Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars38
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 October 2010
This handy little item is a must for anyone who needs to photograph small items.
The choice of backdrops makes it very versatile and the two lights provided are very useful. I use them one on either side through the sides which act as difusers.
I have obtained my best results by augmenting the lights by bouncing flash off an overhead reflector.
I would thoroughly recommend this very useful and easy to store (It packs away neatly) item. It is really excellent value.

Guy Laurence
Chairperson: Canterbury Photographic Society)
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2010
Does what it says on the tin and is pure brilliance, saved our lives for product photography over and over again! 5 star!
22 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2010
I have found the tent to be of the most use and figured out that it is best back lit by sun light.

The lamps were OK but the bulbs are very precious and the slightest knock breaks the bulb filaments, also when working, the light produced was a combination of colours, so not the best, and a poor example of a daylight bulb.

The tri pod was next to useless as it was not rigid enough to always take photos in focus due to the movement. I have been better off taking photos by hand on that basis.

So all in all the kit is a good idea, especially as its cheap, however you may be better off just buying a tent. Which diffuses light and gives a much better picture than without.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2011
The kit looks very good, It's cheap, BUT..., and I mean BUT!!!!!!!:
In a summary there is something wrong with every piece of item you receive in this kit!!!!:
(This is not really a fault of the seller but it would help if they warned)
(I have used multiple cameras: 2 compacts and DSLR with this kit, I've not tried tweaking the White Balance of the RAW files in Adobe Lightroom as this defeats the purpose of the studio kit)

The Light Bulbs - the colour of the light is somewhat screwed up, doesn't match filament, daylight, fluorescent and any preset White Balance or other custom settings. White Balance detection doesn't does sod all. They also are not powerful enough for the job.

The Light Bulbs - these need to be re-addressed further: they get hot, very hot, very quickly, (1 minute), resultantly produce a burning smell of plastic.

The Light stands - They are mostly plastic hence the burning plastic smell. The tripods pack away pack away nicely on the plus side.

The Light power cables - these are European plugs with UK adaptors, requires a screw driver to fit together

The Tent - it took some lack genius to design this with so many limitations. Please bear in mind that this tent only has 2 white walls, white ceiling, and black back wall (there is no floor. So yes it is a tent by definition, just... (Curtain is closer though))

The four colour backdrops - These are folded up and require ironing to archive that fresh/smooth look in your pictures.

The four colour backdrops - These need to be re addressed with regards to their thickness. They are thin very thin indeed. This might not be that much of a problem for red/blue/black backdrops but the white backdrop is near enough see through, make sure you're happy to but it down on a carpet of A4 sized paper sheets.

The Camera Stand - This extends from some 20cm to 40cm. Build quality is ok in the stand but feels pretty cheap at the camera mount pivot. The former doesn't stop the camera from wobbling so you're better off stabilising the camera with your hand if you want your pictures in focus.

I can see how this is good value for money in terms of build quality. But once you get this item you'll realise you want REAL daylight bulbs and LED based bulbs so that they don't over heat.
You will also realise that you should have investigated a bigger tripod and that the cheap £10 tent (with 5 walls) a lot more appealing
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2012
Having read some of the other reviews, I must admit that was a little dubious about ordering, but decided to take the plunge and go for it.
I went for the Free Delivery option which was actually very quick, and I must say I find that the quality (bearing in mind the price) isn't bad at all.
The camera support is actually quite sturdy, with a good wide base.
OK it's only got a small ball and socket head, but if you've got a heavy camera then use a proper tripod with it, instead of the supplied stand, that's just common sense. It's certainly man enough for any of the compacts though, and maybe even some of the lighter bridge cameras.
The lights are OK if you don't leave them switched on when you are not using them, but you can always change the bulbs for an LED variant as they are a standard G4 fitting. Mine came supplied with UK 13amp plugs.
The trick with the lights is to make sure that the feet don't retract all the way into the base when you put them away, then you can just pull them straight out again. If you retract them out of sight, then you have to unscrew the base to retrieve them.
All in all I think this item is good value for money.
You get what you pay for of course, but if you want a professional quality photo studio, then you are going to have to pay considerably more than this for one, so if you are on a budget this is fine.
And yes the back-cloths will need to be ironed before use, but this is no real disadvantage, and folding the cloths keeps them safer in transit.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2010
this product comes in its handy carry bag, perfect for products and the good thing that you can change the colours as this comes with a choice of coloured cloth. easy to set up no hassle
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2010
I love this little piece of equipment.
It is good for photographing any items you may wish to sell or for insurance purposes.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2011
excellent and well worth the money bought it for my son whom is an avid budding photographer and was well pleased with this item for christmas. it has all that you require, very easy to set up and well made indeed, he has used this and wouldnt want to be without it now.great product indeed!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
...could be better.

I really liked the fact that the whole kit packs up into a small easily portable package - definitely a plus there.

I have a Canon DSLR and the camera support can take the weight except that the ball & socket are too small to hold the camera in a fixed position, and the camera droops. Next time I will use a separate tripod.

The lights do smell of hot plastic quite quickly, and aren't really powerful enough for the job, so I will replace them with LEDs soon.

For the price I got a complete package, and I could take photos after about 10 minutes of setting it up - and next time will only take 5 minutes to setup. It generally meets my needs and I already have a small tripod so overall I'm pleased with what I received, and just have a concern over the lights, which I will replace soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2012
I bought this as a gift and it went down a storm. Its light weight and easy set up design is ideal for product advertising / images as well as being portable and storage compartments for the accessories is perfect.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)