Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What A Great Film.
Based on a true story, this great film shows that in war, there are plenty of female war heroines, that people often forget about. Set in the Second World War, this film is about four extremely corageous and brave women from different backgrounds, who are employed as spies by an Intelligence and Sabotage Service overseen by Winston Churchill. A good synopsis of the film...
Published on 3 July 2008 by Katrina-UK

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ou Babes Audace (Where Chicks Dare)
While French title Les Femmes de l'Ombre may aspire to Jean-Pierre Melville, the English translation Female Agents is closer to the mark, though this surprisingly well reviewed but increasingly hokey story of a quintet of French SOE agents in occupied France might have been more accurately called Ou Babes Audace. Its group of poorly defined stereotypes led by Sophie...
Published on 18 Feb 2009 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What A Great Film., 3 July 2008
By 
Katrina-UK (Stockport, Cheshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Female Agents [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Based on a true story, this great film shows that in war, there are plenty of female war heroines, that people often forget about. Set in the Second World War, this film is about four extremely corageous and brave women from different backgrounds, who are employed as spies by an Intelligence and Sabotage Service overseen by Winston Churchill. A good synopsis of the film is detailed above (see Amazon Review), but then again, it does give a bit too much away.

'Female Agents' was subtitled throughout (As most of it is in French or German). I didn't find the subtitles a disadvantage, because the film wouldn't have had the same effect if it had been shown in any other way.

I was so glad I went to see this at the cinema, its one of the best films I've seen in ages, and I will definitely be watching it again when it comes out on dvd. It kept me on the edge of my seat throughout, especially towards the end! Highly Recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I spy with my little eye........a great film, 2 Aug 2008
By 
J. D. Naylor "jazzfan" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Female Agents [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Not typical French cinema i must admit.This is very much main stream world cinema.Should be enjoyed by anyone that likes a cracking good adventure yarn with plot twists aplenty and one suspensful scene after another.The performances are superb with Marceau showing a mixture of steely eyed patriotism and female vulnerability in her lead character.The supporting cast are great also.This is based on a true story but how much cinematic license has been taken i am not sure.Either way its a rattling good adventure yarn to keep you on the edge of your seat from the very first minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont worry about subtitles - wholly compelling, 14 Mar 2009
By 
Martin Burgess "martincburgess" (Bicester, Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Based on a true story (how true it is to the original we will have to summise). However its a compelling story from begining to end. I always judge a good dvd / Blu Ray film by whether you are prepared to pause it for a wee break - not a bit of it with this one!!

Not a great war film / espionage type person, but thoroughly enjoyed (although thats not the right word, as its quite sad).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent wartime adventure, 6 Oct 2008
By 
M. Hewitt "Mike H" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Female Agents [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this film in the cinema, and am so glad it is now out on DVD. As a big fan of war films, Female Agents is easily the best of this year, with cracking performances from all the main leads, especially Sophie Marceau.

Set in 1944 during World War II, the film tells the story of four women resistance fighter given the mission to rescue a British geologist. Based on a true story, the action rarely lets up with a fantastic script complemented by gorgeous cinematography. Watch out for the subway scene - it's a classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Film: Gripping to the End !, 6 Mar 2010
By 
Alan J. Stedall "yoss_uk" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this DVD having seen a short excerpt of it on the charity compilation of military films "Heroes".

I had pretty mediocre expectations of it, thinking it would be perhaps a bit along the school-boy adventure lines of "Where Eagles Dare" or "The Eagle has Landed".

Instead, I was very pleasantly surprised indeed.

Yes, the action sequences are exciting, filmed partially in a hand-held camera, almost documentary, style that makes them all the more involving.

However, I found the plot fascinating: Would the team of female agents achieve their mission, would they survive ? And I thought the characterisation of the actors, including the German "opposition", was excellent, very convincing.

Please be aware: The sound track of the film is in French, supported by English sub-titles. Like other positive reviewers on this page, I didn't find this at all off-putting.

Is the film historically accurate ? Probably not at a detailed level. But in terms of atmosphere and sentiment, certainly real enough for me. I don't think members of the French Resistance combined with the German Gestapo in WW2 to make documentary films of their actual activities ?

I will certainly watch this film a second time. It is one of the most exciting, gripping and under-publicised films I have come across. The title "Female Agents" really doesn't do it justice; it sounds a bit too much like "Charlie's Angels".

By the way, I bought the two disc edition of the film. I found the second disc, that contains a description of the making and some cut scenes, very interesting in itself. It makes one appreciate the complexity and planning that is involved in making this type of film. Hence I recommend the two disc set.

Finally, I am surprised at some of the negative reviews I see on this page. Perhaps I am too easily pleased ? If so, I consider that that is my good fortune, and the bad luck of the detractors !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying, 29 Jan 2012
This review is from: Female Agents [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Great film, well acted, good story. Learned a lot about the role women played in the French Resistance and Britain's SOE. Sophie Marceau credible in lead role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping story, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Female Agents [DVD] (DVD)
Based on real stories. Pretty authentic production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'Women in the shadows', 20 Feb 2011
By 
All of them Witches (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Female Agents [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is first and foremost entertainment as opposed to historically accurate. I long since abandoned any notion of films tagged with 'based on a true story' claims containing anything but the slenderest of factual content as is the case with Female Agents.
A brother and sister members of the SOE (Special Operations Executive)after fleeing occupied France set out to recruit a small band of female operatives to rescue a British geologist, a patient in a German troop hospital, before his identity and mission objective is blown. The three other females are rather coerced into joinging the unit and are parachuted into France whereby they achieve their objective only to find the goalposts have shifted and its off to Paris with them to assassinate a Nazi officer before he can advise German High Command of what he is close to discovering about the proposed Allied D Day invasion.
There do follow some implausibilities and excessively reckless risk taking with a number of things going wrong for the group. It is nonetheless entertaining in a suspension of disbelief type of way and while enormous licence is taken with the bare bones of the real story underpining this film it does at least show women involved in armed attacks on the enemy which has been much ignored in the majority of films focusing on the war generally. Besides which most of the more conventional war films featuring solely male casts are equally as factually flawed perhaps without being subject to the same level of scrutiny.
The story is very loosely based on the war time exploits of 'Lise de Baissac' who amongst other notable achievements was, along with her compatriot, the first female to be parachuted into occupied France (in order to establish a safe house) was involved in many acts of sabotage, armed assault on the Nazis and actually trained Violette Szabo in parachuting.
The film is in French with some German and English and subtitled throughout. A decent take on an under-represented aspect of WWII overall, 7 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant WWII Movie, 15 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Female Agents [DVD] (DVD)
This is an action packed movie about SOE agents sent to France to accomplish a very delicate mission.

On arrival they find the situation messy and dangerous.

The film features Julie Depardieu - daughter of Gerard Depardieu and she is a very good actress as are all the players in this movie.

French with English subtitles. Beautifully shot and a near perfect script.

What's more it is based on real characters.

But one word of warning - it's pretty grim - drama wise - not just shooting and blood, but realistic torture scenes not for the faint of heart. Any one with an interest in the French Resistance will expect that anyway.

The only real criticm of the film is that it makes it look as if all the French female resistance fighters were either unstable or coerced into fighting - which is something that some of the actual resistance fighters have pointed out was not the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth watching, Brilliant film., 18 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Female Agents [DVD] (DVD)
One word for this film 'Brilliant' . This is one of the best films about the females in the French Resistance that I have seen. I must admit when it was subtitles I thought 'Oh no' as I hate subtitled films but after watching it it was so good that I never even noticed. I felt that beacause it was in the spoken language of the character it gave it much more depth and as someone has previously pointed out it probably would not of been so good if it were in English. The acting is first class and watching it makes you realise how brave and selfless the real agents were and what an important part these brave people played in WW2. I cannot fault this film. It is a long film but worth it. If you love anything to do with the Resistance as I do you will love this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Female Agents [DVD]
Female Agents [DVD] by Jean-Paul Salomé (DVD - 2009)
Used & New from: £3.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews