Customer Reviews


204 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (79)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


217 of 221 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value and do the job
Let's be realistic these are 35 / $50 phones so they won't be as good as the top range products. And they are pitched firmly at the in flight market - it says so on the box. So they are not ideal for noise from air conditioning, road traffic etc. But in the acid test - at the back of a BA Boeing 777 when users of the standard BA headset had abandoned any hope of...
Published on 8 Oct 2009 by Exbiztraveller

versus
64 of 70 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars noise cancelling headphones
Made the mistake and tested the bose set of noise cancelling headphones (300)
These were absolute excellence but the price tag was far too much to fork out for.
After reading reviews and really to be honest didnt want to pay any more than 40 - 50
bought the sony set.First impressions are that they are very well built and flexible,a nice felt bag to keep...
Published on 23 Aug 2010 by F.bingham


‹ Previous | 116 17 1821 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Poor for air travel, 21 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony MDRNC7B Noise Cancelling Headphones (Electronics)
I suppose my expectation should not be high having paid 25,but it said in the blurb it cut out 87% of unwanted noise.
Well it doesn't on a 737, switching it on and off has a slight effect only.
I've not tried them in other noise situations.
They seem well made and are comfortable,the sounds ok in quite areas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 6 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony MDRNC7B Noise Cancelling Headphones (Electronics)
Cuts out all sound really well, without the noise cancelling feature on, wouldn't wear them for extended periods of time > an hour, But really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars You may as well go for something more expensive, 24 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony MDRNC7B Noise Cancelling Headphones (Electronics)
I bought these headphones, used them for three weeks, and then gave them away. The Noise Cancelling function works OK (It boasts the volume) However due to the "mics" in the headphones, the volume increases and decreases constantly. It drove me insane.

If you are unfortunate enough to get a bus daily, like me, every time the engine is loud it affects the headphones.

Also, it picks up on mobile phone usage around you. You know that annoying buzzing sound. It makes it impossible to listen to music on the tube (Everyone has their mobiles out on the tube, but that is a different rant).

... That all being said, it is cheap and plays music. Plus, the person who took them from me is yet to complain. She loves them... Maybe that says more about her previous headphones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 14 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony MDRNC7B Noise Cancelling Headphones (Electronics)
These earphones did exactly what they're supposed to. Just made a 10.5 hour flight to the US and the phones made all the difference in blocking out the general in-flight background noises. Worked well on BA flight and no problems with the plug/socket as some others may have suggested. Comfortable to wear and easily folded and packed into your hand luggage without taking up valuable space. Well worth the money - if you don't want to spend too much on a product that you may only use while travelling on holiday once or twice a year, then these headphones are for you. Definite value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre headphones - 7/10, 14 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. Alan Thompson (Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony MDRNC7B Noise Cancelling Headphones (Electronics)
Firstly, can I say that I own a decent pair of "open" on ear headphones, they sound absolutely fantastic but they obviously don't stop you hearing noise around you, more importantly though everyone around you can hear your music! Not great on a plane if your neighbouring passenger wants some sleep...

So I bought these, basically I found them on offer, and thought they'd be worth trying out for the sake of 20.

First impressions were fairly good, they are not too bulky, and folded they are reasonably portable. The cushions on the ear are bulky, and the instant you put them on they remove a good chunk of background noise right away. So you turn on the noise cancelling feature, then the magic happens! No, that's sarcasm! I genuinely cannot detect an ounce of noise cancelling, it seems the only thing that happens is the sound becomes richer, slightly amplfied. In short, they seem to enhance the sound rather than cut background noise out. The price tells the tale, Sony themselves market some headphones costing 's, so don't be nieve and assume these are perfect.

In summary, if you don't mind sticking a battery in them and using them as normal headphones, they are quite good. The sound is very flat and lacklustre without the noise cancelling feature on. With that switched on, you get a decent pair of headphones, performing as well as any normal mainstream headphones around that price I guess, though for pure sound quality, or pure noise cancelling performance, these are not worth bothering with.

As I mentioned first off though, they do cut alot of background noise before you even turn the switch on, so for that reason alone, they may well suit a traveller without a particular ear for HiDef audio.

Lastly, there seems to be a slight "pulsing" sort of electrical crackle every now and again, irritates the hell out of me! Might be the noise cancelling working, might be a fault, but I'm just going to use these on flights and they'll stay in another one of my "toy drawers" the rest of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Massive value for money and surprisingly rich sound, 13 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony MDRNC7B Noise Cancelling Headphones (Electronics)
I bought these with the express intention of using them for travel.
At the price I didn't expect them to set the world on fire but being sony I did have expectations of them being a better alternative to ear buds for long journeys.
I received them this morning and instantly I was impressed. They seem well built, they fold down and come with a cloth carry bag.
They are comfy and the sound is surprisingly rich and full. I tested them with a movie whilst on the train.

I originally intended to buy them as a stop gap before taking the plunge with a 200+ pair later in the year....

Don't think I'll bother now!

These are all you need unless you are a proper music buff, maybe, and only maybe, then you will need more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sony MDRNC7B Noise Cancelling Headphones, 2 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony MDRNC7B Noise Cancelling Headphones (Electronics)
For the money i paid for these you can not get any better.

My original headphones split on a trip to UK from Australia - so i was forced to use the airline ones, not a good thing :)!

Bought these on the internet in UK and was really impressed with the quality for the price.... on a long journey like i was on you really need something to get the best sound when watching movies etc and this set certainly delivered. I am sure there are superior sets available, but for someone like me that does this big trip once a year i was MORE than happy...

A quality product for a very fair price .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sony headphones, 21 July 2012
By 
Mr. Richard E. Wright "dickins" (Barnsley, South Yorkshire,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony MDRNC7B Noise Cancelling Headphones (Electronics)
Quite good quality sound as you would expect from Sony. Does not quite blank out all external sounds, but for the price it is reasonably OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sony Quality with some extras!, 20 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony MDRNC7B Noise Cancelling Headphones (Electronics)
These Sony Headphones are another great example of Sony quality. The Headphones fold up and fit into an included carring case. Also included was an aeroplane adapter. The noise cancelling works well and the headphones are a good fit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 25 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony MDRNC7B Noise Cancelling Headphones (Electronics)
I brought these to use on the aircraft and they are great at blocking out all the noise. I would definatley recommend these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 1821 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews