Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly superb
The Age of Stupid is a film about climate change, but it's not An Inconvenient Truth: Part Deux. Whereas the purpose of Al Gore's 2006 box office hit was to shake us from our slumber of self-comforting denial, Stupid is designed to take hold of our heads and smash our faces repeatedly into a table until we get up and do things differently.

It's indicative of...
Published on 3 Oct. 2009 by Rob

versus
25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars loses its focus
There are 2 things that don't work about this film. First, it presents the huge problem but no solutions that the individual can grasp onto, and therefore, like so much media on the issue of global warming, it leaves the viewer with a very disempowered feeling. Luckily, when I saw it, there was someone from the team who had made it to give a talk which was far more...
Published on 7 Jun. 2009 by Southbucksman


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The future looks bleak for our grand children, 2 Oct. 2010
By 
rossuk (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Age of Stupid [DVD] (DVD)
The film is in documentary format and is more about consumerism than global warming. The film is set in 2055, 50 years ahead of 2005 where most of data comes. The big problem with global warming is that there is about a 40 year time lag before we see the effects of what we have done today which will affect our grand kids. The message of the film is that we have to act now to avoid a runaway increase in temperature of 6 deg. Some of the affects of global warming were that the Sahara desert is increasing by three miles per year; a glacier near Mt Blanc that dropped by 145m since 1945 and in Alaska the average winter temperature has increased by 4 degrees since the 1960's. Global warming will increase larger hurricanes like Katrina in 2005, because of higher ocean temperature.

The future looks bleak because of consumerism; India and China are becoming consumer countries, they are hardly likely to reduce carbon emissions, China is building a new power station every three days. The example given in India is a man setting up a low cost airline, he is buying 26 planes to add to India's 200 planes, China has 800, and SW airline in America has 417. Going in a plane has a very large carbon footprint. America the biggest polluter is hardly going to reduce its emissions.

Examples of stupidity in the film were the British who did not like wind farms in their back yard. 80% of planning applications for wind farms are turned down, if they were accepted then we would have 10% of our power from wind. If we do not like wind farms how can we ask the developing world to cut down. The squandering of our oil resources, which are limited, but our consumer society relies on oil, we are nearing peak production. Near Mt Blanc there is the tunnel to Italy, the French send potatoes to Italy by truck to be made into mash, and then brought back. The French also send milk to Italy by truck and back to France as Yoghurt, this is madness. Then there are the gas flares in Nigeria which emit 70 million stones a year of CO2.

It shows how oil is worth fighting for as in Iraq and it cover two Iraqi children who fled to Jordan.

The film proposes carbon rationing as a solution, but this will be too late. As climate change starts to hit us and resources get low, it is obvious that wars will take place. The future looks bleak for our grand children, will we act now, I doubt it.

The DVD is worth buying; it is a bit slow, so only 4 stars. It is very thought provoking and worth getting. The packaging is in paper and there is a bonus DVD (not very good). It comes with hilarious stickers, saying "Stupid" that you should not put on cheap airline ads or on 4x4's.

For an antidote to global warming fever see The Great Global Warming Swindle [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will it motivate though?, 1 Sept. 2010
By 
Duff Duff (South Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Age of Stupid [DVD] (DVD)
:)
An outstanding piece of documentary work, that relevantly conveys the issue of 'human induced climate change', pollution, over population and the impending destruction of ourselves and the Earth as we know it.

I'm not going to talk about actors, cinematography, directors or any of that guff suffice to say that it is all very good. It is secondary however, to the real intent of this movie which is to communicate an extremely important set of ideas to you the viewer and foster independant thinking.

A well balanced piece of work that illustrates both what we are doing and also goes some way to exposing the system that cultivates the continuance of these destructive actions.

To qualify I am going to detail where I thought it lacked and but it really is a mark down of only a couple of percent say 95/100 for an overall score!

Whilst some docos previosly have been accused of being overly dramatised/emotional as a seller I think this one was let down by not detailing heavily enough the real 'in your face, day to day' impact of what we are heading for which may have served to motivate more viewers into action. That said it certainly will inspire the average person (consumer) who has viewed this work to go forth and commence (perhaps for the 1st time in their lives) having analytical thoughts about the choices they are making as consumers and the real impact of those decisions.

Recommended for all ages

Side note :- As a cultural driving force in Australia it has been let down miserably by virtue of no premiere or marketing etc, which is a real shame. (I only came across this movie through Amazon and then really struggled to find and import the applicable region DVD).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A warning to look after our planet, 4 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Age of Stupid [DVD] (DVD)
This is a 'docu film' set in the future when the ravages of global warming have ruined the planet for human habitation. All the pre 2009 footage is actual documentary and the many interviews with scientists and others are real.
It is not an 'easy watch' but a stark warning of the problems caused by human greed which are going to have a huge impact on the future. Very damning to the oil industry and to the 'not in our back yard' attitude to alternative power sources.
We are living in the 'Age of Stupid' our actions now may well decide the future of the human race. Films like 'Mad Max' and 'Water world' may not be so fictional after all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The world is not enough, 16 Jan. 2011
By 
Jago Wells - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Age of Stupid [DVD] (DVD)
This is a first class film in almost every way and a fitting tribute to the late Pete Postlethwaite. However,its impact is somewhat diluted by its rather superficial and totally irrelevant championing of wind power and that industry's contribution to reducing Co2 emmissions.
The more cynical will have noticed that Piers and his nice middle class family,having FLOWN back from the Alps to their nice smallholding in Cornwall wants to build a 15 turbine wind farm in the flatlands of Bedfordshire. Approximately 200 miles away from Piers. Of course Piers stands to make millions by selling his expensive electricity to the energy companies who are forced by government policy to buy at least 15% of its electricity from so called renewable sources. It's a licence to print money and little wonder that global energy corporations are gathering like swine around a feeding trough to take advantage of the UK's governments largesse!
Thankfully,the people who actually live in Bedfordshire see Piers little business venture kicked into the long grass by the planning committee who can see the project for what it is.

The film absolutely correctly pin points the real problems which face us chiefly an out of control population explosion,rampant materialism and industrialisation and a huge growth in air and car travel. Expecting wind farms to save us from global warming is like trying to reduce the water level of Lake Windermere with a tea spoon ! While businessman like Piers try to convince the gullible that his enterprises are actually based on altruistic motives and have nothing to do with making hefty profits. Profits incidentally made on the back of millions of the UK's poorest members of society who will be pushed into fuel poverty. The real problem...too many people consuming too much..will continue.

It would have been a great film without the energy corporations propaganda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very educational but also depressing, 1 Nov. 2009
By 
Rajen J. Shah (London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Age of Stupid [DVD] (DVD)
My first attraction to the movie was its "enviromental" theme, and the second was the fact that it was made with grassroots funding. Therefore, I would say that the overall intention was not money but to make a difference.

I really loved the movie because it really got my juices going. I am very confortable with environmental issues and so saw how the different interviews and videos that Franny Armstrong had taken over the years were weaved into a very compelling documentary.

I must say that at the end it left me feeling quite shaken and a little helpless. The world seems to be so focused on exploiting anything that it can for financial gain, at the expense of the environment and people, that the scale of the problems feels totally overwhelming. But, after spending some time discussing the movie with my family, we got to a point where we started saying over and over again "We must do something".

It is that kind of movie. Totally captivating for 90 minutes and a definite kick on the backside to go and do something about it instead of waiting for the government to do something for us.

I would not recommend it for a younger audience without the presense of someone who can raise a discussion afterwards to explain some of the things in the movie. For the unsophisticated audience, i.e. one that is not too familiar with environmental issues, it can be quite a downer. But, I believe everyone should watch it and then spend a day or a week reflecting on what we are leaving behind for the next generations - our children and grand-children.

Well done Team Stupid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, it's that important, 31 Oct. 2009
This review is from: The Age of Stupid [DVD] (DVD)
In the past few years there seems to be more and more documentaries that talk about climate change. The reason, of course, is that we just don't seem to get it; our Western lifestyles are killing our civilisation's prospects for a future.

This film, however, takes an approach largely unique in conveying this same message. For once, it shows that the future world we may be living in, if we fail to take concerted and direct action today, is a future that many alive will live to see. It is not something for our grandchildren, it is something that I, as a 26 year old, will live through. The way The Age of Stupid invokes this reality is through real people alive today who all have inconsistencies in the way they live their lives despite their desire to do good. It is facing these inconsistencies in the face and doing something about them that this film shows so well.

Does the film provide an answer to the problem? No, that's what the Not Stupid and 10:10 campaigns are for. It simply presents the most powerful and succinct message we have ever received on the need for action. See it now as fictional account of the road ahead or in the future as an explanation of the past. I hope we all prefer it stays as fiction and you are motivated at the end to seriously start rethinking your lifestyle choices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting look at the world, 1 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Age of Stupid [DVD] (DVD)
Featuring the late Pete Postlethwaite this DVD gives a well researched and delivered look at the world and its declining state. Plenty of videos and facts to back up the argument, very interesting watch for anyone interested in how the world ticks. Great watch, don't feel too down after it! but appreciate its message!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be stupid - watch this film & act!, 31 Oct. 2009
By 
W. methven "Freewilly" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Age of Stupid [DVD] (DVD)
An improvement on An Inconvenient Truth - not that it was a bad film, just incongruent when you have the former VP of America driving around in a 4x4 bewailing climate change. Doh!
Stupid is a great effort in giving the issue of climate change a human face by profiling people across the globe from USA to India & how they have been affected. I particularly liked the 80 yr old French mountain guide reflecting on the disappearing glaciers in his beloved Alps & protesting against the heavy traffic that comes through his village to bring food from all round the world to excite our jaded palates. A very human film.
Every time I watch it I get a lump in my throat at the end when Pete P asks why we didn't do more to tackle climate change "maybe at some level we felt we weren't worth it?" Well are we worth it? Good question...........
Watch the film & ask yourself this question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Watch this and make up - if not wake up - your own mind..., 25 Mar. 2012
By 
D. Delacovias (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Age of Stupid [DVD] (DVD)
This should be watched by anyone who has ANY interest in why things are not as they could OR should be. No matter what any of us "think" about global warming - especially as we look at the record breaking phenomena of the last decade - it would be at least wise to remember that it is NOT the Planet that is in danger and that Mother Nature doesn't do "bail outs" or "quantitative easing"....

The negative "reviewers" and/or "deniers" sadly suffer from delusions of adequacy as a human beings. They should try getting a real life as the arrogant ignorance of these "people" is only second to the stupid, criminally insane ponzi/casino/big mac/cocacola/mindless debt fuelled consumption, sub prime mentality and ALL those absurd - even obscene - hypocritical, hair shirt "prophecies" and religions that have brought us to this sad state of affairs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars everyone needs to see this film!, 1 Nov. 2009
By 
C. Fraser (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Age of Stupid [DVD] (DVD)
i was fortunate to be able to see this film at a local arthouse cinema preview back in the summer and currently have a few copies on order so i can spread the word this christmas. this is a truly outstanding piece of work by the team who gave us 'McLibel', a truly harrowing wake up call for anyone who still needs convincing (yes, there really are STILL some people out there who are denying it!) that climate change is happening and that we really are about to just wipe this planet out if we don't take drastic action NOW. it is, inevitably, incredibly moving, beautifully shot and as an added bonus, has the wonderful Pete Postlethwaite for added joy. Please, please see this film and make sure everyone you know does - if you have kids, consider it your duty to educate the next generation, if we don't, there really won't be a planet for them to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Age of Stupid  [DVD]
The Age of Stupid [DVD] by Franny Armstrong (DVD - 2009)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews