Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars110
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£16.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 January 2011
Midsomer murders series 1 and 2 is excellent viewing. British mystery murder drama at its best, great actors in the beautiful but eerie fictional English village of Midsomer. If your a fan of Miss Marple you will love this more modern version. Famous and not so famous British actors pop up in each story. Richard Briars is in Death's Shadow. You will spot Stings wife Trudi in the episode Stranglers wood. Nine Midsomer classic stories including the pilot are on this six disc box set. Appearance: One plastic dvd case(depth of two standard dvd cases) with cardboard cover. Inside six discs on plastic ring like pages.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2009
Advertised as complete. but the episode "Dead Mans Eleven" is missing and the last episode of series 3 "Beyond the Grave" is in its place. Add to that that the episodes are not in the correct order and you have as very shoddy repackaging of the better boxset "A Collection of Ten Investigations"......which IS complete series 1 and 2.
55 comments|148 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2009
I love Inspector Barnaby stories, but I can't praise Acorn Media for their editorial work. All previously released stories were without subtitles. I notice that they are still lacking in this very costly repackaging. Acorn Media show no consideration for the hearing impaired and they lost a customer.
1010 comments|82 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2011
After buying the first box of the German Midsomer-Murder-DVDs,
a friend told me that the English Original Midsomer Murders are
about 30 minutes longer (per episode) than the German ones.
So I decided to buy the Complete Series One to compare. The original
version is much better than the German shorter one.
Also, in Germany the movies are not in the correct order an
incomplete.
Any true Inspector Barnaby fan should buy the English original
version, but ONLY if you are able to understand it in English,
because there are NO subtitles, and that is the only negative
point for a German viewer. Personally I think that one cannot watch
English movies with German subtitles, because one cannot translate
word by word and the differences between text and subtitle are
extremly irritating. It would have been helpful, however, to have
subtitles in English.
11 comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
Bought this for my husband who is deaf and needs text didn't think to check as text available on TV
its no use to him not even with head phones so does anyone want a box set for free very disappointed
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2011
1 THE KILLINGS AT BADGERS DRIFT
2 WRITTEN IN BLOOD
3 DEATH IN DISGUISE
4 DEATH OF A HOLLOW MAN
5 FAITHFUL UNTO DEATH
6 STRANGLERS WOOD
7 BLOOD WILL OUT
8 DEATHS SHADOW
9 BEYOND THE GRAVE
over 14 hours of detective Barnaby in the area of Midsomer. excellent value and good viewing
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
Midsomer Murders was a nice change for television at the tea-time hour. I always watched it, I jumped at the chance to own all the cases on DVD.

Chief Inspector Barnaby and Sergeant Troy work in the idyllic picturesque village of Midsomer, where they find that beneaf the tranquil surface of village life exists a disturbing and cunning propensity for murder.

This set contains the entire first and second series of Barnaby's first investigations, spanning nine cases. Each case is feature length (like a movie) with lots of twist and turns to keep you entertained every step of the way.

Midsomer might be targeted at older people, but I enjoy it and I'm not that old! In each case, there is a murder for which the killer will be revealed in its conclusion. The fun of it lies in guessing who the killer actually is, like all crime drama's. But I wouldn't call this a crime drama, it is way too light hearted for that. It is a murder mystery show more like, with a slightly lower budget. It is not realistic, with the amount of murders in one village (The first half would be dead and the other half would be in prison), but that's all apart of its uniqueness. It is still a joy to watch and is genuinely funny, especially Barnaby's mannerisms. It's a fun series, not serious though. It is light, tea-time viewing. Still a great buy. The earlier Midsomer's are the best, so this would be an excellent place to start your collection. My favourite cases include: "The Killing's At Badgers Drift", "Written In Blood", "Stranglers Wood" and "Death's Shadow."
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2010
I like order by Amazon. The service is excellent.

If only DVD's I order have subtitles. Often they are not available. So when I want subtitles I buy them In the Netherlands in a shop.Than they have english subtitles and other languages as well.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2011
I bought this for my wife's birthday recently, having had little experience myself of MM, and it turned out be a present we were both able to enjoy. The acting is polished, as is the dialogue, and the storylines are surprisingly "gritty" yet without the need for any gratuitous violence or bad language. An observant viewer will enjoy the fact that virtually everything you see has some relevance, although you are often arguing until the very end over what was a red herring and what was a real clue.

It may be that MM is suddenly going to enjoy a resurgent popularity given the recent publicity surrounding certain aspects of the production, and that would definitely be a good thing. If you're new to it, the beginning is definitely the best place to start!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
Detective series are generally entertaining. This is generally solid, meat-and-potatoes stuff, although some episodes are much weaker than others.
It rather stretches credibility to see that, in an area where murders are virtually a daily occurrence, nobody ever seems to consider locking their doors or taking the most rudimentary security precautions.
That's just my pet niggle, but if you want to commit murder or burgle some defenceless home, then Midsomer is by far your best bet!! They could really use a neighbourhood watch scheme. Barnaby should get that organised if he's up to his job!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)