Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far better than it seems
While I certainly think I understand the reasons for the initial disappointment of some listeners here (some might even have expected a La Llorona follow-up?), I really must disagree with those who discredits this album.

It might seem a bit.. quiet and static at first (low-level) listen, however, prolonged listening shows that it's truly full of great songs...
Published on 16 Aug 2009 by Vidar P

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice album
Nice album but not so good as the previously ones. The songs are quite the same rhythm. Lasa didn't sing in different languages. In my opinion for sure is not her best album.
Thanks
Published on 25 Oct 2012 by Lua


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far better than it seems, 16 Aug 2009
This review is from: Lhasa (Album Standart) (Audio CD)
While I certainly think I understand the reasons for the initial disappointment of some listeners here (some might even have expected a La Llorona follow-up?), I really must disagree with those who discredits this album.

It might seem a bit.. quiet and static at first (low-level) listen, however, prolonged listening shows that it's truly full of great songs imo. How could one otherwise describe songs like "I'm going in", "Love came here", "A fish on land" and all the other gems on this album? Beautiful!

The tunes are simple but effective, and the band is well-judged quiet but agile. The soundscape is simple and almost understated; I can easily imagine that the songs won't blossom through a kitchen radio, low-fi system or suchlike; but through a high quality audiophile-level music system, the musical and emotional energy of Lhasa and her band shines through with full power. And what energy and qualities Lhasa posesses! In that sense, one might say that this is almost an audiophile's album, as its musical qualities seems to need a good playback system to reveal themselves fully; but it's also a lovely collection of tender and beautiful songs. Her voice is captured beautifully by the sound engineers, and the album has a closeup sound that suits it.

It's nothing like the youthful and high-voltage La Llorona from 10 years ago, which was a truly great and legendary album bristeling with latino energy and great songs; now we meet a far more introspective and intimate Lhasa, one might say more adult; and I'm happy to report that this is a great new expression from a great artist, not a second rate try-to-follow-up of her opus magnum La Llorona.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding, 7 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. Simon J. Tilbury "s.t." (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lhasa (Album Standart) (Audio CD)
This is quite simply one of the finest albums of 2009. Less exotic in its arrangements than the previous 'The Living Road', these songs are built upon the principle that Lhasa's voice and her brave, stark lyrics are the focal point. The spare but nonetheless intriguing and accomplished arrangements never overwhelm Lhasa's performance, and the result is a haunting, beguiling and unforgettable experience. These songs insinuate themselves into your consciousness, ravishing in their unadorned beauty, yearning and yet graceful in their lyrics, often dreamlike in their use of symbol and strangeness that is, yet, delivered with an honesty and matter-of-factness that is striking.

I do miss Lhasa singing in Spanish and French (these songs are all in English), but that is only a small loss compared to the wonder that is this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lhasa meets Portishead and the Cowboy Junkies, 15 Dec 2009
This review is from: Lhasa (Album Standart) (Audio CD)
Not as varied as La Llorona, but at the same time that gives it a much more consistent style. It is really slow, you have to slow down to it to appreciate it, and give it a couple of listens at least to let the songs sink into your consciousness. Like I said in the title, Lhasa de Sela meets Cowboy Junkies and Portishead. Pretty bleak, but Lhasa's warmth is still to be found in amongst all that bleakness and silence, and every moment is packed with artistry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 21st century hippy, 3 Oct 2009
By 
Jeremy (BRACKNELL, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lhasa (Album Standart) (Audio CD)
I love Lhasa. There isn't anyone making music like her at the moment. This CD is beautiful and flavoured with 1966. I loved her spanish lyrics on the earlier CDs and was a bit apprehensive of an English CD. I just couldn't imagine s/t like El desierto in English. Musically it's far more sparse than either of the two other albums but the same 'stangeness' underlies the lyrics
It is such a loss to Music that she died so young. I am so sure her music will live on and one like, say Nick Drake, people will re-find her again and again in the future. Her music and poetry is so out of time and timeless that when ever 20th/21st century music is listened to Lhasa will be there alongside Brel, Dylan & Mitchell
If you want to hear a performer unique and special you should buy this CD. It WILL enrich your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 22 Feb 2010
This review is from: Lhasa (Album Standart) (Audio CD)
I bought this album (and managed to download it successfully!) after listening to a couple of songs from it on Charlie Gillett's World Service programme. I love it, and will definitely be buying her others next month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars R.I.P. Lhasa, 19 Jan 2010
This review is from: Lhasa (Album Standart) (Audio CD)
there are two versions of this album. They both contain the same music. The difference is with the cover. The original cover, designed by Lhasa was folded paper. It has been largely replaced by a jewel cover cd as that is cheaper to produce, with the effect that the original cover has assumed "de-luxe status" This was not Lhasa's wish or intention. She made it into the new year, but only just, RIP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars iguana, 16 Nov 2009
This review is from: Lhasa (Album Standart) (Audio CD)
When I heard that the lyrics of this album were entirely in English I feared the worst. The songs in English were my least favourites on the Living Road. Was this an attempt at commercialisation, to reach a larger audience? Another let-down like Camille's "Music Hole"? Just the opposite: the intensity is still there, the unique tender, dangerous voice just as sexy but now, for me, the imagery is more accessible as well. This feels like a much more mature album: there is much more of her in it and less pastiche of Eastern European folk tunes etc. (though the pedestrian, C&W Fool's Gold and Is Anything Wrong have not been transferred to my MP3 player).
Lhasa, half-Mexican, half-American, with more than a dash of iguana in there (the sweetest bit), is a unique talent and for me this is her best album yet. Go and meet the blind-man, the fish-man and the spider-lady; lose yourself in her dream-like world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RIP, 12 Dec 2013
By 
Y. Baqouah "Mora" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lhasa (Album Standart) (Audio CD)
One of the best artist. I love her velvet voice and the Spanish and French rhythms. Really extraordinary performer as well, I was very sad when I heard she passed away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lhasa CD, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lhasa (Album Standart) (Audio CD)
Very haunting... sad she lost her fight with cancer - better to have heard than not! super fast turn around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lhasa (Album Standart) (Audio CD)
Lhasa De Sela has a unique sound. Her music is very evocative.and along with her other album, La Llorona, is proving to be welcome and enjoyable. Another songbird who died young. A loss to the world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lhasa
Lhasa by Lhasa De Sela (Audio CD - 2009)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews