Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Save The Turtles
Great music great memories AND it's got all the hits on it, both US & UK. Very under rated group - but not in my book!
Published 21 months ago by lucky housewife

versus
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still worth saving
This is a good CD rather than a great one, but it does capture what the Turtles were about and there are enough hits and other decent renditions here to make it worth buying.

Some of it comes over, to me, as just filler though, so only the 3 stars. Sound quality is good and the boys come over with that unique brand of pop. Close your eyes and it's back to the...
Published on 5 Aug 2009 by DriverJohn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Save The Turtles, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great music great memories AND it's got all the hits on it, both US & UK. Very under rated group - but not in my book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Before the Ninjas were Famous, 31 May 2014
By 
Richard Newbold (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Airheaded, optimistic pop music, served up on a bed of '60s California sunshine, what better for lightening the mood and occasionally evoking more bittersweet thoughts on lost youth? Truth be told, other than their smashes, the Turtles are only a footnote in the post-Beatles invasion, pre-hippy era of West Coast pop music, though the memory of the later incarnation of lead singers Howard Kaylan and Mark Vorman as Flo and Eddie with Frank Zappa still needs strong narcotics to cope with. The warhorses from gazillions of ads and movie soundtracks, Happy Together, Eleanore, and She'd Rather be With Me sit alongside routine Dylan covers and sub-Mamas and Papas harmony pop. Most interesting is the track "You Don't Have to Walk in the Rain" from their 1969 album "Turtle Soup", the only album Kink Ray Davies produced for another artist. Wish I could say it was revelatory, but it doesn't really stand out, though I'll check out the whole album out of curiosity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still worth saving, 5 Aug 2009
By 
DriverJohn (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Save The Turtles: The Turtles Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a good CD rather than a great one, but it does capture what the Turtles were about and there are enough hits and other decent renditions here to make it worth buying.

Some of it comes over, to me, as just filler though, so only the 3 stars. Sound quality is good and the boys come over with that unique brand of pop. Close your eyes and it's back to the late '60s.

I'm still happy to have it in my collection, and hope that it might stimulate enough interest for someone to get round to re-issuing the storming Battle of the Bands. Fingers crossed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good band, 5 Jun 2014
By 
Ges (Infinity & Beyond) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Save The Turtles: The Turtles Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Mostly great songs from a Great band , but one probably needs to be an ageing Hippy or 50's kid to appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection by a very underrated sixties bands !, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Save The Turtles: The Turtles Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Does exactly what it says a greatest hits package by one of the most unsung bands of the sixties !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Battle of the Bands, 16 April 2010
By 
K. Holmes (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Save The Turtles: The Turtles Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Further to the useful review above, Battle of the Bands is on CD as Elenore (Battle of the Bands) Repertoire Rep 4332-WY (8 bonus tracks) and Sundazed SC6038 with 2 bonus tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cheery, 16 Aug 2014
By 
Victor Preston "gvb" (birmingham, west mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Save The Turtles: The Turtles Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
if you like the monkees you will love the turtles
positive, cheery, sunshine pop music
they had a few big hits and then split up
the singers going on to join frank zappa's mothers
that's another story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DJM, 16 Sep 2011
This review is from: Save The Turtles: The Turtles Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The CD was purchased for nostalgia purposes, the songs from my youth. The quality of the CD was excellent, some of the music I remember and some I don't. The CD is well worth listening to and can take you back to years gone by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 60s bubblegum, 2 Aug 2014
This review is from: Save The Turtles: The Turtles Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Fabulous: at least four classics in this, and even their second rate stuff is pretty decent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived in very good time, was as described and well packaged, 12 Oct 2014
This review is from: Save The Turtles: The Turtles Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Arrived in very good time,was as described and well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Save The Turtles:  The Turtles Greatest Hits
Save The Turtles: The Turtles Greatest Hits by The Turtles (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews