and yet always having each others' back and flank. Its subtle bromance without being as knowingly tongue-in-cheek as the TV series Hawaii Five-O - Season 1 [DVD] nor as pretentiously pseudo-philosophical as Point Break [DVD]. Not a bro-hug or "maddle" (man-cuddle) in sight, thank you, thank-you, thank-you. There are situations in which violence is the answer, or at least makes you feel better, and if you or your loved one are the victim of the wrongdoing, your opinion is the only one that counts.
Finally, there is context: I work in a stressful, sensitive career where I routinely hear foul-mouthed wastes of oxygen screeching and my eyes are assaulted by people who wear handkerchiefs with delusions of grandeur over grotesquely skeletal or fat tattooed flesh. I do not wish to pay my good money to sit through 90 minutes of the same. F&F4 has bad words but they are in context, and skimpily clad females/nice eye-candy muscle-tone but there is no litany of verbal filth like in Die Hard 3, where Willis and Jackson come across as if their mouths were a burst raw sewage pipe, or pointless misogynistic sex scenes - even the physical fights are in context and not gratuitous.
There is also the fact that Morgan has been careful to interweave continuity and connection to make the story flow to match Vin Diesel's apparent aim for a 3-chapter visual novel, if you take 1 as chapter 1, 2 as chapter 2 and 4 as chapter 3 (ignore Tokyo Drift for now). For example in F&F1, Brian abandons Mia (and Dom) to protect them; although in the story Dom and Brian have a big fight about several things including this fact, Chris Morgan points us in a nicely understated way to the subtle irony that the whole outplaying of this movie F&F4 stems from the very fact that in the beginning Dom does the same thing to Letty that Brian did to Mia (and him) but Dom can't see that. It is the eternal protest, "but that was different!" And there is also the angst quotient - O'Connor has to make a choice between (sorry, Harry Potter quote) doing what is right or what is easy in a situation each of us could believably face.
And of course, F&F4 does work as a standalone if you stop the DVD at the right point, so if you decided F&F5 really isn't your thing, you can take 1-4 as the complete "story" trilogy;, but it deserved to do as well as it did at the box office and showed that handled in the right way, the franchise could go on. Although it is a "street race" movie its a definite cut above the rest of the genre, and worth a watch by a wider audience that includes those of the XX-Chromosome like me and those who don't know a dipstick from a yardstick.
(NB - differential is what enables cars to go around corners, so, yes, up there on the "is it important?" scale)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Starting to feel like a video game., 17 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Fast & Furious [DVD] (DVD)
I finally got around to seeing this film.

What can I say that has not really been said before?

This was the movie to allow us to understand what happened before Tokyo Drift.

I was slightly disappointed to find Han was not in the movie as much as I was expecting and pretty near the start he says he is going to tokyo as if we did not know this. I was rather hoping for more of a set up than what was offered and felt like a last minute addition to tell us why he ends up in japan.

The tunnel sequences were by far some of the worst I have ever seen, the whole scenes played like a low budget video game.

I was also not really a fan of the sat nav idea that tells the drivers where to go, only finding it good and funny when he shouts at it to shut up. How many of us have ever done that!

There were times in the film that got me excited, but then there were the times when I groaned at the predictable dialogue and script and perhaps laughed at it for the wrong reasons.

If your a guy who likes fast cars and good looking women then this is for you. You will be entertained and it will fill a few plot holes and you will get to see your favorite characters again from the original film but I doubt your going to bother to watch it a 2nd time.

Though most of the cars end up getting trashed.

Same old same old then.

Perhaps no 5 will break the mold. Please do, it's starting to get boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars still good even after all this time...one more please Vin!, 23 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: Fast & Furious [DVD] (DVD)
ok fast and the furious=good
2 fast 2 furious=fair
fast and the furious toyo drift=good
So to the new one and vin is back. The story isnt bad with someone dying close to toreto(vins character)and who eventually teams up with a newly reinstated copper o conner (the buster lol) to get revenge and bust the case. Very good stunts and set pieces and pure high octane car stuff. My only grumble is that in this episode of the popular series the cars arnt the stars like the other three. The story becomes the main emphasis and the cars meerly come along for the ride. This may sound stupid but bear with me. The stars in these flicks have always been the cars...muscle cars...tuned performers and pocket rocket off roaders. Honestly i felt a bit let down with the cars in this film untill a honda nsx turned up rather late. Dont get me wrong they were nice but....well perhaps im just nitpicking.Turn on and leave your brain behind......let the nos fly.
update...
Yeh as i thought far too much emphasis on just the muscles cars with only a sprinkling of euro stuff. Turns out this was done due to the fact some wernt happy with the rice rocket madness in fim three in japan. Oh boo hoo some poor americans havent got their big gas guzzling cars in a film.Still i digress ...the film aint bad Im just a little disapointed in the choice of cars this time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Taking the franchise back to its roots, 2 April 2010
This review is from: Fast & Furious [DVD] (DVD)
Set after 2Fast 2Furious but before the steaming pile of bad movie that was Tokyo Drift, Fast and Furious delivers all the things that made the original movie great and more. Set five years after O'Conner (Paul Walker) let Toretto (Vin Diesel) get away, Toretto is ripping off high speed trucks in the Dominican Republic, O'Conner is now an FBI agent working undercover and the loss of a mutual friend brings both back to LA. Feelings of betrayal and distrust are expertly portrayed between Walker and Diesel as they are forced to work together, and best of all, there's a mind blowing street race between the friends/enemies/rivals shows which of them is the better driver.

This film really does bring the series back to its roots, though both lead characters are driven by different motives, Toretto for revenge and O'Conner for duty, both to the FBI and to Toretto. Despite some occasionally clumsy dialogue and Vin Diesel's 'one method suits all' acting style, Fast and Furious still becomes a great film, the action sequences will leave your jaws on the floor and as usual, the cars are given as much screen time as the actors.

Forget 2Fast 2Furious and definitely forget Tokyo Drift, Fast and Furious is better than all of them, though still second only to the original, so if you liked that film then you will definitely like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vin Diesel is back, 10 Mar. 2014
After a long absence in the Fast and Furious franchise, Vin Diesel makes his anticipated return in this fourth instalment (or third chronologically as it is set between 2 Fast 2 Furious and Tokyo Drift). Also returning is Paul Walker as FBI agent Brian O'Connor who finds himself forced to team up with Diesel's Dominic Toretto to bring down common enemy.

While I would say it's not as good as the first film it is definitely an improvement of the second film (I can't give my opinion on Tokyo Drift as I have yet to see it) and introduces fans to future Wonder Woman Gal Gadot as Gisele, a new ally for Brian and Dominic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre cheese, 5 April 2011
By 
C. Sinclair (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fast & Furious [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a fan of this franchise too, so have come to expect the occasionally badly filmed driving sequence and clunking dialogue but this let me down. The opening stunt is great and the aspiration to have a plot with actual strands is noble, but doesn't really work.

Agree with other reviewers that the car chases through the tunnels are far from breathtaking although the street scenes are good and there is a nice use of effects when Dom (Vin Diesel) gets to do his CSI moment. I don't think it works as a stand alone film either. My friend who hadn't seen the original F&F (travesty I know!) found it hard to follow the characters' motivations or care about them.

Still, it's a good popcorn movie that does what it says on the cover. Watch it on the biggest screen you can find and don't expect too much and it'll keep you going till number 5 comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fan of All The F&F movies., 28 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fast & Furious [DVD] (DVD)
I am a fan of all of the films and it is always pleasure be able to purchase at a reasonable price a DVD for home use after watching such movie at the cinema. I have all 6 of them and cannot wait for the next one. I am grateful to have been able to purchase such an amazing movie, especially in memory of Paul Walker. I noticed some DVDs of F&F prices went up due to his passing on. I was slightly disappointed as I feel this shows disrespect to the Actor, his family and friends, unless the extra money goes towards his family. I highly respect any seller who have kept their prices the same since Paul Walkers passing.

God Bless to Paul Walker and all his family, friends and colleagues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fast and not furious, 28 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fast & Furious [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Well here we are again,back with the original cast and back to a winning format.while F & F will never win an oscars for telling an original story it is a great way to while away the time on a Saturday night (or what ever night you choose to watch it)especially if you like fast cars and lots of action in your films.
With this film you kinda know what your going to get and you wont be disapointed,while it isn't quite as good as the first one (its rare when a series of films is)it is still a good film and a million times better than Tokyo Drift.
If you do buy the blu ray version there are plenty of extras, if thats your thing, including customising your own car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fast & Furious [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Fast & Furious [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Justin Lin (Blu-ray - 2009)
£3.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews