Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars11
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 October 2012
I feel compelled to write this just to to try and help anyone who may be interested in buying this CD and may be a bit confused or put off by the very mixed reviews.
Firstly I must stress that this album is not like any other Christy Moore album.
I can understand why a lot of the purists hate it, and each to his own!
I have probably all of Christy Moore's musical output and I enjoy it all, some maybe a bit more than others.
Just because this is totally different doesn't make it a bad album! Personally I love it, it is a bit like Afro Celt Sound System
or even a sort of left field rock album. It is quite dark in parts, as is the brooding cover!
If you approach it with an open mind and set the wonderful catalogue of tradional/Folk music aside for the moment, you might just get to enjoy it as much as I do!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2000
I just had to write this review to try to up the average number of stars this album got :-)
Christy Moore revisits much of his older material in a dynamic new style. This won't appeal to the purists, but I reckon it's one of his best - it conveys more of the atmosphere of his (sadly missed) live performances.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2000
This latest Christy Moore CD is very different from his others but among his best! His voice is very mature and sometimes whispering. The sound is close to modern rock but very distinctly Christy's. It's music you get mystified by. Very powerful music. But beware - not everyday folk -. I hope he'll continue to produce this kind of CDs now that he retired from performing live.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2000
Yes, it's quite different from his older stuff. Christy draws on Leo Pearson's experience of contemporary electronic dance music & in doing so, creates something new! Well worth picking up - I've had this playing in my car since it was released. It seriously grows on you. Get it even if it's just for the Siren's Song. - Pete C
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
The product arrived on time and was functional, packaging was good and protected the product, good value for money spent, I will use this supplier again. good to have this addition to my collection.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2006
The Traveller album by Christy is as good if not better than anything he has brought out in the past. I can understand how it might upset the hardcore fans but its a very brave album and a refreshing departure where he has the balls to try something new by teaming up with the genius that is Leo Pearson who produced and engineered all the unique sounds you'll hear. 'The Rocky Road to Dublin' will make the hairs stand on the back of your neck when you hear the energy emitted. 'The Edge' from U2 guest solos on 'Whats the story git'? In general it's a great and very respectable treatment of the classic songs like Raggle Taggle Gypsy and One last cold kiss where I find it very refreshing to hear in a new and adventurous way. The album is dedicated to the memory of Christys Father Andy Moore. The sleeve artwork even seems to captures the atmosphere of the music somehow and is very impressive. This Album is in my opinion one of Christys finest and he deserves the recognition where it's due. Approach it with an open mind and the listen will do the rest as you'll soon discover how brilliant this album actually is, buy with confidence. . . . 5*+
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2009
When I saw that there was a new Christy CD that i had missed, I had to get it! Unfortunately, i was very disappointed. The vocals on the CD are okay, but its all set to tacky drum beats and "edgy" echoes, unnecessary for such an incredible singer and guitar player. This new way of recording seems like they are trying to be too flashy and "techno-age", which is not what the beautiful voice of Christy needs.
There are a couple of new tracks on the CD, but they are very uninspiring, and are as dwarfed by the background noise as the older tracks. Every track could be at least a minute shorter, if you cut all the repetitive backing that goes on for a long time after the singing stops.
I hoped that "Raggle Taggle Gypsy" would be the saving grace: a classic that hasn't been recorded very much (and is very rarely played at concerts) but instead it's not only Christy's voice that suffers, now its the uilleann pipe playing of Liam O'Flynn. The pipe cant be heard enough over the backing. Worse still, its not even a complete recording, as the unique transition into the pipe solo "Tabhair Dom Do Lamh" does not happen on this one!

In all, It seems that Christy could do SO much better. His charisma in singing and guitar playing is enough to keep an audience mesmerized (as demonstrated in his concerts) and therefore the technological additions are useless to true fans of Christy Moore.
Spend your money on "Live at the Point" i would suggest!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2016
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2010
Christy Moore has released some fantastic CDs, unfortunately this is not one of them. I cant believe a great artist like Christy would stoop to record this awful cacophony of noise. There is not one redeeming track. I am sure there is a following for this kind of thing but this was just a complete disappointment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2001
Why, oh why, Christy, did you have to do this? This CD feels and sounds as if you forcibly attempted to fing more - and especially younger fans... Christy meets hip-hop doesn't really convince-- too much of his old style to be really attractive to nightclub experienced teenagers, and too modernistic to really sell with his old friends. This one wasn't necessary. True, it's good to have for the collector, since it's something different. But Christy's approach of trying to appeal to a teenage audience at the risk of alienating his older faithful followers might just leave him with the opposite of that - no new fans, and less of the hard core. Is THIS your legacy, Christy?
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)