Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't forget Paul Desmond!
An album that is a classic...not in the Miles Davis Kind of Blue kind of way...more in the Keith Jarret Koln Concert kind of way. That is it captures a small moment - a snipet of a large volume of talent, but in this case all written and recorded in early 60's whilst touring Japan. The influence is remarkable. The album is worth getting for just one wonderful track -...
Published on 28 Oct 2007 by Paul O'Connor

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dave Brubeck's impressions of Japan
Among the many Brubeck cd's,this I think,is one of the least "I must have albums".More impressionistic than out and out jazz,and the playing time is woeful.
Published on 9 Dec 2010 by D. H. Rimmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't forget Paul Desmond!, 28 Oct 2007
By 
Paul O'Connor (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An album that is a classic...not in the Miles Davis Kind of Blue kind of way...more in the Keith Jarret Koln Concert kind of way. That is it captures a small moment - a snipet of a large volume of talent, but in this case all written and recorded in early 60's whilst touring Japan. The influence is remarkable. The album is worth getting for just one wonderful track - Fujiyama - which has remained in my Desert Island Discs for four decades now, this is genius saxophonist Paul Desmond at his very best. Here we have 2am saxophone at its most expressive. How Fujiyama has never made it as a movie soundtrack I'll never know...someone out there should listen to it, take it all in, feel the goose bumps and make a beautiful movie sequence around it. Sigh......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've known and loved this music most of my life, 17 Oct 2008
By 
Jeepers (South of England) - See all my reviews
I first listened to this music on my father's original vinyl, when I was a child. Over the years, I've since bought my own copy of the vinyl as well as the CD. I'm not going to get into any technical sound differences as they're not really material to me in this instance. The music is variously haunting and uplifting, and it will certainly transport you to another time and place when you sit and listen to it. And it does deserve quiet sitting and listening, if it's the first time you've heard it. If you can read music and are so inclined, hunting out a piano transcription and reading (or even playing along, if you're talented!) as you listen is quite a fun exercise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars West meets East with exquisite results, 20 Feb 2004
Dave Brubeck is, in my opinion, a living genius. I have seen him live twice in the last few years and am going again later this year. His most successful album 'Time Out' contains many of his signature tunes that would be instantly recognisable to all, but the man has written an astonishing amount of material beyond these.
The tracks on this album may not be amongst his signature tunes, but are arguably a better sign of his genius. Taking inspiration from oriental sounds and tunes, Dave Brubeck writes brilliant, accessible American Jazz with a definite Eastern flavour. The tracks complement each other brilliantly too, the opening Tokyo Traffic and Toki's Theme for instance are full of catchy melodies and rhythmic vitality (I particularly like the pitched, rhythmic sounds that play the melody alongside the piano in Tokyo Traffic), but are surrounded by more atmospheric pieces.
A superb album, an encaptivating and enjoyable listen, and a superb demonstration of Jazz that can be enjoyed by the mainstream as well as the jazz connoisseur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An overlooked Dave Brubeck Quartet album from 1964., 11 Dec 2012
By 
Jazzrook (Purbrook , Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Impressions Of Japan (Audio CD)
This little-known quartet album from pianist/composer Dave Brubeck(1920-2012) was recorded in June, 1964 and inspired by a tour of Japan a few months earlier.
With Brubeck on piano were altoist Paul Desmond, bassist Eugene Wright and drummer Joe Morello who'd been together since the late 1950s.
Brubeck's teacher, the composer Darius Milhaud, advised him to "travel the world and keep your ears open" which is evident on these 8 memorable Eastern-influenced tracks. Highlights include 'Fujiyama', 'Osaka Blues' & 'The City Is Crying' which features a beautiful alto solo from Paul Desmond.
Despite the short playing time of 35 minutes this is an intriguing and evocative album that deserves a place in any Dave Brubeck collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immediate success with me, 15 July 2012
By 
M. N. Walsh (Helsinki, Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jazz Impressions Of Japan (Audio CD)
I bought this (LP) when I was a student at University College, London and thus I wasn't flush with money.

I was lucky enough to hear it in one of the sound booths that good record shops had in those days (beat headphones in the open shopfloor any time) and the first track (Tokyo Traffic) and even the first few seconds of it just overwhelmed me and I had to have it (after of course checking track two as well which was a complete contrast.)

Luckily it was on sale which is why I was listening to it in the first place of course (and indeed was the reason why it was in the window and why I went into the shop at all)

If you can try it out first, do so, but for me this is my favourite Brubeck CD after Time Out and before Time Further Out. (Yes, I now have the CD).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 10 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Impressions Of Japan (Audio CD)
I usually buy CDs from Amazon when I want the whole album, but when I saw the price I was particularly pleased. One of the most underrated Brubeck albums for under a fiver? Yes please.

From the dizzying spin of Tokyo Traffic to the sombre Fujiyama, this has it all. There's even an extract in the book telling you the inspiration behind each song during Brubeck's tour of Japan back in the 60s. This album puts you right in the middle of his experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rain running down a window, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Impressions Of Japan (Audio CD)
replacement for lost vinyl. My mother was persuaded many years ago by my husband to listen to this album. She had previously been scathing about modern music of any description but became convinced after hearing it that my husband may, just possibly on this one occasion, to be nearly correct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brubeck in the Orient, 2 April 2013
By 
adrian (leicestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Impressions Of Japan (Audio CD)
Following in the steps of his Jazz Impressions of... occasional series, is this one inspired by a concert tour to Japan in 1964. Once derided as being too `popular' to be a real `jazz' musician, Dave Brubeck is now in his rightful place at the very pinnacle of the music. What made Brubeck unique was the way he pushed the boundaries of the music forward without ever compromising the jazz idiom.
I was fortunate enough to hear him live when he toured 40 odd years ago and again a couple of times in recent years at Leicester when he returned for his final tours before age and ill health prevented any further visits.
I already have CDs of his Jazz Impressions of the USA, New York and Eurasia albums (among 40 Brubeck CDs) and after hearing this I have put `Bravo Brubeck', impressions from his time in Mexico, on my wish list for Father's Day. Hearing this record you want to hear more.
Brubeck, who sadly died at the end of 2012, was a unique talent and here he manages to blend the sounds and feelings of Japan into the jazz idiom. The tunes give you a very definite flavour of the land, people and culture, but without sacrificing any of the jazz feel. It may not be one of his very finest records, but it is still exceedingly good indeed. It is the sort of album you can sit and listen to, or simply put on as background music.
The track listings are:
Tokyo Traffic
Rising Sun
Toki's Theme
Fujiyama
Zen is When
The City is Crying
Osaka Blues
Koto Song
After playing it several times my favourite tracks are probably Tokyo Traffic, Fujiyama and The City is Crying although the standard is very consistent throughout.
The quartet is the `classic' line up of Brubeck (piano), Paul Desmond (alto sax), Eugene Wright (bass) and Joe Morello (drums). Paul Desmond was one of the most articulate alto players ever and he and Brubeck were the perfect foil for each other. The rhythm section must be one of the finest partnerships of all time and after Brubeck got through numerous bassists and drummers he finally settled with Wright and Morello for very many years.
The playing time at around 35 minutes is quite short, there are no bonus tracks added to the original LP, but the recording is crisp and clear and at under fiver from Amazon it has to be a buy. When you think that 50 years ago LPs were 39/11 (just under £2) you have to say that today they are dirt cheap.
If you like Brubeck, modern jazz or merely want some agreeable music to listen to, you simply have to buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 31 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful, beautiful jazz. Apart from the extrmeely high standard which can be expected form all works by the late great Dave Brubeck quartet, and superb playing by Paul Desmond in particular, the "japan" theme lifted it to a higher level, and made for a great atmosphere. I love this album. Dsepite not still being pressed, I got this from amazon via the seller moviemars-usa, at a very reasonable price, immaculate, and with quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brubeck class, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Impressions Of Japan (Audio CD)
Brubeck and Desmond at their very best. Shame the disc is not longer, could have listened to another hour of this classy music, really good. Recommend to anyone who appreciates music at it's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jazz Impressions Of Japan
Jazz Impressions Of Japan by Dave Brubeck (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews