Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!
This little gem of a film from 1966 is just hilarious. I first came across a "tontine line" myself when researching my family ancestry and one or two of my ancestors had been named in a Tontine line. The very nature of it with the last surviving person getting the whole investment leaves its self open the sort of comedy situation we find in this film. And the Brits show...
Published on 9 Jun 2010 by K. Clarke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Curates egg?
I remember watching this film with my sister in the seventies, at he time we both thought it an absolute hoot. A pity then that it doesn't live up to my memories of it. As the title of this revue suggests ,it is good in parts.
Published 1 month ago by Norman Moletrouser


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 9 Jun 2010
By 
K. Clarke (Queensland, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wrong Box [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
This little gem of a film from 1966 is just hilarious. I first came across a "tontine line" myself when researching my family ancestry and one or two of my ancestors had been named in a Tontine line. The very nature of it with the last surviving person getting the whole investment leaves its self open the sort of comedy situation we find in this film. And the Brits show again they know how to do comedy better than anyone else. It is no less funny 44 years on with just the right cast to carry it off superbly. It is great to see Peter Cook & Dudley Moore who were at the beginning of their very sucessful career together, a young Michael Caine & everyone else has mentioned how Peter Sellars stole this show. This is one of those comedies that could take a lot of repeat viewings. I believe that the "houses" we see these two families rushing in and out of were at The Circus, Bath, in England. Don't miss this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last - The Wrong Box, 8 Oct 2010
By 
Peter Burgess (Burlington, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Box [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
This DVD of the Wrong Box is long overdue, it has long only been available in VHS or poor quality copies, both overpriced.

This is one heck of a funny movie with a great cast of British comedians, Tony Hancock, Peter Sellers, Peter Cooke & Dudley Moore,(most now sadly passed on) with a surprising number of serious actors (Michael Caine, Ralph Richardson, John Mills) thrown in as well. Plus many other recognisable "faces" that you recognise but cannot put a name to. In fact I would say that this is British farce at its best.

My one complaint with this DVD is that there is nothing in the way of extras, (I don't count trailers as extras), but then again it is an inexpensive disc.
I was taken to see this when it came out & I am delighted to see it available at last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A comedic gem, 12 Sep 2009
By 
M. Dugdale (London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wrong Box [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
Base on a story by Robert Louis Stevenson, one of the most eclectic casts of English comedy actors are brought together in a farce that revolves around an inheritance from a Tontine, a Victorian device for ensuring a lump sum award to the survivor of a selected group.
Sadly, there are few survivors from the cast, but Peter Sellars puts in a cameo appearance which cannot be faulted. One of my favourite films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great British Comedy Classic "and not a lot of people know that!"), 30 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Box [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
Just check out the film's cast list from 1966, it certainly does read like a 'who's who' of British cinema. The film is based on the idea of 'a tontine line' pact, and opens with a series of deaths, not too dissimilar to those is the Ealing classic "Kind Hearts and Coronets". The idea that the last surviving person of a pact gets the whole investment is a perfect vehicle for all sorts of comedy situations and you'll find many of them in this film. Yes, it's easy to get cheap laughs by mocking the stiff, restrained Victorian attitudes, but it goes much further than this. Both Caine and Newman are simply superb in their roles as they try to express their feelings for each other without overstepping the social expectancies of the time.
The wonderful L&SWR period set is a treat for all those who look back at the golden age of rail and travel. The beautiful Victorian scenes, with its imposing terrace houses, furnishings, clothes, impeccable manners and lots of cats make this a real treat to watch. The film is also notable for a solid John Barry music score.

Extras include trailers for "The Wrong Box" (sadly only in black and white), "Bunny Lake is Missing", "The Hireling" and "Gumshoe".

Despite this and its amazing cast, a great film still needs a strong script though. Otherwise it just ends up as yet another 'madcap' farce, soon to be forgotten. Thankfully, this gem has a great script, so ticks all the right boxes making it a classic for collectors. Well acted, strong story line, very funny and a truly Great British Classic make this 5-star entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great British comedy film on DVD at last., 14 Jun 2010
By 
Fred P (Leigh-on-Sea, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Box [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
I previously had this on a video taped from BBC2 years ago, and thought it was forgotten. But, hooray!, it's now out on DVD for all to see. Well up to the standard of Ealing comedies, with Michael Caine in one of his early films. The cast is brilliant with Ralph Richardson, John Mills, Nanette Newman (swooningly beautiful), Peter Cook, Dudley Moore, even Tony Hancock. But Wilfred Lawson as the senile (and drunk) butler steals the show. A treat for the eye and ear!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Fun, 14 Jan 2008
By 
A. Tanner "Allytan" (Essex england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Box [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant film! I had this on an old video taped from TV years ago - finally found a DVD through Amazon. Great perfomances from Peter Cook and Dudley Moore, but for me Peter Sellers steals the show as the cat loving Doctor Pratt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bumblers in Victorian England, 7 Mar 2010
By 
Roland Machold (Princeton, New Jersey USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wrong Box [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
The Wrong Box is our favorite old time movie (1966) and if things are dull, we play it at least once a year. It could be characterized as a genteel English comedy, but it is also a vehicle for some marvelous actors. Michael Caine is the lead, in one of his first roles, and supporting roles are played by Peter Sellars, Dudley Moore, Peter Cook, John Mills, Ralph Richardson, Tony Hancock and Nanette Newman. All are terrific! The story is lifted from a story by Robert Louis Stevenson's, in which the last surviving participant in the tontine receives all of the money pleged by the original participants. Needless to say, the last survivors indulge in all kinds of skullduggery and attempted murders to gain the prize. The DVD we purchased was in the British format, and we sent it to an English friend who also raved about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good old fashioned fun., 7 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Wrong Box [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
I have a recording of this film from analogue TV, so cannot comment on the DVD quality. In my opinion the film itself is hilarious, a natural progression from The Ealing comedies.

The cast is fabulous with Peter Sellars and Wilfred Lawson (the very funny butler) stealing the show, as pointed out previously. It is not sophisticated comedy but doesn't need to be, I have watched it several times and it never fails to make me laugh, if it did I wouldn't have kept it. A much overlooked gem of a film to watch on Xmas Day, when the usual dreary rubbish is being broadcast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The joys of the simple comedy, 2 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Box [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
Wonderful wide screen copy & some trailers for extras.

Laugh out loud Forbes comedy of a 'lost body' & greedy cousins trying to get a pay out on the death of their uncle while Caine & Newman fall in love.

Wonderful stuff with top performances by everyone involved& its a great cast of great British actors, Peter Sellers gives another of his brieft but crazy cameos as Dr Pratt that alone is worth buying this film for & a beautiful score by John Barry to cap off a first class film.

Buy it, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Curates egg?, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Box [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
I remember watching this film with my sister in the seventies, at he time we both thought it an absolute hoot. A pity then that it doesn't live up to my memories of it. As the title of this revue suggests ,it is good in parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wrong Box [DVD] [1966]
The Wrong Box [DVD] [1966] by Bryan Forbes (DVD - 2009)
4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews