Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down Memory Lane
What a find! This really is a great collection for us of a 'certain age' (over 60). It's amazing how many tracks you can remember all the words and singalong to. The only small criticism is that there are very few British singers featured & there were a lot of good ones around at that time.
Published on 4 April 2010 by Gloria Keighley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought for a party
This was bought for a party and does have a good mix of songs on it - it worked well for the party.
Published 10 months ago by Kirsty


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down Memory Lane, 4 April 2010
By 
Gloria Keighley "OAP" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: 50s (Audio CD)
What a find! This really is a great collection for us of a 'certain age' (over 60). It's amazing how many tracks you can remember all the words and singalong to. The only small criticism is that there are very few British singers featured & there were a lot of good ones around at that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mainly for the non-rocker, 7 Sep 2011
By 
Dangerous Dave (Berkhamsted, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 100 Hits: 50s (Audio CD)
If you're of the age that remembers the fifties with lots of nostalgia but you weren't really into rock'n'roll, then this collection is right up your street. I know r'n'r only came in in `55 though the really big years were `56 through to `59, so, no collection of this type should feature the music too heavily if its got any claims at being representatative. This one, however puts most of its rock goodies from roughly track 61 to 74 and pretty well ignores this form of music elsewhere i.e. r'n'r is well under-represented. There's not even a lot of what I'd term late 50's pop in here - "When" from the Kalin twins and "Diana" from Paul Anka are fairly isolated examples. However if you don't mind buying the equivalent 100 set on rock'n'roll then you've covered pretty well everything. Or, as I said in my opening sentence, perhaps, you're entirely happy with this set as it is and you prefer more of the dance band singer sound. All our tastes are different after all.

On the positive side there's a lot of decent music here, classy singers like Tony Bennett and Johnny Ray, interesting novelties like Tennessee Ford's "Sixteen Tons", and the odd one-off like Laurie London with his gospel "He's got the whole world in his hands". My personal favourite and one that really pointed the way to the future is the late, great Sam Cooke with "You Send Me".

Oh, and had you realised that Frankie Laine had cut "Hey Joe" before Jimi?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great collection in the 100 hits series, 4 July 2009
By 
elceeem "musicman" (COLOMBO---05, WESTERN PROVINCE Sri Lanka) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: 50s (Audio CD)
I have been systematically buying CD's in the 100 HITS series but I MUST SAY that this is one of the best.It is very comprehensive,and covers most of the huge hits during that decade.In fact I WAITED patiently until the compilation was released and was not disappointed.Simply great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars got for sis, 25 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: 50s (Audio CD)
Great music from the 50s. Good to just listen to or play at a party
got this cd for my sister
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely fab, 7 July 2011
This review is from: 100 Hits - 50s (MP3 Download)
have enjoyed listening to the songs of the fifty's, takes me back to party's at my nans house when i was young, really good :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value!, 12 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Robert J. Miller "bobinthebox" (Colchester Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: 50s (Audio CD)
I was looking for a compilation of '50's songs, popular in there day and one's that have crossed the barrier of time as I present a 50's show on Hospital Radio. This compilation turned out to be excellent for this with many number ones and lots of varying genres, rock, pop and ballads. They are all original recordings and of good quality, if you haven't already guessed, I would recommend that you make the purchase if you are looking foe 50's nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for music lovers, 4 July 2012
By 
J. Claxton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - 50s (MP3 Download)
If you like 50s and early 60s this album is a must, all original recordings.
Easy listening at it very best,with all your favourite atists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Radio Luxembourg meets the Palais de Danse, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: 50s (Audio CD)
Absolutely wonderful selection of 50's music with all original recordings. It's everything you need to whisk you back to the time of 208, good beer and arrowroot biscuits. Buy and enter your own time machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - 50s (MP3 Download)
Great tracks. Every one a memory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: 50s (Audio CD)
Present for my mum and she loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Hits: 50s
100 Hits: 50s by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews