Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great acting, great cinematography
This Spanish production (and that nation has achieved some GREAT mature-themed dramas and comedies over the past 25 years or so, going all the way back to "Tie Me Up! Tie Me Down!", etc.) traces the intermittently self-destructive search for pleasure and meaning in life of 29-year old Barcelona resident Valerie (who's actually from southern France, and some of the dialog...
Published on 14 Feb 2010 by Major Mike

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Horrible Film
Felt like I was waiting for the film to actually start for ages ... the idea of the film is much better than the film itself
Published 14 months ago by O. Dairo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great acting, great cinematography, 14 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Insatiable - Diary Of A Sex Addict [DVD] (DVD)
This Spanish production (and that nation has achieved some GREAT mature-themed dramas and comedies over the past 25 years or so, going all the way back to "Tie Me Up! Tie Me Down!", etc.) traces the intermittently self-destructive search for pleasure and meaning in life of 29-year old Barcelona resident Valerie (who's actually from southern France, and some of the dialog is in French, although most is in Spanish), who, starting in a flashback (played by a different actress) at age 15, discovered that highly promiscuous -- sometimes virtually random -- sex is what she likes most in life. This poorly-thought-out philosophy brings her into some BAD situations along with all the orgasms, however: an abusive relationship with the classic too-good-to-be-true boyfriend who, as soon as they start living together, becomes a brutal, paranoid dictator...followed by her post-breakup decision to become a prostitute at a high-end brothel. By the end of the movie, she "kind of" has sorted-out her life issues...but her future is left a bit of a question mark.
The cinematography in this movie is very good, with intense colors, good lighting, and sharp focus. The lead actress (Belen Fabra) clearly has no issues with multiple fairly explicit nude scenes (including tasteful full-frontal), but these are quite appropriate to the theme of the film. I was pleasantly surprised with the acting, production and scriptwriting quality of this film, which is much better than the subtitle "Diary of a Sex Addict" (literally "Diary of a Nymphomaniac" in the Spanish) would have implied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Film About Nymphomania And Love, 9 Jun 2010
By 
Philoctetes (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insatiable - Diary Of A Sex Addict [DVD] (DVD)
Watching this I knew it had to be the adaptation of one of those confessional/kiss-and-tell books you see in bookshops at train stations. Et voila! It is Insatiable: The Erotic Adventures of a French Girl in Spain

It basically trots out a load of cliches, so much so I think we need to give a title to a new movie genre. In future, make your choice from action, drama, romance, comedy, horror, science fiction...men-are-pigs. Yet again, smart good-looking young career gal falls heels-over-head in love with handsome man who miraculously morphs into an aggressive controlling frightening SOB. Val, our heroine, is on a voyage of self discovery (aren't they all) but really at the end things are pretty much back where they started.

I sound like I'm complaining, but this film held my interest and the message about living and self-approval, although familiar from other contexts, is always welcome, for all adults. Nothing new here but it's all well done and the sex and nudity is frequent but tasteful so couples will be comfortable watching it together.

A mundane Belle de Jour for those disinclined to Bunuel's peculiarities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A strong female perspective, 10 Aug 2010
This review is from: Insatiable - Diary Of A Sex Addict [DVD] (DVD)
This is a well constructed and acted film about a young woman's journey through various encounters and a critical (attitude shaping) relationship. It is clear that her journey is one where her body is the instrument of both pleasure and communication. 'Why not?' one might ask. 'Why not!' indeed. Sensuality and eroticism are central to the human condition. Those that seek to understand, let alone experience it, are dealing with an important part of life itself. The film ends with an honest conclusion from the central character. It is worth watching.

Ian Hunter.
Author of `e-Love'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars don't let the title misleed you, 13 Feb 2010
By 
P. Konings "polrokenrol" (polrokenrol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Insatiable - Diary Of A Sex Addict [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this movie with the thought in my head as if it was the more explicit Bridget jones diary and I thought it was english. Well, nothing of this is true. This one is a very good spannish movie with excellent acting and a good ambiance. Don't let the title misleed you by thinking you have a good justified pornographic movie to watch.

Of course there's a lot of nudity, but in no way it's a sexual teaser. This movie is all about a young girl, getting her life together and finding the good things in life.And please pay attention to the marvelous soundtrack A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I thought, 10 May 2011
By 
M. ALVAREZ "Vamp mad" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insatiable - Diary Of A Sex Addict [DVD] (DVD)
I imagined there would be lots of gratuitious sex scenes, but I think the story was told with care, and the sex scenes were timed and portraid very well. I really like it. You follow her journey and it kind of makes sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring life changing film, 26 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insatiable - Diary Of A Sex Addict [DVD] (DVD)
I don't think this movie is something about sex-only movie, but something about life changing moment. Feeling like watching Forest Grump, but having the lead actress with sex addiction instead.

Although the story itself involves with sex scences, the story beautifully portraits the lead actress who is obsessed with the sex and the strong feeling of insecurity.

Becoming a mature woman, she is strong enough to let herself do what she thinks it is just right for her (or she just cannot refuse her wild instinct and the loneliness).

However, we might get a wisdom that even after the long rough experiences in life that might destroy our life, we still can make a very moment of change in our life to be someone we really want to be, if we truly believe in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 13 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insatiable - Diary Of A Sex Addict [DVD] (DVD)
It was a bit slow to start, but once it got into the relationships rather than just the physical it became interesting. The characters were a bit broadly drawn but this did not detract from the emotional intensity. Better than Belle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More that "Insatiable"!, 25 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Insatiable - Diary Of A Sex Addict [DVD] (DVD)
I had the opportunity to watch this movie recently. Don't be fooled by the title, that's the typically misleading commercial dishonesty. Obviously, a certain kind of public was targeted there...
Well, it's far from what this title suggests. It is a sensible story, about a young woman who has to deal with her senses and her search for love, at a painful cost unfortunaltely. Someone spoke of "intelligent porn" for this film? Why do we always have to use this word to talk about
a book, a play or a film where people have sex??? This film is not dirty, and not even close to what the british market would usulally label "soft porn".
It is the story of a young woman, who stuggles to find HER way, that's all. But it is filmed with tact and respect. Far from what one would think of when reading the word "porn"...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insatiable - Diary Of A Sex Addict, 26 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insatiable - Diary Of A Sex Addict [DVD] (DVD)
It's a great movie with a good meanigful story.Live life as best as you possibly can.Let it take you where you want to go, but be careful as it may lead to self distruction.Nudity was done very gracefuly,so I don't think it went where title suggests.Sit back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy & lovely, 23 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insatiable - Diary Of A Sex Addict [DVD] (DVD)
Great film about the feelings and emotions of women who live to explore their own fantasies and passions in life. The film blends beautiful with sex, love and emotions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3d1a920)

This product

Insatiable - Diary Of A Sex Addict [DVD]
Insatiable - Diary Of A Sex Addict [DVD] by Christian Molina (DVD - 2009)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews