Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars432
4.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£16.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 November 2011
If you're like me and your knees are starting to get a lot of mileage on them, they simply don't take bending like they did when you were 18.

But, you still have to do things from time to time that require bending down for a prolonged period of time- like fixing things and gardening. To that end, there is a solution- the Draper 76763 Gardener's Kneeler Seat.

It's really two things in one. You can use it as a seat to sit on and do some things, but if you have to kneel and get closer down, well, just flip it around and kneel of the soft foam. Then, when its time to (try) and get up- the handles on either side let you use your arms to help boost you up- neat!

Definitely consider buying this handy chair/kneeler not only for gardening, but to have around when you have to kneel and fix stuff too. Also recommend Treat Your Own Knee Arthritis for some good exercises to get your knees working better and out of pain.
0Comment|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
This has been excellent for weeding the vegetable garden and large areas of muddy ground. I looked at other versions but they have 'feet' which would sink into the mud rather than a flat surface sitting on the ground. It is robust and easily cleaned, and being plastic won't rust when wet. Highly recommended.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2012
Arrived on time . Very comfortable to use but watch the lip on the edge of the pad when kneeling. You can only kneel one way. Happy with purchase
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
This kneeler could do your knees a lot of damage if you get it the wrong way round the rim sticks up catch side and if you put your full weight on it very painfull .The edge is now torn I don't trust it anymore I am elderly and I use the side handles to lever myself up I am scared it is going to split apart I have had draper items before and have been very satisfied
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2012
Bought this (in February 2011) as a replacement for a very similar garden kneeler that we had used for nearly ten years. This one only lasted until today (14th June 2012) when one of the handles broke off as my wife was rising up from the kneeling position. Nasty graze to the inner wrist - could have been worse.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 February 2015
Firstly, this is a well built kneeler/seat combination and with normal use I would expect it to last a good length of time. It is quite large and does not fold up in anyway to help with storage. The size makes it good to use as a seat, this is not a kneeler with seat option tagged on, if anything it is the other way about and is probably a better seat than it is a kneeler.

As a seat it is sturdy and supportive with a fairly broad seating area, strong legs with feet large enough to avoid sinking. Because of the broad feet it is pretty stable when in position and you do not have to worry too much about toppling over as with some more narrow seats, that said it is still possible to rock back and forth on in so some gardening tasks can be accomplished from the sitting position.

When used as a kneeler it is not quite so good. It has a foam padded area under the seat for kneeling on and this is effective enough. When using it the legs being broad and wide do sometimes get in the way a bit. It is pity they cannot be folded down or removed in some way without compromising the strength of the unit as a seat. The real problem with it as a kneeler is that it must be used facing the correct way. When used the wrong way the bottom of the integral storage box overlaps the foam padding in such a way as to make kneeling very uncomfortable. When used the right way it is fine. It is quite a large device and is probably a bit too big and bulky to be bought just for use as a kneeler.

It has an integral storage area build into the seat. This not large but enough for sandwiches or a few essential tools. It has a clasp to hold it shut and it can be locked shut with a bolt or padlock of some kind. Useful to keep little hands off your lunch!

On balance I would say this is a useful device for any gardener but is a better seat than it is a kneeler.

The Good
Robust but lightweight
Good build quality
Padded kneeler area
Integral lockable storage box

The Bad
Kneeler must be used the right way around
Bulky
Product Legs get in the way a bit when used as kneeler
Product Legs cannot be removed or folded away
Too bulky for use just as a kneeler
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
I recently purchased a Draper 76763 brand new from the on-line photo as a 'next-best/similar' alternative to the superior (now sadly discontinued) Hozelock Kneeler. Had I gone to a shop and tried the Draper 76763 first, I should never have bought it!
When used as a kneeler (as opposed to the seat function), one side has nasty edges that dig into your knees very painfully - unless you have remembered to get it the 'right way' round!
When using the handles to arise from the kneeling position, the handle supports warp disconcertingly under pressure, giving the impression that the whole thing might fail at any moment; I wouldn't ever dare to use it as a seat!
This item is inherently hazardous and after using it just twice, I have put it in the bin!
ps
I've only given this one star because the review cannot be accepted without one!
33 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2010
For kneeling or sitting while at work in the garden this is perfect and don't wait until your back or knees are bad - get one now. There is also a storge compartment under the seat for extra tools. Very light to shift around as well.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
What a great piece of kit, very well designed and put together, sturdy will take 14 stone and I can understand why, the top has its own tool tray good idea for the small things,knife,string etc great seller as well delivered well ahead of time.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
poorly made. if you use it as a kneeling aid then you can catch your knees on the lip the fusion sits in. I purchased a different make which is all plastic much better.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)