Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superior indie horror
The words "Zombie Virus on" have been added to the title of the indie horror movie "Mulberry Street" and the DVD box has been given one of those by-now standardly dishonest zombie movie covers depicting the massed bands of the undead surging forth from the backdrop of a burning city as helicopters fly overhead (for other examples of this, see the covers of "The Zombie...
Published on 15 Jun 2011 by Quackser

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but a bit slow
The film is well made and the team clearly spent some time getting the production right. However, these kind of films really need to have action all the way through and in this respect the 'Zombie Virus' was a bit lightweight. In fact, it took so long to really get going that it almost seemed rushed at the end.

I understand the idea that if you give more...
Published on 2 Jan 2010 by Mr. N. Edwards


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Poor title, 2 July 2010
This review is from: Zombie Virus On Mulberry Street [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
The film is actually called just; "Mulberry Street", this was sadly lumbered with the clunky "zombie virus on Mulberry Street" for its UK release. It also doesn't actually have any zombies in it, its a virus carried by rats. But lets not get bogged down in details.
As a film it has a gritty, authentic feel to it, that reminds me of independant 70's cinema. Light on dialogue and heavy on social commentary this starts as more of a drama than horror film and has a slow burning, measured pace. But halfway through, the rat people/zombies/infected start to terrorise the residents of a tower block and there is some good and quite gruesome action scenes, as the characters whom we have been introduced to in some depth are picked off.

Its clear to see the budget limitations; the lack of any recognisable actors, limited sets and locations and some ropey looking CGI, but it does a good job with what it has and is a good example of inventive low budget filmmaking. Its also refreshing to see a zombie film with a complete lack of guns, the characters in the film are from the poor areas of town and have no access to weaponry, so use whatever they have handy.

If your expecting lots of zombie action, you'll may be dissapointed, but this is an interesting and refreshing film, in a genre that is well trodden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zombie virus on mulbery street, 17 May 2009
This review is from: Zombie Virus On Mulberry Street [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
For fans of the zombie genre this film is a real treat, "it rocks a fat one!" this has been out for some time on region 1 release, called just "Mulbery street". The film is well made, The filming bares a close comparasin to the crisp up to date filming of land of the dead, diary of the dead and the resident evil series(which was a disapointing let down even by my low standards), as aposed to grainey cheap low budget films such as severed, zombie blood bath, zombie diaries and of course the old classics that just didnt have the technology back then (fulici, romero,jorge grau,amado d'osssorio,j.r bookwalter are just some of the directors worth looking up for some classic zombie action that won't disapoint). The plot of Mulberry street or "zombie virus on mulberry street" is simple, infected rats bite humans, humans become zombies and bite more humans who in turn also become zombies looking to bite more humans(it a vicious cycle) while the remainder of humans try to survive and wait it out hoping the epademic will blow over in a few days or weeks, With such a great plot we are onto a winner! Its quite shocking that this film doesnt have more of a cult following as its better than many. In a simular vien to Rec and day of the dead (remake) the film is up to date and carries a sence of realism throughout, there is action, gore and believable acting, plus the rats are pretty cool too! I only gave this film 4 because this genre and story has been done better so many times, and it doesnt offer anything new such as lucio fuluci did with his infamous eye to broken wood scene in zomie flesh eaters (zombie), or the target practice with look a likes in the dawn of the dead remake,the new idea of controled zombies in fido or the ground breaking humour of shawn of the dead (though americans would argue return of the living dead are just as funny... yeah right!). But with over 100 zombie films in my collection Mulberry street still happens to fall in my top 20. Zombie fans, get this film you won't be disapointed (as any real zombie fan should never have high expectations)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars terrible, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
looks good on the cover but just terrible, not good effects or story line, looks like a terrible 1980 b movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CRAP, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zombie Virus On Mulberry Street [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This film is just crap..the actors are also crap..and the camera work crap, too fast and wonky..The storyline was a low budget horror crap stuff ..not much happening..i wasted an hour and half..wasnt even scary..the end was odd too lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another waste of film, 16 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zombie Virus On Mulberry Street [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Don't buy this. Te storie is about a stupid virus that transforms people into rat monsters, no zombies whatsoever. Utter rubbish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad, better than I expected., 22 July 2009
This review is from: Zombie Virus On Mulberry Street [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Three stars maybe generous but rating this as a DTV horrorits not bad at all. the cast are all unknowns and it clearly has almost no budget but it is used well and what you get is a reasonable survival horror movie with rat zombies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good zombie flick, 12 July 2009
This review is from: Zombie Virus On Mulberry Street [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
i'm a big zombie fan of both written and film products, really enjoyed this movie as it was well made and the actors were believable. ending could have been a bit better as i thought it might go global....but you cant have everything i suppose! would recommend this to any serious zombie fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zombie Rats - pure genius!, 29 May 2009
By 
S. Clarke "Zombie Survivor" (Bordon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zombie Virus On Mulberry Street [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
On paper this sounds silly: rats bite humans, humans contract virus, and humans become rat zombies. But this really works as a serious horror movie.

It's not often that you find a zombie film that is easy to watch without cringing but Mulberry delivers on all fronts; by that I mean the acting is good, the characters likeable, the makeup/effects awesome, the story fast flowing and unpredictable, and the horror suspenseful as well as graphic. Though the film held my attention throughout, the first 30 minutes might seem a bit slow to some as the movie sets the scene, but once it gets going the gory action comes thick and fast. I found the `rat zombies' nasty, the way they eat their prey with a rodent like nibbling motion is pleasantly gross! One reviewer complained of jerky camera work. I can't understand this, I was only aware of the camera shaking once during a scene where the lead character is running but this adds to the feeling of panic; as far as I am concerned this was a very well directed and produced movie, and stands out as so within the genre. All in all this is a top notch zombie horror, which is at times quite scary and certainly freaky.

I have been fortunate to watch two really good zombie flicks in a row: check out `Last of the Living' if you like comedy with your horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Zombie Virus on a jerky camcorder, 24 May 2009
By 
P. Seel (England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zombie Virus On Mulberry Street [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Slow pace, clock watching extravaganza, poor script, jerky hand held cam corder/sped up-tastic camera work which doesn't suit this kind of film one bit... also gives you a headache so I suggest taking some paracetamol before sitting down to watching this...

Been done before but better. Stick to the originals of this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars zombie virus, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zombie Virus On Mulberry Street [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
worse film ive ever seen in my life , being a horror film lover i was thinking this was going to be good but its crap not worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zombie Virus On Mulberry Street [DVD] [2007]
Zombie Virus On Mulberry Street [DVD] [2007] by Sarah Dickinson (DVD - 2009)
4.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews