Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly superb
The Age of Stupid is a film about climate change, but it's not An Inconvenient Truth: Part Deux. Whereas the purpose of Al Gore's 2006 box office hit was to shake us from our slumber of self-comforting denial, Stupid is designed to take hold of our heads and smash our faces repeatedly into a table until we get up and do things differently.

It's indicative of...
Published on 3 Oct 2009 by Rob

versus
25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars loses its focus
There are 2 things that don't work about this film. First, it presents the huge problem but no solutions that the individual can grasp onto, and therefore, like so much media on the issue of global warming, it leaves the viewer with a very disempowered feeling. Luckily, when I saw it, there was someone from the team who had made it to give a talk which was far more...
Published on 7 Jun 2009 by Ellen Neumann


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST SEE for everyone, 1 July 2010
This review is from: The Age of Stupid [DVD] (DVD)
Unless someone is living in denial and has no feelings about what is happening in the world this film is a 'must see'. If someone is unsure about the facts this is a good place to start. If you do a bit of research yourself you'll find the evidence for everything that is said in the film. One of the best things about this film, particularly in comparison to the dry approach of say 'An inconvenient truth' is that it doesn't just try to preach a "we are all doomed" message but give positive ideas about how we can solve the problems IF we ALL work at it. It is a project for the human race as a whole and our survival probably depends on the action everyone is taking, even if it is only in a small way. It is also entertaining to watch. It is poignant, oddly humourous and very informative. Don't miss out on the bonus features either. The two scientists talking give some extremely valuable extra insights regarding the "population bottleneck" and our oil-dependent economies etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The future looks bleak for our grand children, 2 Oct 2010
By 
rossuk (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Age of Stupid [DVD] (DVD)
The film is in documentary format and is more about consumerism than global warming. The film is set in 2055, 50 years ahead of 2005 where most of data comes. The big problem with global warming is that there is about a 40 year time lag before we see the effects of what we have done today which will affect our grand kids. The message of the film is that we have to act now to avoid a runaway increase in temperature of 6 deg. Some of the affects of global warming were that the Sahara desert is increasing by three miles per year; a glacier near Mt Blanc that dropped by 145m since 1945 and in Alaska the average winter temperature has increased by 4 degrees since the 1960's. Global warming will increase larger hurricanes like Katrina in 2005, because of higher ocean temperature.

The future looks bleak because of consumerism; India and China are becoming consumer countries, they are hardly likely to reduce carbon emissions, China is building a new power station every three days. The example given in India is a man setting up a low cost airline, he is buying 26 planes to add to India's 200 planes, China has 800, and SW airline in America has 417. Going in a plane has a very large carbon footprint. America the biggest polluter is hardly going to reduce its emissions.

Examples of stupidity in the film were the British who did not like wind farms in their back yard. 80% of planning applications for wind farms are turned down, if they were accepted then we would have 10% of our power from wind. If we do not like wind farms how can we ask the developing world to cut down. The squandering of our oil resources, which are limited, but our consumer society relies on oil, we are nearing peak production. Near Mt Blanc there is the tunnel to Italy, the French send potatoes to Italy by truck to be made into mash, and then brought back. The French also send milk to Italy by truck and back to France as Yoghurt, this is madness. Then there are the gas flares in Nigeria which emit 70 million stones a year of CO2.

It shows how oil is worth fighting for as in Iraq and it cover two Iraqi children who fled to Jordan.

The film proposes carbon rationing as a solution, but this will be too late. As climate change starts to hit us and resources get low, it is obvious that wars will take place. The future looks bleak for our grand children, will we act now, I doubt it.

The DVD is worth buying; it is a bit slow, so only 4 stars. It is very thought provoking and worth getting. The packaging is in paper and there is a bonus DVD (not very good). It comes with hilarious stickers, saying "Stupid" that you should not put on cheap airline ads or on 4x4's.

For an antidote to global warming fever see The Great Global Warming Swindle [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will it motivate though?, 1 Sep 2010
By 
Duff Duff (South Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Age of Stupid [DVD] (DVD)
:)
An outstanding piece of documentary work, that relevantly conveys the issue of 'human induced climate change', pollution, over population and the impending destruction of ourselves and the Earth as we know it.

I'm not going to talk about actors, cinematography, directors or any of that guff suffice to say that it is all very good. It is secondary however, to the real intent of this movie which is to communicate an extremely important set of ideas to you the viewer and foster independant thinking.

A well balanced piece of work that illustrates both what we are doing and also goes some way to exposing the system that cultivates the continuance of these destructive actions.

To qualify I am going to detail where I thought it lacked and but it really is a mark down of only a couple of percent say 95/100 for an overall score!

Whilst some docos previosly have been accused of being overly dramatised/emotional as a seller I think this one was let down by not detailing heavily enough the real 'in your face, day to day' impact of what we are heading for which may have served to motivate more viewers into action. That said it certainly will inspire the average person (consumer) who has viewed this work to go forth and commence (perhaps for the 1st time in their lives) having analytical thoughts about the choices they are making as consumers and the real impact of those decisions.

Recommended for all ages

Side note :- As a cultural driving force in Australia it has been let down miserably by virtue of no premiere or marketing etc, which is a real shame. (I only came across this movie through Amazon and then really struggled to find and import the applicable region DVD).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - we are so selfish, 10 May 2014
By 
Barry Oakland "Bazmataz" (Hernia Bay, Kent, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Age of Stupid [DVD] (DVD)
Highly recommended, just makes you realise how unintelligent we are! PP is a master, sorely missed. ghrdh rhtdh dsd ag
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not enough information, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Age of Stupid [DVD] (DVD)
I bought the DVD especially for Year 5/6 children at the Primary School where I work. This was recommended for viewing by the supporters of Climate Week, which happened at the beginning of March. While buying online, I felt there was not enough information availabe for buyers to make the decision if it was suitable for viewing for the age range of children it was required for. It was only when I watched it myself that I realised it was not suitable them to view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great resource., 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Age of Stupid [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent documentary. Well put together & presented. Has been used successfully in a classroom for sustainability / climate change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-see!, 4 Jan 2014
By 
Miguel Dias "MD" (Coimbra, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Age of Stupid [DVD] (DVD)
It's an excellent film about Global Warming. Especially the opening sequence with the Global Arquive located in a not distant future marked by the consequences of Global Warming is very thought-provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A confusing message, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Age of Stupid [DVD] (DVD)
Heard a lot about it.
I found some of the sub-stories, especially the Indian Airline boss, very contradictory to the overall message. I would not recommend it to people who doubt climate change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and instructive film, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Age of Stupid [DVD] (DVD)
Very interesting and educational film. I'd reccomend it to anyone who wants to know a little more about the changes humanity is inflicting to our planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Watch this and make up - if not wake up - your own mind..., 25 Mar 2012
By 
D. Delacovias (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Age of Stupid [DVD] (DVD)
This should be watched by anyone who has ANY interest in why things are not as they could OR should be. No matter what any of us "think" about global warming - especially as we look at the record breaking phenomena of the last decade - it would be at least wise to remember that it is NOT the Planet that is in danger and that Mother Nature doesn't do "bail outs" or "quantitative easing"....

The negative "reviewers" and/or "deniers" sadly suffer from delusions of adequacy as a human beings. They should try getting a real life as the arrogant ignorance of these "people" is only second to the stupid, criminally insane ponzi/casino/big mac/cocacola/mindless debt fuelled consumption, sub prime mentality and ALL those absurd - even obscene - hypocritical, hair shirt "prophecies" and religions that have brought us to this sad state of affairs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Age of Stupid  [DVD]
The Age of Stupid [DVD] by Franny Armstrong (DVD - 2009)
8.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews