Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
32
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 August 2011
This is tiny, not much bigger than a matchbox, but it does require external power (and comes with a standard plug-type transformer/rectifier), and it has a LED to show when it is powered and working. I needed it for a speaker-set that only had coax input, and a source that only had optical output, and it simply works.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
I have an older Sony STR-DE595 5.1 capable surround amp. It has two optical inputs, one of which has an Acer Revo R3610 HTPC connected and the other the XBOX360 both providing 5.1 surround sound where available, or psuedo-surround on stereo content via Dolby Pro Logic II matrixing. The only remaining digital input was a coaxial one that never got used. I wanted to get my Humax Foxsat-HDR box hooked up for the rare shows/movies on BBC HD, BBC One HD and 4HD which have 5.1 Dolby Digital in the stream, handy during Six Nations rugby to give you a better sense of immersion or during a good action movie, for example. But although the Foxsat has three forms of audio output (5.1 via HDMI, 5.1 via optical and 2.0 stereo via red/white phono RCA jacks) it does not have coaxial out. Standard scenario for needing a converter, really!

Now with these little boxes, you have to make sure you get the right model because it's a one way conversion - I accidentally bought a box which takes coaxial OUT to optical IN, which is of course completely the opposite of what I needed which was optical OUT to coaxial IN. Having returned the incorrect box and ordered this instead, I was happy to find setup was effortless.

You plug in the converter's AC adapter power source (300mA; very low current draw), you connect the optical from your source device to the SPDIF input, then run a good quality cable with single phono RCA jacks on either end from the converter's output to the coaxial input on your amp. As long as you already have the leads you need, job done. Whatever your device would pass to the amp if it were connected by TOSlink will be passed exactly the same as when going through coaxial... stereo PCM 44khz, stereo PCM 48khz, Dolby Digital 2.0, Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS 5.1 and so on. There's no transcoding, it just copies the bitstream. With no noticable latency I might add - I checked Dolby Digital 5.1 using the BBC's audio sync test (currently shown in the daytime on BBC HD before the proper programming) and direct via optical or via coaxial using the converter seem as close to identical as makes no odds.

Long story short: this works so if you need it buy it. Especially if you order via Cable Mountain - within an hour of ordering this it was marked as dispatched, and within 48 hours it was delivered to my door even though the delivery was the slower "free" kind. THAT is fantastic mail order service by anyone's standards.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2010
Very neat piece of kit. I needed to convert the TOSlink output from my TV to a digital coax input (the only spare) on my amp. This worked straight out of the box, plug in the cables and power supply, and enjoy the results. It's worth noting that this is also very little, so easy to be discrete, and hardly draws any current.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
does exactly what it is supposed to and is an attractive and usefully small package. the only thing that would improve the converter is being 5v with the opportunity to be driven off a usb port rather than the 9v supply. can't fault the service given by cable mountain.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
I happen to have an audio surround system supporting Dolby 5.1 for many years (having digital coaxial audio input NOT optical audio input..my system is old) and i never bothered to delve into dolby5.1 until recently when i got my ps4 which supports dolby 5.1(manually selected) and 7.1(by default). i have 4 consoles(2 x360s, ps3, ps4) so i got an hdmi hub and an hdmi to hdmi(video)+RCA(L and R stereo)+optical audio so i could play all 4 of them on same hdmi tv channel. i decided to ditch the stereo and try dolby5.1(i have 6 channel system) so i bought this optical to coaxial converter. the unit is damn small the size of a match box. once hooked up, i fired my ps4 console and loaded mortal kombat X and boy i was missing alot! the background sound going to the rear L and R speakers came alive and i was blown away, play MKX never felt the same with stereo channels. great product with crystal clear sound.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
This digital Convertor arrived one day later than specified by Amazon, on the 10th January instead of the 9th, no problem but did mark it down one star because of this. Used to connect my Yamaha YAS 103 to my Apple TV because I had run out of optical inputs, it function correctly as soon as connected without any audible determination in sound output. I recommend this item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
My PC has a Digital Optical Out port, my Amplifier has a Coaxial Optical Input. Connected one end of the Toslink cable ( http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B002NLWD68 ) to the PC and the other end to the Optical In on the converter, than connected one end of the Coaxial Optical cable ( http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B000WTM24Q ) to the Amplifier and the other end to the Coaxial Out on the converter. Connected the converter power supply to the mains, enabled sound output from the SPDIF on the PC and all good!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
I purchased a new tv with only optical out as most are manufactured today. Previous tv had rca out. The property was pre-wired to allow the tv to be separate and remote from the surround amplifier by cable runs under the floor. Impossible to route an optical cable without serious modifications. So this takes the optical out and converts it to the existing rca run.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2016
10 Years....!!!!!!!!!!

It may be too late for the review but i just want everyone to know i bought this product 10 years ago and it's still working and delivering the best sound.

It has been for 10 years plugged into the power socket and never been turned it off. Excellent value!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
works fine apart from when no sound is being transmitted, quiet high pitch noise is audiable

i used this to connect my apple tv to my sereo via the aux connection to turn my stereo into an airplay stereo. because the apple tv doesnt have a aux out and only an optical out i purchaised this product.

for the price, i consider it good value for money, but if you dont want any noise being heard when nothing is being played, then it might be worth considering another, more higher quality product, if there is one avaliable
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)