Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Traditional country from the seventies
Despite the title, this is not a bluegrass collection. It contains tracks from four albums (Joshua, Coat of many colors, My Tennessee mountain home, Jolene) that had been previously released in the UK in their entirety, together with various Dolly recordings that had also been released on various Dolly CD's, though some are rarer on CD than others. Taken for what it is,...
Published on 1 Jan 2004 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Blegrass collection
I always enjoy Dolly Parton. The CD was OK but I was expecting some real bluegrass music and more banjoing as I play the banjo. But on the whole, it was OK.
Published 21 months ago by Terry Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Traditional country from the seventies, 1 Jan 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Despite the title, this is not a bluegrass collection. It contains tracks from four albums (Joshua, Coat of many colors, My Tennessee mountain home, Jolene) that had been previously released in the UK in their entirety, together with various Dolly recordings that had also been released on various Dolly CD's, though some are rarer on CD than others. Taken for what it is, this a great compilation for those looking for some of Dolly's traditional country, but there is nothing new here for Dolly's committed fans.
The bargain store, My Tennessee mountain home, Joshua, Muleskinner blues and Coat of many colors were major country hits for Dolly. In the good old days and My blue tears were minor country hits. In the ghetto was a huge pop hit for Elvis. Dolly's version did better than his in the country charts but neither got very high.
Shattered image was (surprisingly) not released as a single in America but it was in the UK. It did not chart but it good airplay at the time. Dolly re-recorded it for her Halos and horns album. At around that time, the original version appeared (for the first time on CD) on RCA country legends, an American compilation.
To daddy was originally planned for inclusion on Dolly's 1976 album, All I can do (the one that Shattered image first appeared on) but dropped when Dolly heard Emmylou's version. Dolly eventually recorded a live version and it became a country hit, so RCA included the original on Essential Dolly Parton volume one.
Early morning breeze appeared on two original Dolly albums – Coat of many colors and Jolene – and a re-mix appeared on the UK version of her 2003 compilation, Ultimate Dolly Parton. River of happiness is also from the Jolene album. The remaining tracks are taken from two of her finest albums – Joshua and My Tennessee mountain home.
Thus, everything that is here can found on other Dolly CD's but it might not be easy finding all the tracks and you'd have to buy several CD's to get them all. If you enjoy hearing Dolly singing traditional country and you haven't got many of these songs, you'll find this to be a real treasure trove at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of her best albums., 12 Aug 2008
I wouldn't say that this was the most 'Bluegrass' style CD that I have ever come across, but you will love this. Every track is fantastic.....a must have selection of tracks if you like Dolly Parton.
I love Bluegrass, and today's Bluegrass is very unlike the real true Bluegrass. So don't expect this album to give you that wonderful old sound....with incredible Banjo work etc.
But!....buy it anyway....it is a wonderful CD with that great Dolly singing voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not really bluegrass, but classic Dolly Parton, 26 May 2009
In spite of the picture on the cover, this CD does not feature bluegrass-style banjo. It is classic Dolly Parton from the 70's, when her style was fully developed musically but not as sophisticated or knowing as it is today. Some songs could be classified as folk as well as country. Incidentally, who was JJ Sneed?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a hit, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know nothing about country or bluegrass . I bought this for my kids to interest them in something other than nursery rhymes. They are 6 & 3. I said this was cowboy music, which got their attention, and they have had such a great time dancing to it lots of times since. From my perspective, Dolly's fabulous voice is a winner and i liked that this is quite natural music rather than pop-ified.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dolly Partons "Bluegrass Collection", 3 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. P. Cooney "Cash Fan No.1." (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have lots of collections by Dolly and this one rates as highly as any. Its a gorgeous set of typical Dolly tunes performed in the best Dolly fashion. I thought I knew every one of her tunes but this cd threw up a few top class new ones eg "J J Sneed". And at such a bargain price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah, Dolly, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This lady has brought me (and I suspect many others)so much joy over the years, you can never get enough Dolly Parton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yeh love Dolly's Bluegrass collection, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yeh love Dolly's Bluegrass collection and very good value for money with free delivery..some tracks never heard before.. very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's only one Dolly Parton!, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I recall one chap on-line expressing his disillusionment at finding this anthology not being resolute Bluegrass, and the title is indeed a misnomer. But what we do have here are 18 of Dolly's songs so movingly powerful as to move a grown man to tears. They appertain to her formative years, portraying eloquently of her surroundings as the fourth of 12 children in a poor family brought up in the foothills of the Smoky Mountains of Tennessee. So I think it's best to override iffy categorisations here and simply immerse ourselves in a collection of wonderful heartfelt music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived in quick time great nice music players well good. Ended up buying a few more as enjoyed this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is back to basics, and I love it. Her voice is as good as ever and the arrangements complement her beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bluegrass Collection
The Bluegrass Collection by Dolly Parton
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews