Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars13
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2009
I bought this CD because I heard some Rupert Holmes tracks on a local radio station and they took me down memory lane.Everyone knows the Pina Coloda Song but there are other less well known tracks that are just as catchy after a few plays.Its the sort of music you want to listen to when you have just come home from work after a bad day and want to chill out to with a nice glass of good wine.Plus of course, Rupert Holmes is very underated.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 July 2009
Mr Holmes is a storyteller and a good one at that.
The warmth and the humour always come through in his compositions and,while some of the instrumentation sounds very dated, the music and lyrics combine to make this album an altogether entertaining experience.
Well worth exploring.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2010
I had this on vinyl (that dates me!) for many years and had wanted to listen to it again for some time but never got round to buying it - finally did and wasn't disappointed.
The songs still sound fresh and Rupert's voice has a unique quality to it that's so easy to listen to.
There really isn't a song I don't like - although Pina Colada isn't one of my favourites, probably because it's been so over played in the past.
He has a knack of conjuring up images of each song with the lyrical words and wittisisms that only a really good writer can - romantic - "Morning Man" - and funny "Answering Machine" are just two examples of his clever writing. "Cold" is deeper and a little darker, and "I don't need you" is funny sad, and true of many romances that break up. "The people you never get to meet" is thought provoking and very well crafted. Always managing to avoid becoming schmaltzy like Barry Manilow, whose voice he has been compared to - but in my opinion far better than.

If you don't know his music I would recommend this CD as it has some good well known songs on there, but really all his albums are good and worth listening to. I intend to add to my collection at least two more!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2009
Funnily enough the song "Escape" whilst well known is not I believe his best, "Adventure!" is far classier and represents Holmes at his most creative. This CD compilation following the thirty year rule of good quality 70's music maturing like a fine wine is more than ready for opening and consuming. Holmes fine magnetic voice delivers an excellent feast of sassy late night cocktail bar tracks that will make you feel warm,relaxed and wanting more. It's a chillin must....."Pina Colada?"
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you remember this music from the 80's then this is a great addition to any music collection. Brilliant lyrics, smoothly performed. Wonderful listening.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2009
What an excellent songwriter Rupert Holmes is. There is not a bad track on this album. Apart from his 2 hits, 'Pina Colada' & ' Him' ...there is a super collection of his other work. BlackJack / Adventure / Partners in Crime / The mask & the humourous ' Answering Machine all stand out. Well worth having in your collection - a good quality easy listening album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2009
I had a copy of this record on cassette tape and lost it; so when I found it on Amazon I decided I had to download it. It's a fantastic CD worth every penny.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
"Escape The Best Of" Rupert Holmes is an excellent compilation CD Album and contains the US number one single "Escape"which was a hit single in the UK as well along with "Him" and the singles "Partners In Crime","Adventure","Black Jack","Answering Machine" and "I Don't Need You"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
Love this Album, a reminder that songs can contain lyrics, comedy and melancholy. Full of meaningful tunes and not just a beat with repetitive tones. A true artist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2010
A good collection of his music containing the hit songs Escape and Him. Nice to relax to or do the housework.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.49
£4.59
£5.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)