Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Value - Rarities, Hits and so much more!, 4 Feb 2003
This review is from: 25 Movie Greats (Audio CD)
This collection brings together some of Doris Day's best soundtrack songs and cover versions of popular movie tunes.
The CD release by Sony Music England is aimed to give fans ultra-value for money, much like its sister-release from 1998 "Best of Doris Day" (Cat # 4837222). It also features a mino bio and some pretty pictures!
Additionally, and most importantly it highlights some beautiful recordings from Doris's "You'll Never Walk Alone", "Annie Get Your Gun" and "With a Smile and A Song" studio albums including 4 songs which debut on CD format in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant compilation of movie songs, 4 Feb 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 25 Movie Greats (Audio CD)
With the possible exception of Barbra Streisand, Doris was the most successful singer-actress of the twentieth century - and I'm referring to those who were equally regarded as both singers and actresses. This compilation features many songs from movies that Doris starred in, but it also includes songs from other movies that Doris recorded simply because she wanted to.
Although this is not a greatest hits package, it features several songs that became big hits for Doris including Move over darling (a UK top ten hit in the sixties), Whatever will be will be and Secret love (both UK number one hits) although Black hills of Dakota and I'll never stop loving you are among her hits that are missing despite their use in soundtracks.
Of the movies that Doris starred in, Calamity Jane is represented by Secret love and The deadwood stage. Other songs from her own movies included here are It's magic, Move over darling, Tunnel of love, Pillow talk, Teacher's pet and Whatever will be will be - but a lot of her own movie songs have been omitted to make way for covers of other movie songs including Let's face the music and dance, Three coins in the fountain, Singing in the rain, You'll never walk alone, The sound of music, White Christmas and High hopes.
It is worth noting that many of these songs are also available on another UK compilation, 41 Hollywood greats, which is also a collection of songs from the movies.
This is a magnificent collection but if you're looking for the definitive collection of Doris Day's songs from the movies she acted and sang in, this isn't it. Indeed, I'm not sure that such a collection has been released. Just enjoy this collection for what it is - a brilliant selection of movie songs generally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great selection, great movies, 12 Nov 2004
This review is from: 25 Movie Greats (Audio CD)
Doris' voice on this cd is so good, and she sings all the different songs so well that you wonder why she was never cast in the roles anyway. She sings the 'Sound of Music' beautifully, and 'Anything you can do I can do better' really well also. It's a lovely collection and its great to hear how talented she was. And its good to sing along to as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 25 Top Tracks., 5 Mar 2014
By 
J. M. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Movie Greats (Audio CD)
Excellent Columbia recording with Doris singing "You'll never walk alone" which I have never heard her sing on CD before. Liverpool FC fans should all go for this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD INTRODUCTION, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Movie Greats [Clean] (MP3 Download)
IT DOES WHAT IT SAYS ON THE TIN ! A NICE SELECTION OF SONGS AND A GOOD INTRODUCTION TO HER VOICE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful lady at her best, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Movie Greats (Audio CD)
Doris Day has been a lifelong favourite, never tire of listening to her but this CD of movie greats together on one CD excels. What a lovely person she is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Doris Day - That Voice!, 11 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Movie Greats (Audio CD)
Doris Day is a legend on at least three fronts: films, television and music. This CD showcases Day's gorgeous voice to perfection as she sings well-known songs from the movies. It is a real pleasure to listen to Miss Day on any CD because her distinctive singing style is perfectly suited to repeated listening and particularly on songs that are as classic as the singer herself. This CD would be a joy for any music listener who treasures good music in general and those who adore Miss Day in particular. In addition, highly recommended are what are arguably Miss Day's best albums: "My Heart" (released in 2011), "The Love Album" and "Duet", all three of which on their own would ensure her musical legacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A "Must" for Doris Day fans, 15 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Movie Greats (Audio CD)
I had this album as an LP; following the demise of my Record Player, I was only too delighted to be able to replace the LP with this DVD and enjjoy once again the classic collection of many of DD's better-known songs from the movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars doberman, 26 Oct 2011
This review is from: 25 Movie Greats (Audio CD)
Maybe I shouldnt be writing this review, but being an old codger and a fan of Doris Day for longer than I can remember DD can do no wrong. If you enjoy easy listening this could be the CD for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doris at her best, 11 Oct 2011
This review is from: 25 Movie Greats (Audio CD)
Brought back many happy memories for my wife and i of our courtingtdays.Her voice was always great and she was always the
girl next door. I suppose it is the sentimentality of old age.
Anybody who likes Doris will love this C. D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

25 Movie Greats [Clean]
Buy MP3 Album£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews