Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars22
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2005
This album is simply superb, a welcome return to top form from the Scorpions, if you are/every were a fan then buy this album now you won't be dissapointed.(Can't wait to see them support Judas Priest)
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2005
i took a chance and bought this album with tongue in cheek, after the dreadful eye2eye i wasnt expecting much more of a change, i was immediately proven wrong im happy to say, with this fine playlist, theyve shown that theyre back with a vengance! one of the best songs on there is "she said" which harked back to the the kind of quality we saw in "send me an angel" and "when the smoke is going down" well done scorps great to see you back with something decent keep it up..
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 December 2011
Well... This was an unexpected surprise for me, this record is heavy and melodic; with very little to envy classic scorpions albums. The guitar sound is just huge, ballads like 'Maybe I maybe you' sound just amazing, or even the up-tempo 'Someday is Now'. Certainly Scorpions fans that got into the band during the 90s will love the record, and songs like 'my city my town' evoke some of the classic guitar sound during the verses. Klaus Meine unbelievable singing is still at the top through thunderous melodies in this record... He is still one of the best metal vocalists around and you can clearly get in these songs.

Be sure to find the version of the cd with the silver booklet and textured lettering, mine does not have it.

Let the music play!

Ps: listen to 'through my eyes' chorus... Just mind blowing classic scorpions. Enjoy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2004
When i read good reviews of this album I couldn't believe it as their last album 'eye to eye' was absolutely awful.
However, I have a lot of respect for these long running rockers, and bought the album.
I am so glad I did as this is a total rebirth.
If you have ever enjoyed a Scorpions album in the past, then you MUST buy this.
Their glorious 80's heyday get's a nod, but this album sounds amazingly fresh and vibrant, and the songwriting is of a superb quality.
If there was any justice, this would be a top chart album.
Thoroughly recommended, and my album of the year so far!!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2007
On `Unbreakable', reunited with producer Dieter Dierks (the man at the helm on all the great Scorpions albums) after more than fifteen years; with a new bass player, Pawel Maciwoda, on board and having drummer James Kottak contributing to the songwritng on three of the tracks, the Scorpions sound fresher, more alive and more energetic than they have in the studio since 1991's `Crazy World'. Whilst the album is far from perfect, the guitar heavy production and the emphasis on rockers instead of ballads marks something of a return to form for the band. Long-standing fans breathed a collective sigh of relief after years spent fearing that their favourite band had completely lost direction.
Nothing on `Unbreakable' will set the world alight and some of the songs are pretty formulaic heavy rock-by-numbers, but they're played with plenty of skill from a tighter-sounding Scorpions unit and recorded with plenty of power in the mix. `New Generation' is a rather plodding opener, but `Love `Em or Leave `Em' is a solid ass-kicker, `Deep and Dark' a satisfying footstomper and `Blood Too Hot' energetic and catchy.
Best of all, where too many Scorpions albums veered rapidly into ballad territory, no slow songs are on offer here until track six. `Maybe I Maybe You' works very well as a restrained, piano-driven tune, yet even on this the band can't resist plunging into bombastic rock at the finale.
The latter half of the record, after the very fine `Someday is Now', doesn't quite sustain the quality but the songs are still far more enjoyable than most of stuff the Scorpions had offered up over the last thirteen years (unlucky for some, namely the fans). The cheesy, upbeat final number (with awful lyrics) is called `Remember the Good Times': highly appropriate, because `Unbreakable' most definitely does hark back to the glory days of the band and although it can't compete with albums the Scorpions released at the height of their powers, it offers plenty of positives and is a very solid slice of traditional heavy rock.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2007
For me, 'Lovedrive' is the greatest hard rock album ever , and 'Tokyo Tapes' comparable to the classic live albums of Thin Lizzy and Aerosmith.

This album, however, is not far behind , and is superior in terms of the heavy guitar work and the production. In addition, Klaus Meine has a beautiful hard rock voice and the melodies will drift through your brain incessantly.

I regularly listen to this by lying on my sofa , eyes closed, from Track 1 through to the last track. A bit special.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
Loved Scorpions in the early days, but sort of lost touch with them during late eighties and nineties. Have recently bought Humanity and Unbreakable and can highly recommend both these albums. Have obviously progressed from their early music, e.g. In Trance, Taken by Force, which at the time I really loved. The new albums take Scorpions to a different level. Not a bad song on either of them. If you like Scorpions these are a must have.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2009
This album is a return to top form for the Scorpions.
The album is full of great songs and an energy not seen since the 80s.
This is matched by the new live shows which have been spot on too.
Wondering where the Scorpions are at. This is a good place to start.
Humanity follows on well from this album but this is the better of the two.
I rank this as equal to their classic 80s output.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
Thought I had most of the scorpions musicHad not heard this until I saw it
on your website.It does not disappoint.Love nearly everything the
Scorpions bring out and I am gutted they are packing it in.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2004
Following a rather disappointing release with their 'Eye 2 Eye' album(1999), the Germany based power band have gone back to their roots with this long-awaited collection. Since then Scorpions released their orchestrated effort with the Berliner Orchestra and an acoustic albun, (aptly named Acoustica) in between, but this is the first all-new material in 5 years. And true to their word they are back. I was skeptical as I inserted the cd in the player, but 13 tracks and 57 heart-pounding minutes later I was shaking like a leaf. Klaus Meine leads the way with his particular timbre of voice (especially on the melting ballad 'Maybe I , Maybe you..'). The first three tracks blend harmoniusly together and shows what talent Schenker and Jabs still have. The bass rhythm is also thick and satisfying. Borderline is maybe the only song that let me down a little,but then the tempo picks up until it culminates with a splendid final track,'Remember the good times...' which gives this album a 'one-more-go' appeal. Chillingly Brilliant. Buy it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)