Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little gem
Like a previous reviewer, I saw this lady on the Leonard Cohen show and thought how good she sounded. I am a great fan of Jennifer Warnes (an earlier backing singer for LC) and expected something similar from this album. In fact it is far more 'late-night'. The highspots are definitely the songs she co-wrote with LC but it is all high quality stuff. If you like LC's...
Published on 26 July 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Even The Best is Bland
We have to thank Sharon for bringing Leonard Cohen out of virtual retirement to stride the world stage as he does now, but on the evidence of the recording she played a very small part in resurrecting Cohen as a songwriter. Her self-penned songs are particularly 'Jack and Jill' in their wording and construction, and even those that have the unmistakable fingerprint of...
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little gem, 26 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody Knows (Audio CD)
Like a previous reviewer, I saw this lady on the Leonard Cohen show and thought how good she sounded. I am a great fan of Jennifer Warnes (an earlier backing singer for LC) and expected something similar from this album. In fact it is far more 'late-night'. The highspots are definitely the songs she co-wrote with LC but it is all high quality stuff. If you like LC's lyrical stuff then you will like this. I will be watching for her next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVERYBODY KNOWS...., 25 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. Sr Harrup "nehpetsrh" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everybody Knows (Audio CD)
"Everybody knows this girl is magic, everybody knows this girl can sing...." Sharon Robinson was Leonard Cohen's backing singer on the wonderful 1979 tour along with Jennifer Warnes. on that tour Warnes was the more prominent of the two and, to this day, remaind special in the hearts of Cohen fans. However, over those thirty years, Sharon Robinson has grown from his backing singer to his regular collaborator and she deserves every plaudit that comes her way. This is her first solo album - which is a crime, because she is an excellent artist and song writer in her own right. Listening to the first track 'Invisible Tattoo', you immediately know that this is pure class, listening to the last track 'Summertime' you wonder why this is her first, and so far only album. Ok, some track were written with Leonard Cohen (he is my all-time favourite artist, by the way), but this is a Sharon Robinson album from start to finish. Comparisons have been made with Sade and, yes, there is some similarity, both have superb voices and produce excellent albums. So, please don't hesitate, don't just buy this because of the Cohen connection or the Sade references, buy it because it is worth buying on its own merit and, perhaps some record company will wake up and sign her to a second album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why have I not heard of her before?, 28 Jun 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody Knows (Audio CD)
This is a beautiful album, and this girl is magic! She had an all too brief solo part in a recent TV show of Leonard Cohen songs & I thought who is that? Turns out that although she does backing vocals she also produces for him as well. Listening to this album is like have a full body massage of the ears, very Leonard Cohen and that's alright by me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Just Brilliant!, 3 Nov 2009
By 
David (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody Knows (Audio CD)
Sharon is Leonard Cohen's long-time collaborator and this album is just brilliant! If you like this then buy Leonard Cohen Live in London and their joint album Ten New Songs! Her voice is just beautiful and the arrangements are excellent and really showcase her talents.

BUY THIS CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as I hoped, 2 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. Robert Bennett (Wirral, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everybody Knows (Audio CD)
Having been totally blown away by two recent Leonard Cohen concerts I decided to buy this album on spec. It is fair to say that it is as good as I had hoped it would be. The already familiar "Alexandra Leaving" and "Everybody Knows" (though delivered somewhat different than the Cohen version) are obvious stand outs but given the range and quality of her vocals there is not a weak track evident. Sharon Robinson is definitely more than just a back up singer and her mellow voice has a warmth about it that borders on the intoxicating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars anybody who loves Leonard Cohen...., 20 Jan 2010
By 
J. Lavooy "JPL" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everybody Knows (Audio CD)
.....should buy this album.
If you've seen Leonard in concert you will have heard Sharon Robinson too.
You won't be dissapointed with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The incomparable Sharon Robinson, 14 Nov 2008
This review is from: Everybody Knows (Audio CD)
She's best known as a collaborator with Leonard Cohen, but Sharon Robinson is much, much more. This is a brilliant CD and I'd love to see her live on her own, or with a great band. Her voice is rich, warm and earthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth as honey, 23 April 2012
By 
C. M. Walker "Carolyn" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody Knows (Audio CD)
If you love Leonard Cohen and have enjoyed Sharon's smooth voice as counterpoint to his, then you will really like this. Her version of 'Alexandra Leaving' is every bit as good as Cohen's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a beautiful album Everybody Knows, 13 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody Knows (Audio CD)
First heard Sharon singing on the Leonard Cohen concert. She has a beautiful enchanting voice that soothes and relaxes you. This is an album I would recommend to anyone who appreciates good music and lyrics sung by a pasionate and lovely person.
Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure class, 9 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody Knows (Audio CD)
Sharon Robinson, along with Anjani Thomas and Jennifer Warnes has had the great fortune to work with the great Leonard Cohen, and he has had the even greater fortune to have worked with them.

I have waited years for Sharon Robinson to put out an album of her own songs (with a lot of LC mixed in) and this is a beautiful offering.

It ranks along with Anjani's album of LC's poems and Jennifer Warnes' Famous Blue Raincoat, but surpasses both in beauty and tone. If Sharon hadn't existed there would have been no Ten New Songs and her renderings of Everybody Knows and Alexandra Leaving are breathtaking and out of this world.

Buy it, turn down the lights and enter heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Everybody Knows
Everybody Knows by Sharon Robinson (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews