Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kenneth Anger Is Mad. Thank God.
Kenneth Wilbur Angelmyer is nuts. Crazy. Stone cold loco. And after watching his repertoire of films, you wouldn't want it any other way, believe me. I'm also slightly reticent of criticising Anger's work in any way, shape or form as he's a well-practiced Thelemite (as in Aleister Crowley) and may curse me. Luckily, there's no reason to. These movies are seminal, and an...
Published on 27 April 2009 by Brady Orme

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So... Kenneth Anger, eh?
I gotta say... No, I don't know? I'm not so sure about this whole area of film. Never really liked 'Un Chien Andalou'. Actually, not that this is really anything like that. Not the point. Some of the stuff included on this (very) expansive Blu-Ray set is pretty interesting, and I definitely enjoyed, and have or will re-watch(ed), some of the shorts. Anger deals with some...
Published on 15 Sep 2011 by jecomans


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kenneth Anger Is Mad. Thank God., 27 April 2009
By 
Brady Orme (Edgbaston, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Kenneth Wilbur Angelmyer is nuts. Crazy. Stone cold loco. And after watching his repertoire of films, you wouldn't want it any other way, believe me. I'm also slightly reticent of criticising Anger's work in any way, shape or form as he's a well-practiced Thelemite (as in Aleister Crowley) and may curse me. Luckily, there's no reason to. These movies are seminal, and an influence on many filmmakers such as David Lynch and Rainer Werner Fassbinder. Anger is still very much active in the film industry to this day, and with the presentation of "Ich Will!" in 2008 he now has 50 years of film dabbling under his belt. A Biker's belt with a pentagram buckle, I must add. Ouch.

Anger's films are unclassifiable as a genre or template, so don't try to categorize him - Most people in the know think of "Scorpio Rising" (1963) with it's Rock n' Roll Blitzkreig / Biker porn as the quintessential Anger, but you'll find a lot here that goes beyond that. The BFI must be congratulated (again) for bringing little known films to the fore in their excellent DVD / Blu-Ray packages - Earlier this year Jeff Keen's anthology "Gazwrx" was released, this is in the same vein - and much of the man's filmography is included here. These are "Fireworks" (1947), "Puce Moment" (1949),"Rabbit's Moon" (1950/1971), "Eaux d'Artifice" (1953), "Inauguration Of The Pleasure Dome" (1954), "Scorpio Rising" (1964), "Kustom Kar Kommandos" (1965), "Invocation Of My Demon Brother" (1969), "Rabbit's Moon" (Remade, 1979), and "Lucifer Rising" (1981). Not much left out, All present and correct. A cornucopia of the surreal would be a good way to sum it all up.

Special features include :

- Kenneth Anger commentaries;
- Demonstration of restoration work;
- "The Man We Want To Hang", Anger's look at Crowley's art;
- "Anger Me", Elio Gelmini's analysis of Anger;
- Lavish booklet including an essay by Gary Lachman.

So, if you think Stan Brakhage is too tame, you have a dream compilation here right at your fingertips. Just keep your mouth shut if you find it all a bit much - Ken will come and get you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique, 30 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once experienced, any film of Kenneth Anger's will not soon be forgotten. A word of warning for those who are more inclined toward commercial or 'mainstream' cinema- Anger's films are often dense and complex, filed with metaphor, symbolism and elements of Surrealism. Despite having read around Anger's work to a considerable extent, I still find some sequences incomprehensible and intellectually impenetrable. So, some of these films will leave the average viewer perplexed.

Anger's film making is marked by an often luscious, decadent aesthetic and an atmosphere of intoxicating sensuality. If we struggle with an intellectual interpretation of some of these works, then the very fin-de-siecle focus on 'effect' captures the viewer, by tinkering with the mind below the level of immediate cognition. As Anger has stated in the past, he sees Cinema as an 'evil medium', a medium through which he 'steals the soul' of the viewer. Anger works to manipulate the emotions and, he hopes, the unconscious mind of the viewer through a 'magickal' endeavour, rather than encouraging a process of rational exploration. Often, Anger's more difficult and esoteric films e.g. Invocation of My Demon Brother, bombard the rational mind with obscure and layered imagery in a way that overwhelms, I believe, in an attempt to tap in to the irrational mind and exert control over the viewer.

The one thing that matters more to Anger than film making, is his lifetime dedication to ceremonial 'magick'. Anger is a practitioner of occultism, influenced by Aleister Crowley. His films are conceived as magical workings and screenings serve as rituals. Therefore, expect a great deal of allusion to occultism within these films. I am no expert in such things and as a result I am most likely missing out a lot of what Anger is communicating, but I love his films nonetheless. My favourite of his films is Inauguration of The Pleasure Dome- a Bacchanalian revel, the most visually striking of Anger's films, the most visually decadent and featuring a performance by Anais Nin.

Anger has been making films since the 1940's and he is still going. I recently had the pleasure of attending a screening of some of the films contained on this DVD. Mr. Anger was there in person and seemed very spritely for his 83 years. Long may he continue on his chosen path! If you have never viewed a Kenneth Anger film before, expect the following: magic, death, decadence, homoeroticism and spell-binding imagery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kenneth Anger Is Mad. Thank God., 27 April 2009
By 
Brady Orme (Edgbaston, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Magick Lantern Cycle [Blu-ray] [1967] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Kenneth Wilbur Angelmyer is nuts. Crazy. Stone cold loco. And after watching his repertoire of films, you wouldn't want it any other way, believe me. I'm also slightly reticent of criticising Anger's work in any way, shape or form as he's a well-practiced Thelemite (as in Aleister Crowley) and may curse me. Luckily, there's no reason to. These movies are seminal, and an influence on many filmmakers such as David Lynch and Rainer Werner Fassbinder. Anger is still very much active in the film industry to this day, and with the presentation of "Ich Will!" in 2008 he now has 50 years of film dabbling under his belt. A Biker's belt with a pentagram buckle, I must add. Ouch.

Anger's films are unclassifiable as a genre or template, so don't try to categorize him - Most people in the know think of "Scorpio Rising" (1963) with it's Rock n' Roll Blitzkreig / Biker porn as the quintessential Anger, but you'll find a lot here that goes beyond that. The BFI must be congratulated (again) for bringing little known films to the fore in their excellent DVD / Blu-Ray packages - Earlier this year Jeff Keen's anthology "Gazwrx" was released, this is in the same vein - and much of the man's filmography is included here. These are "Fireworks" (1947), "Puce Moment" (1949),"Rabbit's Moon" (1950/1971), "Eaux d'Artifice" (1953), "Inauguration Of The Pleasure Dome" (1954), "Scorpio Rising" (1964), "Kustom Kar Kommandos" (1965), "Invocation Of My Demon Brother" (1969), "Rabbit's Moon" (Remade, 1979), and "Lucifer Rising" (1981). Not much left out, All present and correct. A cornucopia of the surreal would be a good way to sum it all up.

Special features include :

- Kenneth Anger commentaries;
- Demonstration of restoration work;
- "The Man We Want To Hang", Anger's look at Crowley's art;
- "Anger Me", Elio Gelmini's analysis of Anger;
- Lavish booklet including an essay by Gary Lachman.

So, if you think Stan Brakhage is too tame, you have a dream compilation here right at your fingertips. Just keep your mouth shut if you find it all a bit much - Ken will come and get you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 6 Feb 2011
By 
Linus Wärn (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Magick Lantern Cycle [Blu-ray] [1967] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I had not heard of Kenneth Anger before but got interested when reading about him and this BD-release so I went ahead and made a blind purchase. It was well worth the money since this is a wonderful collection of highly interesting and inspiring short films. If you like a different kind of cinema; both dark, weird and beautiful then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring for film students, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One can only imagine the lyrical masterpieces Kenneth Anger could have made if it weren't for lack of expenses. What survives of his many incomplete projects is pure visual poetry. Like i said, its inspiring to see such personal films with their own form and extensive amounts of imagination on display. These films changed my view completely on intellectual montage and the ironic use of music. They're indulgent yes, but completely individual, in their own world almost.

This is the definitive Anger collection with all of his completed films with director's commentary for each as well as an informative documentary on Anger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterful Anthology, 5 July 2011
This review is from: The Magick Lantern Cycle [Blu-ray] [1967] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Kenneth Anger's films are much like the man himself - a strange mess of mythology, fantasy in a kaleidoscopic world. The BFI have created a definitive collection of one of America's lesser-known, yet highly respected film-makers of the past 60 years. We the viewer not only benefit from having his commercially available films on Blu-Ray but also commentary and reflections from Anger himself which provides words to otherwise silent films dotted with popular and avant-garde music. MAGIC LANTERN CYCLE: THE FILMS OF KENNETH ANGER shows the greatness of post-war American avant-garde cinema while offering glimpses of where directors like David Lynch took Anger's strange worlds and brought them to a brighter light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magick Lantern Cycle REGION A Blu Ray DISC, 1 July 2012
Another Excellent collection released by the BFI on Blu-Ray. Just thought I should write to correct widely miss-advertised Region B/2 labeling.

The DVD disc is region 0 and played in my U.S. XboX, and the blu ray disc must be REGION A as it played in my cheap sony which is playstation equivalent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Daniele Sorace "Dan" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
On time & just as described. Thank U!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So... Kenneth Anger, eh?, 15 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magick Lantern Cycle [Blu-ray] [1967] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I gotta say... No, I don't know? I'm not so sure about this whole area of film. Never really liked 'Un Chien Andalou'. Actually, not that this is really anything like that. Not the point. Some of the stuff included on this (very) expansive Blu-Ray set is pretty interesting, and I definitely enjoyed, and have or will re-watch(ed), some of the shorts. Anger deals with some big themes, and he's a crafted skillsman (or there about). A bunch are like boring music videos, and repetitive, but maybe that means something.
If you're thinking you wanna see what experimental film is about, this is probably a good place to start (at the right price). Or maybe it was never more than an experiment because in the end it didn't work?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The short movies on this DVD are very interesting from a historical poin of view. They are time documents but sometimes a bit hard to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Magick Lantern Cycle [Blu-ray] [1967] [Region Free]
Used & New from: £44.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews