Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
If you've worked in IT or a call centre, if you spoken to someone on the end of the phone in India you'll appreciate this. Co-written by one fourth of Goodness Gracious Me Sanjeev Bhaskar this is witty, at the least very amusing sitcom which is well acted and with brilliant timing. It great to see a comedy series that's funny - usually these tend to be scarce on ITV - a...
Published on 17 July 2009 by G. M. Radcliffe

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Middling call centre comedy
Middling comedy. Under-developed. Outsourced comes out a little better as a call centre sitcom, though I infinitely prefer the attitude of the characters here which is not to grovel before their U.K. bosses and customers which is what happens in Outsourced, except there the customers are American, making it that much more annoying.
Published 16 months ago by Lovy Pradeep


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 17 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Mumbai Calling: Season One [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
If you've worked in IT or a call centre, if you spoken to someone on the end of the phone in India you'll appreciate this. Co-written by one fourth of Goodness Gracious Me Sanjeev Bhaskar this is witty, at the least very amusing sitcom which is well acted and with brilliant timing. It great to see a comedy series that's funny - usually these tend to be scarce on ITV - a channel not overflowing with really great comedies - but this ones a winner. I recommend this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mumbai Calling - DVD Review, 23 Feb 2013
By 
S. Moresi - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mumbai Calling: Season One [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
The dvd features all 7 episodes of the 1st series on 2 dvd's.
Dvd 1:
Episode 1: Teknobable
Episode 2: Home Comforts
Episode 3: Good Sellers
Episode 4: Boy to Man
Episode 5: Dating Season
Dvd 2:
Episode 6: My Mate Mumbai
Episode 7: All that Glitters Is Not Glass
Special Features:
The Making of Mumbai Calling (Running time: 1:07:24):
- Commentary by Nitin Ganatra & Allan McKeown w/english subtitles
- Behind the scenes
- Addtional material
- Outtakes
- Deleted Scenes
- Scene Stand Ins w/Tracey Ullman
- Bloopers
Mumbai Calling Promo (Running time: 3:19)
Interview with Sanjeev Bhaskar and Nitin Ganatra (Running time: 14:06) w/english subtitles

They did not include the pilot episode they shot 1 1/2 years ealier for ITV. This is a shame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, isn't it?, 5 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mumbai Calling: Season One [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Mumbai Calling is one of the funnier TV comedies in recent years, as well as a commentary on the clash between British and Indian business work- and business culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 15 Nov 2011
This review is from: Mumbai Calling: Season One [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Excellent series!. Sanjiv as usual at his humourous best- he sure acts well. Waiting for Mumbai Calling 2. Those who have enjoyed Kumars at No 42 are sure going to like this as well. Daisy Beaumont and Nitin Ganatra too put in a good performance. Script is quite funny and catchy. Already seen it twice. Anyone who likes comedies, is aware of the culture in telecall centres will enjoy this. It is filmed in Mumbai and all the 'staff' at the centre put in an excellent performance as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very funny., 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mumbai Calling: Season One [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Great family entertainment with both eastern and western jokes. With an understanding of both cultures it ensured twice the number of laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars had a great fun!, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mumbai Calling: Season One [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Really loved it, funny and witty. Plus reflects well on life of Calling Centres :) have to say, now I behave more polite when I receive a call from them :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mumbai Calling, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mumbai Calling: Season One [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I found this a very funny series on tv and bought it for a friend who also thought it was very amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mumbai Calling - A good laugh, 7 Oct 2012
By 
Ryans Mum (Darwin, N T, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mumbai Calling: Season One [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I watched this DVD that my friend borrowed from our local library a couple of months ago. We enjoyed it so much that I had to buy a copy for myself.

We are travelling to India next month and so it is also useful for research - I always check out "the making of .." sections on DVDs.

We really wish the team had made some more episodes as you thoroughly enjoy the situations and it helps you appreciate the cultural differences we have.

I have watched the series again with another friend and she also enjoyed it.

Highly recommended watch.

Mumbai Calling - Series 1 [DVD] [2009]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well fun!, 14 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mumbai Calling: Season One [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Love this one! The British and Indian humour mixed together is outstandingly hillarious! The lines of the call centre employees crack me up every time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rarity among itv comedies, 13 Sep 2011
By 
K. J. Woods (johnstone) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mumbai Calling: Season One [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
There is something odd about this, it says it is an ITV show but it includes some actual jokes. Who couldn't laugh at Richard E Grant as Hamlet PI for example. And every episode is punctuated by random insane calls designed for the sole purpose of making you laugh. Among the best comedy shows nobody has ever heard of, even when it was on it qualified as this. Even the character names are funny Rupert De Beers anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mumbai Calling: Season One [DVD] [2009]
Mumbai Calling: Season One [DVD] [2009] by Sanjeev Bhaskar (DVD - 2009)
£11.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews