Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great compilation by Slipmatt is missed
An amazing plethora of Old Skool tunes, some well known, others not so well known which make a welcome change. Each of the three CDs maintain a consistent level of high energy throughout, which is something I always look out for. The mixing is a bit dubious in certain places where the tracks are placed just back to back. Not sure how it is associated to the other...
Published on 10 Nov 2009 by Tony S V

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars just like the rave scene.. moondance got commercial.
this is a good box set with the odd great and rarely heard track but to be perfectly honest i expectad far better from "Moondance". The name has been synonomous with top notch old skool revival events since the mid 90's when ravers like myself were still trying to hold on to that 1992 vibe whilst the scene splintered around us.The first disc in the set dips its toes into...
Published on 8 Jan 2010 by Mr. R. E. Finch


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars just like the rave scene.. moondance got commercial., 8 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. R. E. Finch (redhill u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moondance - Ultimate Old Skool Anthems (Audio CD)
this is a good box set with the odd great and rarely heard track but to be perfectly honest i expectad far better from "Moondance". The name has been synonomous with top notch old skool revival events since the mid 90's when ravers like myself were still trying to hold on to that 1992 vibe whilst the scene splintered around us.The first disc in the set dips its toes into the 89 scene but sadly does not deliver with the choice of tunes being mostly chart bangers and none of the shape throwing acid anthems that should be here! The early breakbeat stuff like "5,6,7,8 from "Shut up and Dance" and "Total Confusion" from "Homboy Hippie and a Funki Dred" are the poor rap filled chart presses, other than that the early stuff on disc one is ok but in reality its a very "usual" old skool line up.

Disc 2 reads like a very good if again usual playlist of 92 breakbeat classics and there are some surprises.. the biggest being the inclusion of "Horn Track" by "Egyptian Empire" a rare gem that was played back in the day and a good example of what i would really like to find on these "old skool" comps. Sadly though this disc trips up with the inclusion of "nu rave" remixes of some of the better tracks on the discs. the real let down being the absoloute anthem "Hardcore Heaven" originally by "Seduction" getting the digital boring breakbeat treatment.. sacrelige!

The best disc on here for authenticity is the jungle disc.. no remixes and a pretty good playlist although the latter stages are the same old tunes again, i'm not a huge fan of jungle post 96 but thats just a personal preferance and its fair to say the majority of the tracks on this disc are true to the scene... But.. Unfortunatly it trips up again with a couple of remixes and one is a 96 hardcore tune "Body Slam" thats been remixed and the other is yet another remix of "On a Ragga Tip" whilst both are ok tracks they are far from what i would call "old skool anthems"... more digital filler.

in short this is an ok album and better than some of the other "old skool" comps out there.. you will bop your head to it in the car and the casual "old skool" fan will like it but its not really one for the purists... for a far better "Moondance" cd and one thats true to the scene youd be better off buying the earlier offerings mixed my Slipmatt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great compilation by Slipmatt is missed, 10 Nov 2009
By 
Tony S V (Bath, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Moondance - Ultimate Old Skool Anthems (Audio CD)
An amazing plethora of Old Skool tunes, some well known, others not so well known which make a welcome change. Each of the three CDs maintain a consistent level of high energy throughout, which is something I always look out for. The mixing is a bit dubious in certain places where the tracks are placed just back to back. Not sure how it is associated to the other Moondance compilations - where Slipmatt was in charge, yet this is still a very respectable set of CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good , full of old skool clasics ., 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good , full of old skool clasics . I ve bought a lot of this type of old house and this is by far the best compilation I've bought . With loads of forgotten traks from 89 - 90 .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In Ya Face., 28 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. Kevin Mccarthy "KLM" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moondance - Ultimate Old Skool Anthems (Audio CD)
Warms up nicely then takes you there, pushes you higher and then spins you around.

Say good bye to your bottom lip........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moondance-Ultimate Old Skool Anthems, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst looking around for this type of cd this caught my eye,,plenty of the usual tracks but some are different versions and some ive never heard of..I like the album its got all the usuals and some I have never heard of some with really low end bass in them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars dissapointed, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moondance - Ultimate Old Skool Anthems (Audio CD)
such a shame, thought this would be very good, but it isnt. think i only like 7 tracks so dont really listen to now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars old school, 25 Aug 2009
This review is from: Moondance - Ultimate Old Skool Anthems (Audio CD)
brilliant album, lots of tunes that make you get into the groove!! bring back the old school!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moondance - Ultimate Old Skool Anthems
Moondance - Ultimate Old Skool Anthems by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews