Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meshuggah for Hippies
Very nice instrumentals. The Polyrhytmic, jazz influenced metal and 8 stringed rumbling found in Meshuggah, crossed with the beautiful almost psychedelic instrumentals of Ozric Tentacles. Meshuggah for Hippies? If you are a fan of Meshuggah, or fredrik Thordendals Special Defects or Ozric Tentacles you will not be disappointed.

Also - check out the guitar...
Published on 12 Sept. 2009 by M. A. Ratcliffe

versus
2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heavy math rock?
Interesting album - or should I write: for me an album made up a number of very interesting tracks amongst some indifferent tracks, so the whole may sound rather confused wrt what bag this music is in. We start off with speed shred metal nodding to math rock and then go off at tangents - excellent in my book. My favourite track, 'Behaving badly' is the closest I've heard...
Published on 10 Dec. 2009 by R. J. Heath


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meshuggah for Hippies, 12 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: Animals As Leaders (Audio CD)
Very nice instrumentals. The Polyrhytmic, jazz influenced metal and 8 stringed rumbling found in Meshuggah, crossed with the beautiful almost psychedelic instrumentals of Ozric Tentacles. Meshuggah for Hippies? If you are a fan of Meshuggah, or fredrik Thordendals Special Defects or Ozric Tentacles you will not be disappointed.

Also - check out the guitar playing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suprising, 7 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animals As Leaders (MP3 Download)
Decided to pick this up after seeing these guys with Meshuggah at the O2 academy, they are unbelievably poor live but im not reviewing the live performancce, just the album, which is amazing.

The quality is perfect, the vast array of musical talent is superb, they really work well together on this album mixing distorted guitars (i cant put this in a metal category as its much more then that) with jazz, bosa nova etc.

I'd approach this for more ambiance then an agressive point meshuggah style (dont mean to keep mentioning them, but its the closest genre i can compare to), i would highly recommend picking this up, well done on the album boys...BUT STOP STANDING THERE LIKE A WET FISH STARING AT YOUR INSTRUMENTS WHEN PLAYING LIVE, TRY AND LOOK UP AT THE CROWD OR AT LEAST TAP YOUR DAMN FOOT!!!

Cheers for reading \m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovative Album of the decade, 26 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Animals As Leaders (Audio CD)
I came across this band on Last FM which I listen to on my Xbox 360. From there I checked out youtube to see if there was any video's of the group. Luckly somebody had downloaded some of their tracks on youtube and I wasn't dissapointed. Although this album came out last year I would count it among one of my favourites for 2010. The arrangement and guitar playing is tight, each track is as good as the next. I'm going to start checking some more progressive rock/jazz music in the near future. Classic album GO BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing playing, 17 May 2011
This review is from: Animals As Leaders (Audio CD)
Got this album after browsing the progressive metal Amazon store and reading some reviews. The playing is quite amazing. How is it this guy not on the cover of Guitar World? I'm canceling my subscription. He's incredibly fast, very tight but also has a slight electronica feel. It is a little like Satch's Engines Of Creation album but speed up and with a little more edge. There's a lot of tapping and sweep arpeggios.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing technical instrumental metal, 10 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Animals As Leaders (Audio CD)
Was really impressed the first time I listened to this album. The band managed to create some really rocking tracks with some amazing technical riffs whilst still managing to keep the feeling and emotion. Their music is a weird combination of Between The Buried And Me and Liquid Tension Experiment. Definitely give it a listen as it's one of the most original albums I've heard in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mind Blowing, 21 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Animals As Leaders (Audio CD)
Mind Blowing. Looking for something new? and like progressive metal/jazz. Like Meshuggah? Devin Townsend? Dream Theatre? Steve Vai? then this will blow you away. There's a unreleased track called 'Waves of Babies' which I highly recommend too. I love this C.D so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just amazing, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animals As Leaders (Audio CD)
I stumbled across this band a couple of years ago and i've been in love with their two albums that they've had so far, i can't wait for their next release. If you're into jazz, blues, metal, rock or anything like that, this band is well worth a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Complex Techno-Computer Generated Fusion of MetalCore/Heavy Metal, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animals As Leaders (Audio CD)
This CD will not break nor revolutionalised the Heavy Rock/Computerised Music genre but is a pleasant and inventive slice of the fusion between computerised synthesized music and a Heavy Metal Rock instrumentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculous in its Awesomeness, 21 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. A. Griffin "D0pethrone" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Animals As Leaders (Audio CD)
Tosin Abasi is a God

'Cafo', 'On Impulse', 'Tempting Time', 'The Price of Everything', 'Behaving Badly' ah, theyre all so damn good

This album should be mandatory listening for all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Experimental, Progressive, spacey, djent genius!, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Animals As Leaders (Audio CD)
Amazing debut album!!! One of the best, innovative bands around!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Animals As Leaders
Animals As Leaders by Animals as Leaders (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews