Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They broke the mould, 1 July 2009
By 
Kevin Taylor (Hinckley, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clough - The Brian Clough Story [DVD] (DVD)
As a Sunderland fan Brian was my boyhood hero and although I had watched this programme when it was aired on TV I bought the dvd as I knew that l would watch it again and again and it also contains some extra bits which were not shown on TV.
He was a unique man and I am sure there will never be anyone like him again. His wife made the statement that he was the best manager that England never had but I think that he was just the best English Manager that there ever was.
If you are interested in Clough or just interested in football this is fascinating stuff, although not the full story of his life by any means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instinct, humour, courage .. the real Cloughie, 23 Aug 2010
By 
Gareth Smyth "Enjilos" (County Mayo, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clough - The Brian Clough Story [DVD] (DVD)
I've watched this three times since I bought it and I am sure will watch it many more. I'm sure I will never do so without a tear or two on my cheek.

Along with the programme that Brian Moore did many years ago - can't remember the name of it - this is a moving tribute to Brian Clough, and a true reflection of his greatness. Some of it follows Nigel Clough, including his appointment as manager at Derby, as he remembers his father, and there are also excellent snatches of interviews with Barbara Clough.

It appears the DVD was released as a balance to - or maybe to cash in on the interest in - the film "Damned United" but I'm sure it will be watched long after the Damned United is forgotten. The real story about Clough is not Leeds (although the TV exchange with Don Revie, chaired by Austin Mitchell and included on the DVD, is engrossing) but Derby and Nottingham Forest. Hence the interviews with Roy McFarland, Kenny Burns, Trevor Francis, Peter Shilton, Martin O Neill, John Robertson and John McGovern are excellent. "He wasn't my kind of bloke, and I wouldn't go out for a pint with him," says McGovern, "but play for him ? To play for him I'd walk across the Sahara desert."

Yes, the DVD could have been longer and taken in Clough's later success with teams that featured the likes of Stuart Pearce and Roy Keane. But it nonetheless highlights the achievements of the outstanding manager in an era where instinct and insight could trump money, and when humour and courage could light up the English game.

Priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Six Stars and counting., 1 July 2009
This review is from: Clough - The Brian Clough Story [DVD] (DVD)
If you were an admirer of Mr.Clough then you'll love this. It charts the end of his playing career all the way to his back-to-back European Cup days with Nottingham Forest. It was made by ITV in response to the very 'bad press' given to Cloughie in that Satanic verse of a book called the Damned United, which apparently was a book of faction about his days at Leeds United.

The DVD has two great interviews with Austin Mitchell and journalists on his arrival at Leeds United and one directly after. It clearly sets the record straight on the issue and forms a great tribute from ITV to the Clough family as a whole as they are shown paying tribute to their father. The Clough family are mainly represented in the interviews by 'Our number 9', Nigel Clough and his mum Barbara.

As a Forest supporter from Burton-upon-Trent I cannot give the DVD high enough praise as the Clough family are local heroes. I was only disappointed that the DVD was not longer and could celebrate the great teams that came after 1980. I couldn't help feeling that a multitude of players would want to be on a tribute DVD to give their stories of the great character he was. I would have been keen to here the acknowledgement of help given to their careers from Neil Webb, Steve Hodge, Stuart Pearce, Des Walker, Roy Keane and so on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable and informative, 25 Jan 2012
By 
Fi (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clough - The Brian Clough Story [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this as a Christmas gift for my husband. As he has always liked Brian Clough, I thought that he would like it. We watched it together and both enjoyed it very much(surprising for me, considering that I don't care too much for football!) I did particularly enjoy the interviews with Brian's wife Barbara where she speaks warmly of their life together. A very touching story and would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RileyBoyReview, 21 Aug 2009
By 
A. J. Riley (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clough - The Brian Clough Story [DVD] (DVD)
Superb.Gives a different side of the story to The Damned United.Genuine interviewees such as Mrs Clough,Nigel,Johnny Giles and the Greatest Living Yorkshireman,Sir Geoffrey Boycott give a well balanced and genuine view of the great man.Excellent extras too with an interview after he was sacked by Leeds and a fascinating debate between Clough and Revie in which Cloughie verbally destroys the Don.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Clough - The Best Ever England Manager Who Never Was, 5 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clough - The Brian Clough Story [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD covers everything concerning Brian Clough's climb to the very highest level in the football world.
It covers also the release of the book and the film 'Damned United'
and compares and explains the huge differences between both.
This DVD is football history never to be equalled, Brian Clough took a small virtual non-league team at the time Nottingham Forest; within under a five year period to become European Champions (Two years in a row), this feat of a normal UK domestic league team away from the big four becoming champions of Europe will never ever be able to happen again and never will.
The DVD shows in depth what all true football fans knew already that because Brian Clough was not a 'Yes Man' the F.A. even though he was the best manager in the country; blocked him from becoming the England manager. "People in high authority are scared of experience, knowhow and success" by an individual doing things his own way.
The DVD is at the end very sad, I had a tear in my eye, knowing that Brian Clough was a outspoken footballing genius who was corruptly and unfairly blocked out of the job he wanted so dearly the England job and to many people all over the world have stated that if he was in charge of the national team then, England would have won the world cup again and again.
For any real football fan of any age this DVD is a must buy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought this for my dad - a football fan, 26 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clough - The Brian Clough Story [DVD] (DVD)
Interesting and informative documentary about Clough's career with a touch of his private life where relevant. Would recommend to anyone interested in learning more about Brian Clough. Interesting insight into 70s football management - not really relevant today as the world has changed so much. Not too long nor too short. Good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible viewing., 6 Dec 2011
This review is from: Clough - The Brian Clough Story [DVD] (DVD)
This had me transfixed from start to finish when i first saw it on TV a few years ago, so much so that i snapped up the DVD as soon as it was released. Brilliantly put together, it tells Cloughie's life story through the eyes of his family, friends, celebrities and former players/ staff. It had me roaring with laughter and totally intrigued. I don't mind admitting that it also bought a lump to the throat on more than one occasion. This is one of those rare football films, which make you put your footballing alligiances to the side and has you glued to the screen in plain awe.

Brian Clough was a total enigma, a complete one off and the world has been a much sadder place since his untimely passing.

Pure Gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Brian Clough story, 1 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: Clough - The Brian Clough Story [DVD] (DVD)
This film as expected was full of insightful anecdotes + stories of the great man's life. You dont have to b a fan of football to view Brian Clough as an absolute hero
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars impressive story, 29 July 2011
This review is from: Clough - The Brian Clough Story [DVD] (DVD)
Although very little knowledge of soccer, this dvd impressed me very much. Bought this dvd toghether with the film "The damned United", a more romantic view on Clough. This documentary showes a very honest and at times moving story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clough - The Brian Clough Story  [DVD]
Clough - The Brian Clough Story [DVD] by James Williams (DVD - 2009)
8.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews