Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truth and Beauty, 8 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Tony Bennett/Bill Evans Recordings (Audio CD)
Tony Bennett / Bill Evans remains one of the greatest albums ever released and it's a joy to see it finally getting the re-issue treatment it so richly deserves .
You also get the pairs second release (Together Again) and a full disc of alternate takes but , for me , the real stuff comes from that original classic ( Disc 1 tracks 1-9 of this release.)
What i love about it most is getting to hear Tonys voice in that stripped down , late-night setting , so rich , powerful and full of emotion. These are some of the very best tracks he's ever put out and are a joy to listen to , time and time again .
In a review of an earlier version of this album i had to confess that i knew little about his sparring partner here , Bill Evans , however this new release also comes with an absolutely perfect 18 page essay by Will Friedwald which has gone some way to addressing that situation . Very informative and helping me appreciate this sublime music even more , it was almost worth the money just for the sleevenotes and photos , i had always wanted to know more about this album , now i do ! It was especially good to read about Bills last phone call to Tony when he told him to forget all the other stuff and focus on "the truth and the beauty " , well they certainly had done that very thing 6 years earlier that's for sure.
A perfect re-issue both for newcomers and long term admirers , fresh perspective on an all time legendary album .
Great work by all concerned .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TONY BENNETT MEETS BILL EVANS FOR STUNNING SIMPLICITY ALIGNED TO GREAT ARTISTRY, 28 July 2009
By 
A. POLLOCK (PLYMOUTH, DEVON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Tony Bennett/Bill Evans Recordings (Audio CD)
Celebrating one of the many highs of Tony Bennett's long recording career, these wonderful tracks date from mid-Seventies sessions when he was seeking freedom from the "hit covers" mire required by his contract with Columbia Records - a situation which had latterly betrayed his desire to record worthwhile material. Whilst such independence allowed quality to prevail, commercial success proved more elusive and Bennett eventually returned to Columbia but on terms that ensured he had control over his recorded material, with an image which retained his popularity to the expanded point of appealing to respectful younger generations.

It has taken years for these tracks recorded with jazz pianist, Bill Evans, to find their rightful place with Bennett fans, jazz collectors and those who just appreciate great moments in music. Sufficed to say, this is yet another go-around for these Fantasy/Improv recordings which have been dusted off more than once in recent years via THE COMPLETE IMPROV RECORDINGS box-set (2004) with the included bonus alternate takes also added to reissues of the original albums, THE TONY BENNETT/BILL EVANS ALBUM (1975) and TOGETHER AGAIN (1976). Enjoy WHO CAN I RETURN TO, MAKE SOMEONE HAPPY, MAYBE SEPTEMBER and YOU MUST BELIEVE IN SPRING, plus the Evans solo THE BAD AND BEAUTIFUL and then hear the immaculate alternative takes for that extra appreciation of two great talents at work. Stunning simplicity aligned with great artistry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new standard, 28 Oct 2009
By 
Samale "Samuel Alemão" (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Tony Bennett/Bill Evans Recordings (Audio CD)
Piano and jazz singing formula at it's best. When the two albums, packed together in this CD, were recorded, in the middle of the 70's, Tony Bennet and Bill Evans had already reached the peak of their capacities, and joining efforts to do this was a surprise. Mainly because of the huge gap between the worlds in wich each one was living: Bennet, a self-confident star of the mainstream, a singer representing the joys of widspread recognition; Evans, a shy and half-reclusive man, with a high level of intelectualization in everything he had done. But, as in most of the great forms of art, in which walls are meant to be broken, this works. They have established a new standard in piano and jazz singing joined together, as I've said. It doesn't get better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute corker of a performance, 11 Oct 2009
By 
Kenneth J. Morris (Burton-upon Trent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Tony Bennett/Bill Evans Recordings (Audio CD)
This record set, from the mid-'70's, brings together two of the very best exponents of modern-jazz "easy-listening" ever recorded. An extraordinary combination of singing and playing very much more like two instrumental soloists than a singer with piano accompaniment. And we are treated to a splendid selection of tunes, each given an interpretation that is original, tasteful and exhibits impeccable musicianship and musicality. A rare treat - not to be missed. If you like quality singing and the very best of piano jazz this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Music Making, 3 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Mark H. Bredon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Tony Bennett/Bill Evans Recordings (Audio CD)
I used to own the LP recording of Tony Bennett and Bill Evans and it was wonderful to have it. Imagine my suprise when I found there was a lot more on two CD's. As you can see I purchased two copies, one for a lady friend of mine who actually saw Bill Evans in New York, this lady (no names) had a leading part in the film "A passage to India" we are both overjoyed to own this wonderful recording, and for those who want quality this is an absolute must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Mr. Wonderful, 28 Sep 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Complete Tony Bennett/Bill Evans Recordings (Audio CD)
Absolutely perfect. Tony Bennett singing in a very high emotional way, playing his extraordinary instrument, his voice, with the art of Bill Evans. Don't loose this master piece of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Billcog, 8 Sep 2009
By 
W. F. Coghill "Bill Coghill" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Tony Bennett/Bill Evans Recordings (Audio CD)
For Tony Bennett fans this album is a must. His partnership with Bill Evans is exquisite. Evans contribution is not that of a mere accompanist but an equal partner. His solo contributions are beautiful and Tony Bennett is at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely outstanding recording, 26 Jun 2014
By 
S. Keegan (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think this is one of the best albums for any Tony Bennett fan. Not only does the track listing include many of his best recordings but the arrangements are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars doesn't get any better, 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Tony Bennett/Bill Evans Recordings (Audio CD)
What can I say, title sums it up. What is particularly interesting is the inclusion of several different takes of the same song. You get an insight into the way Evans constructs his solos, as one of the most brilliant jazz pianists of his generation this becomes very enlightening and worth buying the CD for that alone. And don't forget you get Tony Bennett too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Tony Bennett/Bill Evans Recordings
The Complete Tony Bennett/Bill Evans Recordings by Bill Evans (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews