Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing
As a new 360 owner at the beggining of this year my games library was very limited. After browsing this game caught my attention and after seeing the low price, I decided to pick up the game not fully aware of what to expect.

My initial impressions were bad. The enviroment of the starting level was bland and the RPG elements were limited (at first). The game...
Published on 27 Aug 2009 by Gitty101

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story, average gameplay, short length game
Pros
1. Great story. Pretty much hooked within first 10 mins.
2. Good combat system
3. Has quite a bit of depth in the RPG side of things.
4. After you complete the game you can import your character to the sequal.
5. Good voice acting.

Cons
1. After a bit, you realise your kind of repeating yourself over and over. The game is...
Published on 31 Aug 2010 by Mark Twain


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing, 27 Aug 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect - 2 Disk Special - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (CD-ROM)
As a new 360 owner at the beggining of this year my games library was very limited. After browsing this game caught my attention and after seeing the low price, I decided to pick up the game not fully aware of what to expect.

My initial impressions were bad. The enviroment of the starting level was bland and the RPG elements were limited (at first). The game does not have a full tutorial and it took a while to grasp the controls (though you can avoid this by reading the manual). Also, the game does not autosave enough! Save before and after any challenging fights unless you want to repeat them over and over again.

After finding *the object*, the player is then taken to a galactic station known as the citadel. This is when the game starts to show merit, freedom to tackle things your way and a non-linear approach to missions. After I had completed the *task* given to me, the universe opened up and Mass Effect truly began.

My advice to new players is to stick with it. Initially the game is bland, but after about an hour (depending on player skill)the player is given their freedom to explore the galaxy and shape their character the way they see fit.

This game posseses an epic sci-fi story, memorable characters and plenty of moral choices. The main quest is around 8-12 hours long so full exploration and tackling the side quests is adviced to enhance your experience. The game has an excellent re-play appeal as choices made sometimes differ drastically and shape the world(s) around the player differently. I highly recommend this game to everyone, especially people interested in the sequel as choices made in this game affect the world in the sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like RPGs, don't miss Mass Effect, 14 Jun 2010
By 
Philipp (Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect - 2 Disk Special - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (CD-ROM)
Well, what can I say? This game just has it all.
The story is dense and incredibly exciting and if you're a fan of hard Sci-Fi, you won't be able to put it down.
The sceneries can only be described as stunning. I probably spent almost as much time just exploring as I spent playing the actual story.
Finally, there's the voice acting and thankfully, it's done right for once. The voice actors are perfectly cast and capture the atmosphere perfectly.
As for the interface, it's surprisingly smooth. Even though the combat system is complex, mixing a lot of weapons and abilities, after a while you won't even notice the buttons you are pressing to make things happen.

The only gripe I can find with this game is the auto-save feature. At times, you will run past auto-save checkpoints every five minutes, at others, there won't be one for an hour's worth of gameplay. So save often...

A quick word about the bonus material: The Special Edition contains background information like developer interviews and concept art plus the complete soundtrack which is positively awesome. Also included is the extra chapter "Bring Down the Sky" which is also available as DLC. All in all well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Start, 8 Jan 2013
By 
R. Thomas (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect - 2 Disk Special - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (CD-ROM)
The start of a truly epic trilogy that every gamer should play at least once (though I advise you don't stop at once what with all the possibilities).

Many more RPG elements that were questionably removed for it's sequels that never the less polished other features. There has been a lot of shouting about the ending of the third game in the series but don't let that put you off if you've never experienced this game. You won't regret picking it up, trust me.

This Classics Edition also has an extra disk which has quite a large number of extras including one of the game's 2 single player story DLC's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic space opera that's well worth the price tag, 10 April 2012
By 
Mr. E. G. J. Smith (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect - 2 Disk Special - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (CD-ROM)
This is the first game of a now finished trilogy - if you've never played a Mass Effect game before, then here's where the story begins. You are Commander Shepard, a human war veteran who is called upon by the Alliance military to step forward as their candidate for the Spectres, an elite group of intergalactic speical forces who answer to the Council. I'll stop there with the story, because there's a huge amount of back-story and lore that I can't include here.

What I can say is that it's a sci-fi that has some of the feel of Star Wars and Star Trek without feeling like it borrows from either - it stands alone, and feels unique enough to be a new experience without being too mind-blowing. Although the whole story-arc isn't anything too surprising (hero saves the universe), the journey is what matters here, with the planets you visit and the alien species you encounter.

As a game, it's a tactical 3rd person shooter. It's not Gears of War, though its similar in its shooting style, but you have a variety of powers to use based on the class you pick at the beginning of the game. It's not as overtly violent but there's no shortage of combat. When you reach a new planet that you can explore you land in your tank-like vehicle and get to roam an alien world. These are generally barren worlds, with few landmarks, but it's worth exploring to find resources and long-lost artifacts. While these discoveries don't generally add anything new to your game, though they do give you experience and credits which in turn allow you to level-up and buy new equipment.

The few set pieces of the story often force you along linear paths, but its the parts of the game outside of those that I enjoy most - following various side-quests and exploring the sci-fi universe. Added to this was the realisation that the choices you make in the first Mass Effect continue on into its sequels - when this was revealed I suddenly had to create new characters and try different paths from the previous playthroughs.

Bottom line: This game was worth the pricetag at its original release, but now with the sequels out and the classic price it's even better value. A must-buy for the Xbox and if you do enjoy it, the story doesn't end here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Game, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect - 2 Disk Special - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (CD-ROM)
The Mass Effect series of games are truly great, this first chapter in the series is generally regarded as being the best of the three. While I might not quite agree with that, this game is outstanding and is a must buy for any rpg fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mass effect. Truely awesome gaming!!!, 18 May 2012
By 
Karl Kirkby (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect - 2 Disk Special - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (CD-ROM)
I have played many RPG games on the 360 and somehow Mass effect had escaped my radar. I recently picked up a copy and i have to say that it is one of the greatest games (not just of the RPG variety) that i have ever played! Engrossing story, excellent characters and everything is customisable and the controls are very fluid and easy to use. Also huge and very pretty. buy this game!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A monumental achievement. The beginning of something special..., 16 April 2012
By 
B. Tamlyn "tamo49" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect - 2 Disk Special - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (CD-ROM)
I was quite late to the world of Mass Effect and wrongly wrote it off when I was presented an opportunity to play it back in 2008. I watched a mate play it and after an hour, it looked boring and soul destroying. Go here, talk to this person, run around aimless for a bit, shoot some robots and run around some more whilst driving around in a big tank every so often. However for that hour, I remember how my friend had not said a single word or even moved his gaze from the screen. He took in every detail that was happening, would listen to every possible piece of dialogue and took great pleasure in tweaking his characters appearance. It all seemed too long winded.

I finally got round to playing Mass Effect in September 2011 and have only just finished it in March 2012. It is such an absorbing game and addictive to play, you will find you are sucked in to this galactic community and won't want to leave. 6 months may seem a long time but hear me out...

Mankind has joined a galactic community of varying races after the discovery of alien artefacts on Mars. This lead to the discovery of Mass Relays, the galaxy's highway, that connected to different systems and planets. You play as Shepherd, and begin your first mission investigating a Human Colony that has been attacked by an unknown enemy. As the game progresses, you unlock clues to the purpose of this attack and those responsible for it. You build relationships and conversations with people you meet through your travels and unlock extra missions depending on your conversation choices. You choose to be good (Paragon) or bad (Renegade) depending on how you prefer to play, but your actions will have repercussions on Mass Effect 2 and will require you to make tough decisions so choose wisely. You can take 2 additional people with you on each mission who bring their own unique talents to fire fights and character interactions.

Sounds like every other RPG right? Yeah pretty much. This was a major factor in delaying to play Mass Effect for so long. I had notions it would be like Star Wars Episodes I - III when I really wanted it to be like Star Wars IV - VI with a splash of Total Recall and a Matrix sound track. What I got was much better and the experience has been imprinted on my memory. This is a truly exquisite game, with fantastic voice work, presentation and vast amounts of replay value if you want to try the different character classes. My favourite sections where when you had to upgrade you squads abilities, weapons and armour and this was only in the options screens! Once you get the hang of Mass Effect and have completed it twice, you will fly through the game on your additional play-throughs if you are achievement hunting. I would recommend starting on casual level to build up your experience and damage dealing levels. I started on hardcore and regretted it as I was constantly failing. Mass Effect is not a hard game. Actually its pretty easy but without proper plans laid out when you attack a Geth outpost, you will be taking a dirt nap very quickly.

Now with all this wonderful entertainment on this epic disc that is Mass Effect, there are some minor frustrations. Shepherd cannot run or jump. He can only run when in attack mode and enemies are near. This was incredibly frustrating as walking through the Citadel, the games political hub for all the people of the galaxy (and sharing a resemblance to a shopping centre) can take a very long, laborious time. Some of the conversations you have can last too long and have no real relevance, you are given a mission on Noveria to retrieve a package for a Hanar called Opold. Essentially I went up and down the lift and completed the assignment. Pointless. Luckily these are as I said, minor and you will forget about them as you cruise round different planets searching for clues and resources to complete your final mission

The extras you get with this are surprisingly good and I found I would return to one of these regularly. The first DLC is Bring Down the Sky, which you can pick up on XBLA for 80 Points. Its around 45 minutes long but you have to stop an asteroid from hitting a habitable planet. The asteroid has been taken over by Batarian pirates and you have to stop them. Pinnacle Station was the last DLC and wasn't so much a story related game but rather a "shooting gallery" style mission where you land on a space station to under-go extra combat training in multiplayer style scenarios. I enjoyed this one the most.

Mass Effect is fantastic, immersive game play and has managed to achieve something that very few games can achieve, characters you care about and want to invest time in learning their background stories. You can find this incredibly cheap if you shop around and for its age, it's still attracting new players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, Complete before ME2 for best experience, 4 July 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect - 2 Disk Special - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (CD-ROM)
This game is certainly a good game, but if people have completed Mass Effect 2 before this game, like me, then the experience will be very different and you may not like it compared to ME2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Game - Flawless, 31 Mar 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect - 2 Disk Special - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (CD-ROM)
My friend lent me this game to play through because i was sceptical about buying it. I wasn't expecting much because i am more of a Call of Duty and Halo player, however, i was blown away by this epic game. After giving it back to my friend i had to buy it for myself. This game is truly amazing and totally worth getting. You shall not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mass Fantastic, 8 Sep 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect - 2 Disk Special - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (CD-ROM)
i already have the Collector's Edition - i bought this for the 2nd disc's bonus content, which includes more videos and behind the scenes material as well as a premium theme etc. than the original releases had, and make a darn good viewing, imo.

the game itself is a classic - by no means without flaws, but the scope and imagination on display here make any complaints almost petty - this is truly one of the best games ever made, and certainly one of the best works of science fiction art ever produced, right up there with the best contemporray science fiction in literature or film/tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mass Effect - 2 Disk Special - Classics Edition (Xbox 360)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews