Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Compilation
"One of the iconic early songs of the 1960's is definitely the Susan Maughan classic pop song Bobby's Girl, which was a cover of a hit on the other side of the pond. This "best of" compilation consists of 18 pure early 1960's pure pop tunes, sung quite endearingly by Susan.

Bobby's Girl was by far and away Susan's biggest ever hit, reaching a high of #3 in...
Published on 14 Sep 2010 by robm

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Poor follow ups to hits.
Published 1 month ago by Rog Green


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Compilation, 14 Sep 2010
By 
robm (Yorkshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"One of the iconic early songs of the 1960's is definitely the Susan Maughan classic pop song Bobby's Girl, which was a cover of a hit on the other side of the pond. This "best of" compilation consists of 18 pure early 1960's pure pop tunes, sung quite endearingly by Susan.

Bobby's Girl was by far and away Susan's biggest ever hit, reaching a high of #3 in 1963, the same year that Susan won the best female singer award. At 44 minutes in length the CD is not overly long, but it means you can enjoy these pop tunes more frequently, and at a decent price, the CD is really a bargain.

County Durham born Susan may not have the greatest voice in the world, but she can sure put over a tune. Hand a Handkercief to Helen was a small hit for Susan, and some say the song is aimed at Helen Shapiro, who Susan dislodged as the #1 singer at the time. Verdict Is Guilty and Bachelor Girl are what can only be described as "pure pop tunes of their time" - so if you like early 60's music "like I do" (that incidentally is the name of a hit for the beautiful 60's and very underrated singer Maureen Evans) - you will really enjoy this jolly CD."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very worthy retrospective of an excellent singer, 30 Sep 2009
By 
Anton Coy "Ant" (Johannesburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Susan Maughan was cute, pert and - oh yes - had a great singing voice. In 1963 she officially took over Helen Shapiro's mantle as Britain's Top Female Vocalist (It was alleged that her "Hand A Handerkerchief To Helen" was a direct jibe at the deposed Queen Helen, but I never bought that one). Her career as a chart artist however was - in common with very many other good performers of the day - effectively ended by Beatlemania and all that came in its wake. This compilation more than amply illustrates what a fine singer Susan Maughan was, and it is good to know that she did at least continue making a successful career for herself in the less high-profile world of cabaret and cruise liners. Her rendition of "Bobby's Girl" sits firmly in a fairly rare category : An example of a British cover version that was actually significantly better than its American original. In this case her powerful interpretation knocks into a cocked hat the rather uninspired Marcie Blaine version, which came complete with a spoken verse, which - thankfully - Susan's producers chose NOT to replicate. If good, unabashed early 1960's British pop is your bag, there will be plenty here for you to enjoy - and at a very reasonable price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Susan wanted to be Bobby's girl, 25 Aug 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Born Marion Susan Maughan but dropping her first name, Susan's big hit was a cover of Bobby's girl. Originally an American hit for Marcie Blane, Susan took the song to the top three in the British charts. Neither singer had much success after that although as I explained in a review of a Marcie Blane compilation, Marcie really wasn't interested in a recording career, or indeed a singing career of any kind, and contented herself with a normal life away from the spotlight. As a contrast, Susan has built a singing career on the strength of Bobby's girl, performing on cruise liners, at seaside resorts and elsewhere on the cabaret circuit.
Following the success of Bobby's girl, Susan had the chance of to cover Tell him, which had been a huge success for the Exciters in America. Susan's manager turned it down so Billie Davis recorded the song instead and took it into the UK top ten. Susan did manage to scrape into the lower end of the UK charts with her next two singles (Hand a handkerchief to Helen, She's near to you) but subsequent singles failed even to do that.
This compilation, containing the three hits and the best of the rest, provides a reminder of what a great singer Susan was in the sixties. While she deserved to have more than one major hit, it's great to know that even just one big hit was enough to allow Susan to pursue a career spanning several decades doing what she enjoys - singing to her fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST OF SUSAN MAUGHAN, 3 Feb 2011
By 
Mrs. C. E. Darbyshire (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Pure nosgtalgia has all of this great lady singers hits. Made a brilliant present by my Dad's (Bob) 80th birthday and was played over and over at his party. BRILL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MORE OF MAUGHAN, 7 July 2007
By 
Gerald Reek "GOLDEN OLDIE" (STOCKPORT, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Susan Maughan had one of those "pleasant" pop voices of the early 60s and this collection shows it off well. All tracks are original Philips from 1962-1964 and in proper mono.

A great selection of mostly upbeat tracks. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that on one or two tracks the sound quality is not A1. Good enough, but for HiFi listening you can tell the reduction in quality.

I did not recognise many of the titles, but on hearing them found them very catchy.

Still recommended as you don't find many recordings of Susan these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought for a friend,loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good listening, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good music from the 60s and enjoyable. like it a lot and enjoyed the music that's not played alot on the radio
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nostalgic !, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very happy with the cd , good value. i remember when it was first released , quite a few years ago .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review., 24 Mar 2011
By 
Kevin A. Lazenby (Madeley, Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lot of the songs on this CD I like, which I consider a guide to the songs that Maughan is good at singing. It also from an era which I considered the best in UK pop music - late 1950's until 1969'ish.

The 2 songs I enjoyed most; "Make him mine" and "Bobby's girl" are main reasons why I chose to get the CD. If they weren't available on the CD, it's likey I wouldn't have bought the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just one hit was all it took, 16 Mar 2008
Probably Susan Maughan was lucky to be able to cut at least 4 albums on the strength of her one hit.
Her first single Mama do the Twist-a cover of the Linda Hopkins song- and its follow up Baby Doll Twist pitched her into the Twist craze and Bobby's Girl the hit was followed by a lower chart entry with Hand a handkerchief to Helen-originally made by Linda Laurie
Though the Guiness Book lists 2 other titles just inside the top 50 Susan Maughan is generally known as a one hit wonder.
So in fact was Marcie Blaine who cut the U S version so its obviously the song and not the singer.It was also of little consequence to Miss Blaine who had begun cutting demos before finding herself signed to the Seville label who put out other singles but she was not interested in live performances
A movie followed that which starred Freddie & the Dreamers and the albums mainly of standards.
Her most interesting things were the various American songs by writers like Clint Ballard or Bob Crewe which this CD should have concentrated on rather than her attempts at songwriting herself.Gwen Owens' Make Him Mine had bombed in the States yet to my mind this is a sensational song but then most of them are by Pixie Girls
While Diane Renay made the lower end with Kiss me Sailor the Susan Maughan cover never did any better yet Susan Maughan was so much better than Sandie Shaw or Billie Davis.
Her manager possibly stalled her career by turning down the song Tell Him by the Exciters which went on to chart for the above mentioned Billie Davis.
Its one of those moments when pop history may have changed if it hadn't been for this major screwup
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of
The Best Of by Susan Maughan
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews