Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EASY LISTENING, 18 Mar 2009
This review is from: Escape...The Best Of (Audio CD)
I bought this CD because I heard some Rupert Holmes tracks on a local radio station and they took me down memory lane.Everyone knows the Pina Coloda Song but there are other less well known tracks that are just as catchy after a few plays.Its the sort of music you want to listen to when you have just come home from work after a bad day and want to chill out to with a nice glass of good wine.Plus of course, Rupert Holmes is very underated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Stories, 29 July 2009
By 
scoon2 "scoon2" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Escape...The Best Of (MP3 Download)
Mr Holmes is a storyteller and a good one at that.
The warmth and the humour always come through in his compositions and,while some of the instrumentation sounds very dated, the music and lyrics combine to make this album an altogether entertaining experience.
Well worth exploring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Escape, 12 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Escape...The Best Of (MP3 Download)
I had a copy of this record on cassette tape and lost it; so when I found it on Amazon I decided I had to download it. It's a fantastic CD worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection., 26 Sep 2011
By 
Ian Wantling "Ian Wantling" (The North West.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape...The Best Of (MP3 Download)
If you remember this music from the 80's then this is a great addition to any music collection. Brilliant lyrics, smoothly performed. Wonderful listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, witty and smooth music, 29 April 2010
By 
Sarah Irvine "Wax lyrical" (Suffolk, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape...The Best Of (Audio CD)
I had this on vinyl (that dates me!) for many years and had wanted to listen to it again for some time but never got round to buying it - finally did and wasn't disappointed.
The songs still sound fresh and Rupert's voice has a unique quality to it that's so easy to listen to.
There really isn't a song I don't like - although Pina Colada isn't one of my favourites, probably because it's been so over played in the past.
He has a knack of conjuring up images of each song with the lyrical words and wittisisms that only a really good writer can - romantic - "Morning Man" - and funny "Answering Machine" are just two examples of his clever writing. "Cold" is deeper and a little darker, and "I don't need you" is funny sad, and true of many romances that break up. "The people you never get to meet" is thought provoking and very well crafted. Always managing to avoid becoming schmaltzy like Barry Manilow, whose voice he has been compared to - but in my opinion far better than.

If you don't know his music I would recommend this CD as it has some good well known songs on there, but really all his albums are good and worth listening to. I intend to add to my collection at least two more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy writing, 11 Nov 2009
This review is from: Escape...The Best Of (Audio CD)
What an excellent songwriter Rupert Holmes is. There is not a bad track on this album. Apart from his 2 hits, 'Pina Colada' & ' Him' ...there is a super collection of his other work. BlackJack / Adventure / Partners in Crime / The mask & the humourous ' Answering Machine all stand out. Well worth having in your collection - a good quality easy listening album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Do You Like Pina Colada?".......Escape - Best of Rupert Holmes, 10 Nov 2009
By 
Jon Hickson (Leicester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Escape...The Best Of (Audio CD)
Funnily enough the song "Escape" whilst well known is not I believe his best, "Adventure!" is far classier and represents Holmes at his most creative. This CD compilation following the thirty year rule of good quality 70's music maturing like a fine wine is more than ready for opening and consuming. Holmes fine magnetic voice delivers an excellent feast of sassy late night cocktail bar tracks that will make you feel warm,relaxed and wanting more. It's a chillin must....."Pina Colada?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Him., 18 July 2010
This review is from: Escape...The Best Of (Audio CD)
A good collection of his music containing the hit songs Escape and Him. Nice to relax to or do the housework.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Escape...The Best Of
Escape...The Best Of by Rupert Holmes
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews